We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR STAY AT VILA OMBAK”
Review of Hotel Vila Ombak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Vila Ombak
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OUR STAY AT VILA OMBAK”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The place is nice and great ! However, our primary concern is that there is no proper beach front. Full of corals...could not get into the water comfortably but is great for snorkelling though:-) The beverage outlets have all taken up space on the beach front. Is great and fantastic view sitting out and having your dinner served under windy conditions. The rooms are decent but need touch up. There is no fresh water in the rooms....shower, sink ! Only salt water from the sea Even the swimming pools has only salt water.....:-( we did not know this fact.
Overall it was qute nice.

Room Tip: Check with the hotel about the availability of fresh water in the rooms plus the waether conditions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alegesam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Alegesam T,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Thank you for taking your time to write your review about your recent stay in Hotel Vila Ombak.

Our marine life is still the main point of tourist attraction here in Gili Trawangan. And we are trying very hard to maintain the cleanliness of our beach. Corals (dead or alive) are part of regeneration of the marine ecosystem as they are a life creature. And the damage is the effect of years of illegal fishing exploration which now we are trying to build a big coral fields (3 size of a football fields) just a few meters from the beach. If you like to do diving, you can see it very clearly. Off course it is very hard should we maintain it by our self, it is everyone's responsibility to keep our beach / sea safe enough for everyone.

Most of the bars, restaurants, cafe's in Gili indeed located on the beach front as most of the tourist likes to chill out especially in the afternoon. Have you try our Happy Hours? Most of the time in months the wind are not to strong here in Gili, which is makes it perfect to enjoy your meals while listening to the sound of waves. Not to mention the gazebo for the romantic dinner.

Most of our rooms are traditional style yet with a modern touch. As for the bathroom and pool water, indeed we are still using a saline water since we have to get fresh water from the mainland. However, we do provide a fresh water in a traditional bucket with a water ladle for your to rinse up.

Again, we thank you for your review, and we will make sure that your review will be for our further evaluation and follow up.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again on your next holiday.

Regards,

Management of Hotel Vila Ombak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    636
    310
    128
    94
See reviews for
261
823
52
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel itself is in a great location with good facilities: pool, dive centre, beach.
We did have a few issues with incorrect room on arrival, no towels, transport mix up at the end of the trip. Staff helpful in resolving.

Room Tip: Superior room disappointing so ask for the larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nat201474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Nat201474,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Thank you for your time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

Please do accept our apology for the inconvenience occurs during your stay. Kindly be assure that those matters has been forwarded to the concerned department for their immediate follow up and review.

Hopefully, we would be able to welcome you again in makes you experience the true Hotel Vila Ombak Hospitality.

Regards,

Management of Hotel Vila Ombak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Myself and my girlfriend spent 4 nights on Gili Trawangen, we had never visited before and looking through ratings of establishments we chose vila Ombak. On arrival our room was still not ready and were asked to wait a further 30 minutes, this was fine as it was around lunchtime and we were hungry anyways.
We were escorted to our rooms through the Gardens which in some places were rather hit and miss and maybe the staff were in the midst of major works as over the 5 days we did see a lot of things fixed up. The rooms are quite nice and very roomy, aircon was faultless though the one thing they do not tell you in the information is that the water for the showers is from the saline ground water supply as fresh water is scarce on gill T, we thought this was the norm so after washing with hot last water you then ladle yourself with fresh cold water from a fixable container next to the shower. After finding out from other friends in other resorts that this is not the norm and that there is a De-salination plant on the island we thought maybe they are cutting costs, but after the way we had seen fresh water hoses left running all day on the gardens, in some places flooding the ground, you begin to think maybe there is enough for fresh water showers.
The location of the hotel is amazing just outside all of the hustle and bustle of the main stretch on GILL T, though only a short walk to the action. Amazing snorkelling directly in front of the resort, though a little ways out and not for the beginner, as tides here can leave you stranded a fair way out with only a walk over coral and sharp rocks and urchins to get you back to shore. In fin booties or leaving your fins on while coming in is a must, though i did give me a bit of entertainment watching people struggle, but they were damaging the reef as they stumbled and fell.
Food and service at the bar and restaurant were good though one night we decided to get dessert from the menu and after 15 minute waits each time that the item we had requested was unavailable at the time.
As the tides impact the accessibility of the beach on Gili T then you would think a stunning pool would be the key to success in most resorts, well the pool at Vila Ombak was disgusting.
The pool was broken up into levels of separate pools, so the pool required a constant supply of excess water to skim the surface and move the water into filtration system, due to next to no maintenance on the pool while we stayed, bar the routine pool scoop, this has left the pool in disarray we looked once, I entered what i thought was the better of the 4 Pools, as it was the top level, water was milky with a slight film on the surface, the bottom pool had a scum over the surface, I did not see anyone enter that section on my stay.
so yes I have picked the negatives, but I believe that these were key to what should have been an amazing stay, We laughed about these issues at the time but what you receive at Vila Ombak and what you Spend to stay there are 2 different things and the reality that you were over charged for a mediocre resort experience sets in.
With a lot of work this resort could be back to its glory days.

Room Tip: rooms starting from 1 and up. we had 94 it is right way down the back of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarodvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Jarodvl,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Thank you very much for your time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

Our property concept is traditional and back to nature kind of style. With this, we want to educate our guest as well that maintaining our ground is very difficult than destroying it. The reason we use saline water instead of fresh water, is that we have to buy the fresh water from the mainland Lombok. Everyday, there is a water boat with thousands of gallons of water shipped from the mainland also there is an underground pipe through the sea for the fresh water. The desalination plant in the island is located in the center of the island, and it has to be distribute to more than 100 accommodations and mostly are small to medium accommodation. The salt level in those accommodation near the beach is much higher compare those farther to the center that's why our water taste more salty compare to other accommodation. As Gili Trawangan is very hot throughout the years, we use fresh water to watering the plants. Our pool is cleaned every night. However, let us inform the concerned department regarding this for their follow up.

Thank you again for your valuable review. Hopefully, we are able to welcome you again in the future.

Regards,

Management of Hotel Vila Ombak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Gili Island is magnificent if you are looking for something peaceful than Bali. No cars or motorbikes so very peaceful, ideal for diving and snorkelling right on your beachfront, and just relaxing. I guess what Bali once was, a perfect getaway from the rat race but with all the amenities.
Vila Ombak was perfect, beautiful pools, a few minutes from the beaches and deckchairs, loved our room and rainforest shower, and can't wait to return. My only negative is we had trouble getting beach/pool towels. Food delicious in all the nearby restaurants we tried and not expensive.

Room Tip: We asked for a room near the pool, it was perfect, a lovely shaded front terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kerrem520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Kereem520,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Thank you for your time to write a review about your recent experience with us. Indeed our location is perfect, not to far from the central yet still offers a privacy for our guest. Pool/beach towels is still a challenge for us since we wash and clean it in the mainland (Lombok). However, we can assure you that we are definitely trying very hard to provide all of our guest needs. Please do accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

Hopefully, we are able to welcome you again in our resort on your next vacation.

With Kind Regards,

Management of Hotel Vila Ombak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederikssund Municipality, Denmark
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great place to stay, clean room – cleaning twice a day, fridge and safe box in the room free of charge. You get free bottle of water twice a day and free coffee in the room every day. The air-condition is perfect almost without any noise. The TV in the room provide a wide range of international channels. The Hotel has pool areas with different pools including a pool-bar. You get pool towels you can take to the beach were you could make use of the loungers. They beach bar is great with service-minded staff and they serve good coffee.

Room Tip: Room with a terrace provides loungers for relaxing in the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Teddy B,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

First of all, thank you for your valuable review here in regards to your recent experience with us.

Our staff is trying very hard to fill every guest needs includes the standard make up and turn down service in the room. Thank you very much for your credit.

Hopefully, we would be able to welcoming you again in the future and the Lombok Coffee will be waiting for you.

With Kind Regards,

Management of Hotel Vila Ombak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I tried to shower at the hotel and everything was salty. I had to wait for the water in the small bucket cause that was the only fresh water I could get. I was awakened by mosquitoes and insects in the middle of the night. Breakfast was very mediocre and when I left to go get something else, a cat jumped to my table and ate my food. The location wasn't great either, it was a little far from the sandy area where you can actually play in the sand and water

My room, however, was spacious (got the deluxe room) and I actually liked the setting of the bathroom which was located outside the room and in the open. The beds were a little squeaky but that was okay. I wouldn't recommend this place to people though, it didn't look like the pictures on the website and clearly I was disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steffiemhalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear steffiemhalim,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

First of all, allow us to thank you for your time to write a review about your recent stay with us. In regards to that, please allow us to apology for the inconvenience you had. Our bathroom water indeed a saline water, just like most of the accommodation here in Gili. However, more to the center of the island, the water is not as saline of those who are near the beach area. Fortunately, we do provide a fresh water in a traditional bucket in each of our guest bathroom for you to rinse up. It is because, all the fresh water in the island, we bought it from the mainland on a daily basis and it is very limited. As for the insect or mosquitoes, we do provide a electric mosquitoes repellent in each room or you can always ask our housekeeping to deliver it to the room. As for he breakfast, we do apology that it doesn't suits to your taste, however, there are plenty of selection for you to choose. And for the cat who jumped to your table while you left the table to get something else, as in the island there are many cats, and there are no dogs allowed here, their population is growing fast. However, here in the island we have a program to control the cats together with the animal preserve organization. We are very sorry for the inconvenience, and you can always ask our staff to move the cat or to get you a new plate of breakfast.

Thank you very much for the room compliment, just for your information, next time you stay again with us, try not to open the door (bathroom / main entrance) to avoid mosquitoes or insect entering your room as this is an island.

Hopefully, you will then again visit us on your next holiday.

With Kind Regards,

Management of Hotel Vila Ombak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was here with my family in 2006 and really fell in love with the place. I've been wanting to come back ever since. The place is more tired now, but still pretty nice.
The location is great, very close to the beach, - and the rooms are cosy (we stayed in one of the bungalows). The bathroom is partly under open air, so when you are taking a shower in the dark you can look at the stars. It is lovely!
The staff was nicer the last time I was here - efficiency could really be better. They are still nice, but the place seems bigger now and more mechanical.
The breakfast was great! The wifi was poor.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lise123333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Lise123333,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Welcome back again and thank you very much for your time to write a review about your recent stay.

We will make sure that your review is forwarded to the concerned department for their improvement.

See you again next time.

With Kind Regards,

Management of Hotel Vila Ombak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.1 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.4 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#9 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.5 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Ombak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Ombak

Property: Hotel Vila Ombak
Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#4 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Ombak 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Ombak, the first international hotel on the magical island of Gili Trawangan, is a place that balances the comforts of first class accommodation with the natural beauty that surrounds.The Hotel Vila Ombak features the traditional building style of Lombok, and its neighboring islands, to blend harmoniously with the island's landscape.Hotel Vila Ombak is the winner of World Travel Awards as the Indonesia's Leading Hotel 2012, Indonesia Travel & Tourism Awards as Indonesia Leading Island Resort - Lombok 2013, and World Luxury Hotel Awards 2013 as the Indonesia Leading Hotel 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vila Ombak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Ombak Hotel
Vila Ombak Gili Trawangan
Hotel Vila Ombak Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing