We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay no question”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Laguna Gili Beach Resort
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

For the US75$ we got the room for it was great. Probably close to the best value we had all trip. Really nice rooms - clean with friendly staff. Great pool too. The restaurant is moderate but thats ok, you don't have to eat there anyways, there are restaurants everywhere. Dont get the nachos if you eat in.

Only downside being that for some reason our bathroom did smell of sewage just generally. I know this is an avoidable thing on the island, as other bathrooms smelled fine. A strange concern, but other than that it is a fantastic place.

I would have a hard time justifying US190/night as other people have paid in high season.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChadDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed 2 nights in March in cottage number 3. Recci was on hand to welcome us when we arrived by Cidomo (horse cart) and as we were leaving on the 3rd day.

The room is huge, both in length, width AND height. This is probably the first hotel/resort I stayed in with such a 'ceiling' height. While it is airy, it takes quite a while to cool the room down. The room comes with a King size bed on a creaky raised wooden floor (only where the bed is while the rest of the floor are tiled); an in-room safe; kettle; mini fridge, iron, hair dryer are all available. Sleep quality is very good though we woke up when the call to prayer by the mosque nearby started but we went straight back to sleep. There's a small covered patio just next to the front door and its neat place for a smoke and a drink.

The shower stall (no bathtub) in the bathroom is curtained off and the wash basin is probably built for taller people as it came nearly up to my chest and I am 1.7m tall.

Breakfast comes free with the room (so is the WiFi, not the fastest but is stable) and you can select from the breakfast menu and it will be cooked fresh and not some cold buffet served in larger establishments.

Laguna is located far enough from the noise and crowd near the boat station but close enough (< 10 minutes walk away) if and when you need the 'action'. With only 10 rooms (4 more being constructed), the hotel's personnel always have time to greet you with a smile and a 'Apa Khabar' that make you feel very welcome.

The sea in front of the resort is not pristine but once you get through the debris of broken corals and into deeper water, there's enough marine fishes to keep you occupied while snorkeling, for a while at least. There's always a couple of fresh beach towels in the room every morning and you can always get more from the reception.

The pool is not meant for laps but good for a soak especially in the late evening/at night as the water is warm - heat up by the sun during the day time.

I am not a big fan of pasta but the penne I had was really good and so is the fettuccine my partner had for dinner at the beach in-front of the hotel.

3 days passed too quickly but if we were to return to Trawangan, we would definitely stay in Laguna again, and for a longer period for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EKYSeremban_Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Just back from four nights at Laguna - one of the newer hotels on the busier strip/part of Gili T. Good sized rooms, not overbooked, clean, free bottled water, lovely individual outdoor living space for the rooms, good sized beach towels etc...it's set off the busy street so imagine it would be a good central but not too noisy option for those who want to enjoy the nightlife but also want to retreat to quieter rooms in peak season. Whilst I think their kitchen is not the strongest on the island what you pay for at laguna is the modern clean well maintained rooms and grounds (including a lovely pool area) - when you are snorkelling/swimming the orange umbrellas are a very welcome happy landmark. The staff are very accomodating, from washing your feet for you before you get through the lobby to the outdoor shower, to getting laundry done quickly, to personal confirmations to booking agents to help speed up a refund, nothing is too much of a hassle. The additional bed we had added for two of four nights was adult and not a cheap cot option. I would recommend that the extra cost is worth it on Laguna - so many of the other central options seemed very tacky in comparison. Cesare Ricci the GM went out of his way to give a personalised service and we really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AimdeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed at the Laguna Gili for 4 nights. We paid quite alot for the accommodation given what else was on offer and were disappointed.

We were welcomed very warmly; the staff, including the owners, particularly the Balinese lady are really friendly.

Our room - ok, very basic, no furniture eg drawers or wardrobe; so don't expect to unpack. Bed was comfy, towels smelt lovely but were not changed the whole time we were there! On day 3 we had to ask for them to be changed :( beach towels were provided but again never changed - personally we'd have liked new beach towels daily.

Bathroom - smelt a bit around toilet area and lots of stains on walls. We were not even given soap to wash our hands.

Free water was provided and mini bar reasonably priced.

Pool was lovely and set back from main strip. We spent most of our time here :) no good for kids as no shallow end. At just about 5ft I couldn't stand up in it.

Private beach - nice area, lots of coral on the beach though made getting in the sea very tough on the feet. Nice view from beach area though :)

Breakfast well where to start, totally and utterly the worst part of the stay. They got our order wrong daily, some of the staff didn't write orders down and when they did food was still delivered wrong. The food tastes awful; the toast wasn't toast just stail fried bread. Fried eggs - all the yolks were split (photo) and scrambled egg had brown bits in. On day my partner didn't eat his scrambled egg with brown bits in one young waitress girl came over and abruptly asked "why you not eat?" we said because it was awful. Tea is ok as are the banana pancakes with honey.

Because of the diare breakfasts we didn't eat at the Italian themes restaurant except on the first day we ordered nachos and even they tasted awful! :(

Sort out the food and add a few more touches to the room and this would be a good place to stay overall at the momen its very overpriced for what it is. Sorry!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We visited the beautiful Isle of Gili-T and by chance booked three nights in the Laguna. It was a good choice! Not the cheapest Hotel on the island but we thought it was good value for money, with excellent rooms, nice staff, great fresh water pool and fantastic beach frontage – well recommended. Gili-T is by far the most idyllic place we have visited.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This hotel is wonderful option for travelers looking for peaceful holiday.

It is small hotel (++++) owned by Italian man and his local wife. It has wonderful pool and private sun loungers at the beach. The best snorkeling places in whole Gili T. are in the front of Gili Laguna, so remember to bring your own snorkel or hire it from Gili. You can definitely see amazing fish and sea turtles (++++++).

Hotel is located north from harbor, in the peaceful (++++) section of the island. However the Gili T. is so small island, that all parts of it are easily reached by bike. I highly recommend hiring bikes during your stay in Gili T. There are many restaurants and small grocery shops around hotel. Only backside of the hotel was its location close to minaret. Every morning we woke up around 5 am, because of the prayings. But this cultural thing and Indonesia is a Muslim country.
Hotel is new (2012) and very well designed. Rooms are spacious with nice veranda and bathroom. Bed is really comfortable for sleeping. There is free drinking water in your own fridge in hotel room. Room has A/C and nice shower with warm water.

Hotel food is really delicious. Every morning you can choose from breakfast menu all kind of meals; pancakes, fruit, toast, egg etc. Their lunch menu is even more delicious with all kind of salad, pastas and local meals. Prices are reasonable.

Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful.

I highly recommend this hotel for those who look something special in their holiday in Gili T.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar and good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VenlaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We came here in January, low season in Gili. Hence, we had the luxury to shop around for hotels after arriving on the island. This is the third place that we stayed on Gili, the fifth place that we checked out physically, in addition to numerous places that we checked online. Laguna Gili is easily the best choice, at only 600,000 INR per night.

It is a proper resort situated just off the buzzling strip on the quieter part of the island. It has private beach perfect for dining and sun basking. We love snorkeling here, and saw turtles, lion fish and huge puffer fish. The water is very tame with much fewer boats than the center of the strip.

The room is huge, double the size of the previous hotels that we stayed. It is new, tastefully decorated and well equipped. It has TV ( no cable ), DVD player (you can borrow DVDs at the front desk), fridge, full tinted glass windows, tasteless fresh water, free wifi everywhere...

The staffs here are very welcoming and we were always greeted. They are also helpful and efficient. They lent their phone for us to call other hotels for things that we left behind. We went out for breakfast, and found the room already tidied up when we came back.

We love eating at the restaurant, where you can find hearty healthy meals. I especially love the salad. They use fresh ingredients, just the right mix of greens and seafood with olive oil based dressing. At the same time, my boyfriend was also able to find his favorite local dishes.

In summary, this is a place where I could and love to lazy around, like at home.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.0 mi away
Good Heart Resort
Good Heart Resort
#16 of 256 in Gili Trawangan
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samba Villas
Samba Villas
#26 of 256 in Gili Trawangan
334 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scallywags Resort
Scallywags Resort
#4 of 170 in Gili Trawangan
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bale Sampan Bungalows
Bale Sampan Bungalows
#6 of 170 in Gili Trawangan
418 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beach House Resort
The Beach House Resort
#17 of 170 in Gili Trawangan
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trawangan Dive Resort
Trawangan Dive Resort
#10 of 256 in Gili Trawangan
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Gili Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Gili Beach Resort

Address: Main Road, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 256 Speciality Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: £36 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Gili Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laguna Gili Resort is located directly on the beach front of Gili Trawangan Island. The Resort is built in harmony with nature and essential element for total comfort of our guest. Our 14 cottages all come with spacious bedroom and living space, with an option for extra bed. It also includes air-condition, minibar, flat screen TV and a safety deposit box. Our large bathroom provides hot and cold shower, a huge mirror and ample space for your personal needs. Each cottage has its own veranda built exclusively with tropical materials such as coconut wood and alang-alang roof, a traditional Lombok-Indonesian grass to create a unique and natural sensation. Exquisite furniture and noble materials such as teak wood harmonize the interiors of the rooms. Stylish marble and wooden floors will ensure luxury and pleasurable stay. Even in the spacious bathroom, the combination of raw marble and wood promise comfort and elegance. The resort is located just a few meters from the ocean, with an exclusive beachfront; it is a perfect place for relaxation with a great view of the smooth waves that embrace the shore. Sunbeds and beach umbrellas are provided to ensure a stress free environment. The Swimming pool is made with orange tile for a modern and unique effect offering radiance and freshness. Our friendly and attentive staff, together with our Indonesian management will ensure that your holiday be pleasurable and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ebookers so you can book your Laguna Gili Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Gili Beach Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing