We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location but old hotel”
Review of Hotel Vila Ombak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vila Ombak
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Reviewed 29 July 2014

my hubby's aunt booked this hotel for our honeymoon. hotel location is great, it is near the busiest part of the island and about 5-10 minutes walk away from the best spot for sunset. staffs are friendly, basically the environment is great. but the hotel is old, it needs to be refurbished. the bed is too soft and sagged in the middle, the bamboo carpet is torn (was worry it would stuck into my feet anytime), the toilet is full of dust, the pool looks great but you can see some greenish or brownish moss by the side. breakfast is good, with different kind of food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Poshie,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Thank you for your time to write a review about your experience with us.

Kindly be inform that it is not in our standard of facilities as you describes, Our concerned department has been inform and for their immediate follow up as our pool is the center piece of the property and it is not good if you see some moss in it.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again on your next holiday.

Regards,

Management of Hotel Vila Ombak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

704 - 710 of 1,909 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We arrived 20 mins after check in time but our room wasn't ready. When we finally got in our room had no towels. When I got into my bed there were peanuts between the sheets- clearly it hadn't been properly cleaned. I woke up on the first night with a cockroach crawling on me- which may have just been bad luck although I think he was after the peanuts! We were unable to get clean towels for most of the stay, and in regards to all of these problems the staff didn't apologize once and were pretty unhelpful when I called to try to get clean sheets/towels. On the other hand the breakfast was lovely, the location was excellent- close to everything but not too loud- and the rooms were nice enough. The pool wasn't as big as in the photos and the beach that the hotel backed onto wasn't as nice as in the photos- but it was easy to hire a bike and ride for five minutes to find one that was. This is the first time I've felt I should write a review- considering the price of this place I was pretty displeased with the cleanliness and service and next time I came here I'd try a different accommodation option.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ihdenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear ihdenton,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

First of all, we would like to apology about the inconvenience you had during your stay with us and thank you for your time to write this review.

It is not in our standard to treat our guest in such a way they did. Rest assure that our concerned department has been inform about this and for their immediate follow up.

Hopefully, the next time you come to Gili Trawangan, we will be able to welcoming you again and let you experience the true Hotel Vila Ombak experience.

Regards,

Management of Hotel Vila Ombak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My best friend and I had the most relaxing, peaceful and pleasent stay. I would recommend hotel Vila ombak to anyone. Service was fantastic and the staff were so friendly.
Wish I could stay there forever!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keh95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Keh95,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Thank you for your time to write such a positive review about your recent experience.

It will be passed on to our staff and for sure we will improve our service much better for all of our guest.

See you again on your next holiday!

Regards,

Management of Hotel Vila Ombak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The majority of the hotel is very nice but the pool area is in real need of a fix up. It's quite run down. There was miss on the pool bar stools.

Breakfast was excellent. Wide range. Staff friendly. Rooms clean. However, lacking pool towls. Often had to go without.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear David B,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Thank you for your time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

Regarding the issue, we already inform our concern department and for sure it will be for their immediate follow up.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again on your next holiday in Gili Trawangan.

Regards,

Management of Hotel Vila Ombak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here in July for two nights. We arrived after a very tough boat trip and were happy to be on dry land. The front of the hotel is nice with a nice pool and swim up bar.

Upon arriving at our room we were surprised to find the bedroom was upstairs and was separated from the bathroom downstairs by a very small access ladder. Being 6 foot 4 I struggled to get down the ladder at the best of times let alone in the middle of the night to go to the toilet. This would be a big problem for less mobile people do I suggest getting a one level villa which I wish we had of know about.

The outdoor bathroom is a nice touch however it just needs better access. The day bed at the front was never used as it is in the shade all day and seems a waste of space.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jervo_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear jervo_14,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Thank you for your time to write a review about your recent experience with us.

The room that you stayed in was Traditional Lumbung Hut, which is a replica of the native people of Sasak people (the origin of Lombok people) which is similar to a traditional barn. The bedroom space is originally where they keep the rice after they harvest it, while the lounge downstairs or berugak in their language is for them to had a chit chat or just to take a nap. The bathroom is indeed a bit of challenge for those who is quite tall like yourself or those with disable or elderly and kids for safety reason.

Hopefully, it will not preventing you to stay with us again on your next holiday.

Regards,

Management of Hotel Vila Ombak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband, 10 year old son and I stayed at Vila Ombak for a week in July 2014 as part of a 3 week holiday. We booked the family bungalow which had a fabulous bathroom but the rest of the bungalow was very dated and tired with old shabby curtains and decor and wardrobe handles that came off in your hand!!

Breakfast every morning was a nightmare when, despite serving 7am - 10.30am we would eat at 9am only to find that 50% of the buffet breakfast was empty and was not replenished.

We ate in the hotel restaurant only one evening choosing the seafood barbeque and found it a lump of stodge and complete disappointment compared to Scalleywags next door but one where the fish was beautiful and salads wonderfully fresh.

On 3 occasions when we went to collect beach towels we were told no beach towels today as they had not arrived from Lombok!

A stunning island which I would recommend to visit but other than the hotel staff, who were charming and friendly throughout, Vila Ombak was a big disappointment and compared to the other hotels we stayed at where we paid the same money very 2 star.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MatildaFarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear MatildaFarnham,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Thank you for your time to write a review about your recent experience.

Please do accept our apology for the inconvenience you had during your stay.

Our concerned department has been inform about it and it will be followed up accordingly.

Hopefully, we would be able to welcome you and your family again on your next holiday in Gili Trawangan.

Regards,

Management of Hotel Vila Ombak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We were so much looking forward to this hotel. It had great reviews and is classified as one of the best hotels on Gili T! BUT... This hotel have big problems! We staid for 4 days, and every day we didn't get Towles. The staff was not helpful! We called room service each day to ask for Towles, and they promised over the phone that the towels was one the way! We waited 1 hour before we called again, and they told us the same thing again! After another hour I then went down to the reception to complain! They said that the boat with the Towles just arrived from Lombok! I asked the receptionist why they, for over 2 hours ago had told me, the towels was right on the way! Because that's is just liaring to people when they know the boat hasn't arrived jet!
Beside from the hole towel problem, this hotel is getting old and needs renovation! Our door had holes in it and we had a huge bug ind our room one night :-(
The pool is ok, but many places there are holes in the surrounding areas, and a child nearly fell in one of this holes!
It is difficult to recommended this hotel when we found it so bad! But the problem is that Gili T 's other hotels are worse :-(
Gili T is not worth spending time on! You can't bath from the sea because of dead corals. The main road is very crowed and the nature is trashy and filthy!
Go to lombok senggigi instead :-)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HelleFredrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear HelleFredrik,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Thank you for your time to write a review about your recent experience with us.

Please do accept our apology for the inconvenience you had during your stay. Our towels indeed is washed in the mainland Lombok since our laundry room is located in our private jetty area in Lombok. And it takes sometimes to delivered all linens to the hotel. However, we do aware that it is not an excuse for us and we are trying very hard to make all of our guest needs at priority. We already inform our concerned department in regards to this and for their immediate follow up.

Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again on your next holiday and experience the true Hotel Vila Ombak hospitality.

Regards,

Management of Hotel Vila Ombak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#11 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
1,220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#5 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
656 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#14 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#8 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
687 reviews
1.4 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#3 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
573 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Ombak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Ombak

Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#3 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: £51 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Ombak 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Ombak, the first international hotel on the magical island of Gili Trawangan, is a place that balances the comforts of first class accommodation with the natural beauty that surrounds.The Hotel Vila Ombak features the traditional building style of Lombok, and its neighboring islands, to blend harmoniously with the island's landscape.Hotel Vila Ombak is the winner of World Travel Awards as the Indonesia's Leading Hotel 2012, Indonesia Travel & Tourism Awards as Indonesia Leading Island Resort - Lombok 2013, and World Luxury Hotel Awards 2013 as the Indonesia Leading Hotel 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vila Ombak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Ombak Hotel
Vila Ombak Gili Trawangan
Hotel Vila Ombak Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing