We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gili Beach Bum Hotel
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hostel”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had quite a few dramas getting to Gili T which put a bit of a dampener on the whole experience. While I wasn't a fan of the island the hostel it's self was good, big rooms, air con, clean bathrooms, breakfast included in the price.The roof top bar was good for socialising and cheap drinks.I was a little bit disappointed that the pool bar wasn't up and running but overall a good little place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    53
    27
    11
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
3
60
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of days. It is a great place to meet other travelers and has a perfect location. The rooftop terrace is a good spot to have a few drinks/the complimentary breakfast (banana pancake or omelets).

Rooms are rather large and the bathroom was cleaned regularly. The only downside of this place seems to be the never ending problem concerning bedbugs. My dorm was cleaned twice cause some travelers complained about bedbugs and were actually bidden, but somehow they can not get rid of them. They really try hard tho.

Without the bugs, it has the potential to be the perfect accommodation for your trip to Gili Trawangan.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Quite close to where the fast boat lets you off the boat. Nice big rooms with good AC. Personal locker with a plug in so you can charge your items while they're stored. Nice big roof top area to hangout, eat, drink and meet people. Music generally plays til about midnight but I had no problem sleeping. Very clean.

Only downside was 2 showers (1 hot, 1 cold) were shared between 2 rooms so it could be a bit of a wait sometimes.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South east asia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

When I arrived on the island I had booked into Gili backpackers as it was a tiny bit cheaper and had a better rating on hostelworld but after visiting my friend who was staying at Gili hostel I moved as soon as I could!
The dorm rooms are huge! There's so much space and the beds are comfy and the showers had hot water.
The bar has cheap drinks and from the dorm room you can barely hear the music and it stops at 11pm anyway so can still get a good sleep.
Breakfast of banana pancakes was good.
Overall one of the best hostels I've stayed in and would definitely recommend it!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliestravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meerbusch, Deutschland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We booked a 7 bed dorm with 5 people and had it all for ourself. The hostel is located really central and has a nice place to relax, to watch a movie, to predrink or to read. The breakfast is very simple but nice. The rooms are clean, but the bathroom is smelling really badly, you should not keep the door open! Even though you have to share a room, you get a personal locker which is pretty big to put your stuff in. If you want to have a cheap stay and to get a know a lot of backpackers from all around the world, the gili hostel is the right choice for you.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lenirfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I was a solo traveler and had the BEST time at this place. The rooms are really spacious and clean, comfortable beds and the bathrooms are accessed from the dorms like an en-suite so no walk of shame in your towel!!!. Breakfast in the morning is included in the price of the room another little perk especially if its banana pancake day!.

The roof top bar is a great place to chill during the day and have a drink (or 10) at night, the staff are what really make this place friendly, happy in their jobs and they play an AWESOME variety of music, I regularly stole songs from their playlist!. The manager Lou is a doll who is always happy to help if you have any problems (or you need to get drunk :) )

Before I arrived I read the reviews and was a bit freaked out about people talking about bed bugs, but I really don't know how this could be true as all the bedding is changed and washed frequently so don't let that put you off! Basically booked 3 nights and stayed for 7! I really did not want to leave and I WILL return, best hostel that I have stayed at in my 4 months traveling in SE Asia hands down, Its been created by people who know what you need out of a backpackers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The hostel was really cool. Really nice people. Bathrooms ok. But my girlfriend and I got bed bugs unfortunately. Wish I didn't have to write this but I do! The breakfast was good it included. Banana pancake or omelette for breakfast was good too

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dkinrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11022013, General Manager at Gili Beach Bum Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi there,
Thanks for reviewing us. Unfortunately with the way travellers get around, you can be bed bug free for a while until someone else brings the problem back again. It is something thats very prevelant in hostels in Bali, and because of the nature of travelling the problem gets around. After some trial and error we now have great measures in place to jump on the problem as soon as it is reported. And thanks to you letting us know, we were able to treat the room and reopen it within a day along with giving you a refund for your stay. There have been no complaints since.We have preventative fumigation on all rooms weekly, along with other routine measures. All sheets and bedding are hotwashed ( which is difficult on our little island) We have reasearched and got a supplier to make us bed bug resistant matress covers that are on their way to us as we speak. We even have signs up for our guests informing them of things they can do on their travels to reduce the spread of bed bugs. So far things are going very well. Its a shame that your stay was tainted, but because of your timely cooperation we were able to get into action before anyone else was bitten, so thanks again.

With the cooperation of our guests and our new system we have great confidence for the rest of 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.1 mi away
Gili La Boheme
Gili La Boheme
#14 of 237 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.2 mi away
My Mate's Place Gili T
My Mate's Place Gili T
#11 of 237 in Gili Trawangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
M Gili
M Gili
#10 of 237 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gili Klapa Hostel
Gili Klapa Hostel
#59 of 237 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gili La Boheme Sister
Gili La Boheme Sister
#13 of 237 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Favela
La Favela
#8 of 237 in Gili Trawangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gili Beach Bum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gili Beach Bum Hotel

Property: Gili Beach Bum Hotel
Address: Jl. Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia (Formerly Gili Hostel)
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 237 Speciality Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gili Beach Bum Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gili Beach Bum Hotel, formally known as Gili Hostel is a uniquely designed dorm hotel, with spacious and fully air conditioned rooms. Each room is secured by a pin coded lock and each bed has its own secure locker with power supply and reading light. For the water lovers, Gili Beach Bum is situated right on the prime beach spot which is ideal for swimming, snorkeling and sun bathing. For those who are not too fond of the salt water, Gili Beach Bum also boasts a crystal clear pool bar which is good for cooling off and for it's legendary pool parties. (Please note, due to construction the pool bar will be closed until November but is still open for use). Gili Beach Bums popular LAVA bar is considered to be the islands pre-drinking hot spot for both dive instructors and tourists. LAVA is an open air bar right on the beach, under the start, with well priced drinks, good music and a good atmosphere for both die hard party goers and laid back hippies. LAVA is known to host epic costume parties and promises to be a good spot to get the party started on any night of the week. In adidition to our lovely beach bar, Gili Beach Bum also offers free breakfast on our rooftop chill out lounge. Breakfast includes options such as omelets, pancakes (banana, pineapple, honey or plain), fresh local watermelon, fruit juice, tea and coffee. Gili Beach Bum's rooftop lounge is ideal for day time chilling, nursing a hang over, reading a book or catching some shut eye. Movies are played on request and weekly movie marathons (Sunday) make the rooftop lounge a comfortable homey area you do not want to leave. Pizza can be delivered on request without any problem. If you are looking for a hostel hostel that is more than the typical hostel on a party island then you have found the right place. We never miss out on the fun yet we make an effort to continuously create a chilled, relaxed and laid back atmosphere, where awesome people meet other awesome people; depicting the typical island lifestyle. Anything goes at Gili Beach Bum Hotel. Check in and become part of the Beach Bum Tribe! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gili Beach Bum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gili Beach Bum Hotel Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing