We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cotton Tree Cottages
Ranked #14 of 171 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

It was the 2nd time I came to this island. Last time was 2 years ago then I stayed at Gili Air. This time we went for Gili Trawangan and we stayed here for 4 days 3 nights at the family rooms and shared the room with our best friend before he moved on the next day to the other room (cuz the first night all other rooms were already booked). The family rooms have 2 beds, down stair and up stairs. A small minus point are the beds, which were a bit noisy.
The cottages are clean and new I guess. A bit far from the harbour, we walked more less 8 minutes from where we stay. The hotel offers free wifi and has bikes for rent. The complimentary breakfast was good, they have western food or local food.
The people are friendly and helpfull.
Actually today we were supposed to check out 11 o'clock but our boat to Bali at 3pm so they let us stay longer till 2pm because this room was still free. I recomended to you, if you gonna stay in Gili Trawangan stay at this hotel. It is really nice and a bit away from the hustle!! No cars, no motor bike, no worries!!
PS : from Gili Trawangan to Gili Air/Gili Meno you better buy your ticket at an early around 8.30 or 9am. The boat will leave at 9.30am; if you miss it and still wanna go to the other Gilis a private boat will be quite expensive! And the boat will come back at 3pm - again, don't miss the last boat or it will cost so much.
To Gili Air is 30.ooo/pax in rupiah
To Gili Mano is 25.ooo/pax in rupiah
Wish you a very nice holiday!!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank NovitaBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed at Cotton Tree Cottages for 4 nights, and loved the place. We weren't too keen on Gili Trawangan in general (too loud, too 'party' compared to the bliss that is Gili Air) but our lovely, air-conditioned hut (or lumbung) away from the main strip made the stay for us. The huts are sparkling new, the bed was huge and comfortable, and the outside (but concealed) shower made it feel really special. The breakfasts were something else; by far the best we've had yet in Indonesia. I went for the (huge bowl of) fruit, yoghurt and muesli every morning, while my less health-conscious boyfriend filled up on eggs, bacon and a baguette, and there were other options too. Free re-fills of filtered water available all day, too.

The staff are very helpful - Basile, who I think owns (or part owns) the place, gave us a run-down of what there was to do in the area, where to eat, what nights were good and at which bars, all in good English (really makes a difference). He also helped arrange a diving trip for my boyfriend - he's an instructor at Manta Dive just round the corner. The Indonesian staff were good and really helpful too - especially Rozy who came to pick us up from the harbour as it would be a little difficult to find on your own. Just give them a call when you arrive and they're more than welcome to come and collect you. I recommend you rent some bikes from them when you settle in (for $3.50 AUD a day) which makes the journey onto the main strip only a couple of minutes (oh, and make sure you borrow a head torch from them - it's a little dark at night).

All in all, a great little find for us, and great value compared to other accommodation we looked at on Gili T :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at Cotton Tree Cottages in November and its a truly great place away from the busy main street but yet very close (less than 2 minutes on the push bikes you can hire from Cotton Tree) to the beach and main street. Breakfast is amazing and the staff are friendly and willing to help with anything! Would certainly recommend Cotton Tree and will stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skippyjelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The cottages are newly built and part of their charm is the basic minimalist design. The outdoor bathroom is well-designed and maintained. The staff are very friendly and helpful

The hotel is a far walk from the main road- a good 10-15 minutes. Without direction it would be impossible to find by yourself! Luckily they offer pick-up from the wharf, just give them a call before you arrive so they can show you the way. The streets aren't well lit off the main road but they have torches to borrow at night and they also have bicycle rental available

Breakfast was nice- a few options to choose from. There isn't a restaurant but once you order breakfast it is served on the balcony at your cottage. There are also lot's of restaurants along the main street so there isn't really a need for room service. They do have cold drinks available at reception

They have plans for more cottages (5 currently) and a swimming pool so I'm sure TV's and refrigerators will follow but it was nice to enjoy some quiet away from the main hustle

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah-Jane86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Not so many people aware about this accommodation, you need to memorize its phone number before you come so the staff can meet you in the harbour/ Manta Dive area.

They only have 5 cottages without restaurant.
Alley was dark at night but you can borrow the light from staff.
Reception place was very small but simple, with a bamboo chair , mineral water dispenser and a small refrigerator where you can take soda, etc.

Bicycle rental is close by, you can rent around IDR 35 - 50 thousand for 1 day.

Very basic accommodation, no refrigerator and TV on your room.
No soap/shampoo/shower cap in your bathroom, just towel.
Room cleanliness was okay.
Air conditioner and fan were working well.

Room Tip: This accommodation is located 2 km from beach and you need to rent bike rather than walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We booked two cottages for one night. There are only five buildings in total and very next to each other so you should mind your voice especially at night. But the buildings are new with huge bed, semi outdoor shower with lots of hot water. Breakfast has several options that you can order one day before, pretty good options for non-star hotel.

The place is modern but somehow very traditional at the same time. No TV, no refrigerator when we stayed, but it seems they might provide them as each room has a wooden table prepared.

The only drawback is the location that's quite far from main road. Not far from the place is already local people's residence area. But this is made up by the service from the owner and the staffs. They are very helpful, pick you up at the jetty, give you information about the island. They can even help you to rent the bikes, cidomo and book the boat for snorkeling too!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline_wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We had a wonderful 5-night stay at Cotton Tree – absolutely loved it.

It is precisely 7 minutes’ walk (we timed it) from the main beach road and Manta Dive, down the little streets leading further into the island. There is street lighting to a certain extent but it’s nice to have a torch (available free of charge to borrow from reception). It would be hard to find on your own so if you stay here make sure you get your free pick-up when your boat arrives (a member of staff comes to meet you with a bicycle – no motorised transport allowed on the island, it’s so peaceful!!! – and waits for you with your name written on a piece of paper when the boat comes in. Then they walk you back so you know where to go. I called and changed the time for my boat arriving on the day, and they adapted & came and met us no problem). I enjoyed being further into the island because it was quiet and peaceful.

Cotton Tree Cottages are set in a beautiful garden. Basile, the Swiss diving instructor part-owner and manager when we were there, gave us a tour when we arrived, showing us the Cotton Tree which gave its name to the place, and also the tropical fruit trees. There were some beautiful flowers too, and it was lovely to sit in front of your cottage in the morning and have breakfast looking out over the greenery, watching the local staff gardening.

We thought that Cotton Tree Cottages was good value on the Gilis where the accommodation is of a high standard (TV/DVD etc) and so also rather expensive. We did not want to go for real budget, but $50-$60 for many places was just too much.

We paid 400 000 Rp per night in June for a spacious family-room cottage (has a mezzanine for the kids – we did not actually need this travelling as a couple but it was the only room left for our dates), with a very comfortable bed, stylish interior, with fan and AC. There were chairs and tables to sit outside in front, and a stylish partially outdoor bathroom at the back. Breakfast was included and was quite light, but good quality: tea or coffee, and then a choice of fruit with muesli & yogurt healthy breakfast, or cooked breakfast (egg, bacon and warm baguette), or (and this is what I went for every morning because I could not resist) 2 warm croissants with jam and nutella – once I got settled in this was adapted to 100% nutella :) , with some very nice blackcurrant tea.

The local staff were adorable, especially Rozy. They did a great job with limited English – very friendly, gave us plenty of information, were very attentive, available, chatty, and provided good service in a very relaxed, island kind of way. They also cleaned the rooms well and the standard of cleanliness was high.

There is free drinking water provided at reception – you can fill up your bottles at the water distributor with the big reusable containers that the locals use (which is great because avoids buying bottles and generating lots of plastic waste that Asian countries can’t deal with), so I really liked that.

You can also buy chilled beer (and quite often it came with drinking partners sitting out on the deck in reception in the evening with Basile, his friends and staff and other guests – great memories!), and also soft drinks, tea or coffee.

Cotton Tree is pretty new, and I think there are plans for more cottages and a swimming pool eventually. It would be great if simple meals or snacks were available during the day too because it would be so convenient when you come back for a break between dives.

The wifi worked but was slow. Don’t know if that’s due to the island or if the wifi could be improved/upgraded at the Cottages. We were very busy with activities while on Gili Trawangan so we did not use it much.

I would love to go back there – we were planning our next holiday on our way back in the boat :)

Lots more photos and a more personal story of our time at Cotton Tree and diving on Gili Trawangan on our blog: http://www.cathyarnaudasiatour2013.com/gili-islands-a-little-corner-of-paradise/

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParisTraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.4 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
679 reviews
0.7 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marygio Resort
Marygio Resort
#1 of 171 in Gili Trawangan
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gili Nyepi
Gili Nyepi
#4 of 171 in Gili Trawangan
232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gili One Hotel & Resort
Gili One Hotel & Resort
#23 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
18 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Beach House Resort
The Beach House Resort
#17 of 171 in Gili Trawangan
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotton Tree Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Tree Cottages

Address: Jl. Kepiting, West Nusa Tenggara 83354, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 171 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: £22 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotton Tree Cottages is a quiet and nice place at 5 minutes walk from the beach and the main street in Gili Trawangan, close to the nightlife without the nightly noise, you can sleep very well !!! 6 Bungalow Lumbung Style and 2 new Rooms are available every day for you, Our brand new outdoor swimming pool is the core of the place. Our Chef is ready to prepare all the amazing dishes from the menu. We can provide to organize all the transports from Bali and Lombok, snorkeling trip and to give you all the information to enjoy the island during your holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Cotton Tree Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Tree Cottages Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing