We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We absolutely loved it”
Review of Hotel Vila Ombak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vila Ombak
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Reviewed 30 March 2009

I'm surprised over the bad reviws so I felt that I have to tell about our stay. We spent 10 days June/July 2008 and were so pleased with everything, going back this summer too. As a family this is THE place at Gili T. Lovely big rooms (Deluxe Family+Deluxe Ombak), fantastic pool area, tasty breakfast, lovely staff and the best location as we see it. In the middle of all the best restaurant for the evenings and a 15 min stroll to the swimable beach in the daytime.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmaniacSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,794)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vila Ombak
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,058 - 1,064 of 1,795 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2009

The rooms are lovely, the hotel is right where the action is. The grounds are delightful.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanberraJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

The family & I booked a room through a travel agent in Java for 2 nights at vila ombak. Upon arrival at the hotel, the clerk asked for 200,000 rupiah ( U.S. $ 20 ) for additional person. I wasn't happy about this and told him about it when he took me to my room. His response was, "you can leave now, if you are not happy". I would punch him if this were in Jakarta or any other big city. But, this is in gili trawangan, I had to stand down. After this incident, I asked my family to stay in the room, while I look for other hotel in the area.
After I found a new hotel, I just checked myself out. I feared for the safety of my family & my own. It's not worth it to fight with a clerk who makes less than U.S. $ 100 per month. There are many other hotels on the island. If you don't mind being milked and challenge to a fight by a lowly front desk clerk, vila ombak is your kind of hotel.
If you are looking for a safety and comfort while staying in gili trawangan, find other hotels. There are plenty of them.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joesemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

Vila Ombak is now one of my favorite hotels. The Indonesian style Lumbung was great fun, the air conditioned bedroom upstairs was well decorated, the bale area with hammock was relaxing, and the outdoor bathroom was beautiful. The staff was always friendly and eager to please. The buffet breakfast was great, including a mix of Indonesian and westernfood (with made to order omlets). The swimming pool was big and well maintained. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SeattleCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2008

We came over from Quici Villas on Lombok on Villa Ombak's boat for $10 a person. After staying at Quinci for less money this was a total disaster.

There wanted $145 US for our hotel room. Our hotel room had no deck. I like to enjoy a cold beverage on my deck when I travel. The rooms was dirty. Some of the lights didn't work. There were stains on the sheets. Gross.

This is all after we requested a room change because they gave us a room with two beds. Did I mention the smell? Not good. There was no way I was going to stay there for a night let alone a week. So off we went to find another hotel room...what we found is another story all together. Much better for $65 less.

They made us pay for 2 nights because we had originally said we were staying for a week. I didn't care I just wanted to get away.

Dont do it. Seriously.

Stayed: October 2008
4  Thank VancouverMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2008

We were staying in Bali and decided to spend a couple of days on the Gili Islands. Advised that you had to fly to Lombok then take a boat, we were relieved to find you could take a 3 hour high speed boat direct from Bali (the port is 10 minutes from Denpasar airport, with free hotel transfers from Kuta, Nasa Dua etc.).

We chose Gili Trawangan as it is the biggest and has more going on, good choice. Gili Meno and Air are 3 minutes away by boat, it looks easily swimmable but the under currents would just make your partner rich and single from the travel insurance claim!

We had pre-booked Vila Ombak for our one night stay. It looked amazing from the outside, but internally it was just basic if not a little dirty and poorly maintained; you need to view my photos. We paid around £100 for the night, so my report is written on that basis, for £30 it would of been good value and received a better report.

We chose it for the exterior views of the Villas (which are beautiful) and the large central pool area. The latter was grubby, but luckily the beach and sea are fantastic on Gili, so we headed there. Breakfast at the hotel was just OK. The hotel water is not fresh (sea water), no problem for us, in fact quite nice but not for everybody. Room had a TV, safe, bed and wardrobe with two hangars. Bathroom had a toilet and grubby outdoor shower area.

It is clear from other photos and reports that there is a mix of rooms at this resort, varying in standards; so choose carefully if you go.

As for Gili Trawangan, a perfect little oasis free from motorised vehicles, it was perfect to cycle around (takes about 30 minutes to cover the full perimeter of the island, but you have to push the bike at times due to deep sand on the trail).

Plenty of bars and restaurants on the main ‘strip’ to entertain you in the evening, but don’t miss the sunset at the rear of the island. Take a horse and cart there if you are too tired to walk around.
Snorkelling is amazing, I saw an enormous sea turtle; but watch those under currents.

In summary, there are many equally nicer and significantly better value hotels on Gili Trawangan, so for me I would advise you take one of those.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick_From_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2008

Me and my girlfriend arrived with the Blue Water Express from Bali. As we got closer, the Gilis looked wonderful! White beaches and deep blue seas.

We got of the boat and were met by the local "taxi drivers" (horse and wagon). Some find this charming, but the guys would not take "no thank you" for an answer.
The driver wanted 50000 IRP for a 400 meter ride. This is not a lot of money, but the driver in Bali (with a car), demanded 60000 for a 15 min. drive...

At the hotel we were met by a very nice and professional member of the hotel staff. Check in was an ease.

We stayed at the deluxe lumbung hut. The hut and its surroundings inside the hotel area is nice and charming. But do not expect luxory! It is small and for a tall man it is easy to knock your head when moving around.
The bed is ok, but the AC does not boost enough cold air to keep you from sweating.

The open air bathroom is nice. The shower delivers salt water, with fresh water in a bucket. This is ok for some days, but I guess you would be fed up in a week or two.

Vila Ombak has a very nice pool area, and in the mid october, it was not crowded at all.
The beach restaurant is wonderful, not so much because of the food - it is good, but not perfect - but for the view! Really nice!
The breakfast however, was perfect!

Vila Ombak is without doubt the best place to stay on Gili Trawangan. But do not expect something perfect! The sanitary conditions are not as good as what you can expect in a hotel on the mainland.

In my opinion Gili Trawangan is also overrated. Yes it is beautifull here. But there are many, many island which is much more scenic than the Gilis. Outside of the hotel area there is not much to see but sand and bleak trees.

The beach is nice, and the water crystal clear, but the island street is dirty and smelly. This is an old hippy island, and it showes. We met lots of people who clearly have been living life hard. You will meet the marihuana pushers when moving around at night, and even if they are not very scary they take away some of the charm.
Gili Trawangan is nice, but I would never go here with kids or older friends.

The best about the island? Get up at 06 in the morning and enjoy the sunrise with the girl you love. Great!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Imedvindfranord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#12 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#6 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
659 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#14 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
587 reviews
0.5 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
406 reviews
1.4 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Ombak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Ombak

Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#4 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: £63 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Ombak 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Ombak, the first international hotel on the magical island of Gili Trawangan, is a place that balances the comforts of first class accommodation with the natural beauty that surrounds.The Hotel Vila Ombak features the traditional building style of Lombok, and its neighboring islands, to blend harmoniously with the island's landscape.Hotel Vila Ombak is the winner of World Travel Awards as the Indonesia's Leading Hotel 2012, Indonesia Travel & Tourism Awards as Indonesia Leading Island Resort - Lombok 2013, and World Luxury Hotel Awards 2013 as the Indonesia Leading Hotel 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vila Ombak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Ombak Hotel
Vila Ombak Gili Trawangan
Hotel Vila Ombak Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing