We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad, not too good...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed for four nights in Joglo Villa at Desa Dunia Beda.
The large shared pool and beach side location is a big plus for Dunia Beda, and really enjoyed eating breakfast at the beach whilst taking in the beautiful view of the sea. The site is quiet and peaceful.

Unfortunatly, we were let down by the room we received, it most definately wasn't the room, or had anything to do with the pictures on the website. The room was very dark and dull which made visibility poor, having to use a torch at times (even in the daytime). The en-suite bathroom, or should I say small stone yard with a toilet and small plastic bucket of water (for washing) in it - hardly a 3 star facility as advertised. Also, when issued our Villa it was made very clear in a blunt manner that nothing in the room was complimentary and anything used is to be paid for. I'm not one for minding paying for what I use, but so many other resorts offer water, fruit juices etc. at a much fairer price.

A little advice, Desa Dunia Beda is located on the opposite side of the island to the harbour and main strip of shops and restaurants, so you have to cross the island (through winding paths, desolate land and rubble) to get to and from the hotel each day. Renting a bicycle is by far the best way to travel accross the island, and this resort offers bike hire at a good price (35.000IRP per day). But, be sure to map out your route across the island on day one, as you will get lost in the dark as we did and there will be nobody there to help you! It gets dark early and very quickly (by 6.30pm) so also have a torch to hand.

The service was OK but far from the friendliest we have received during our trip through Indonesia.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorraineJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didik H, General Manager at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear LorraineJamie,

We thank you very much for your staying with us during your valued holiday in the small remote tropical island of Gili Trawangan.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your breakfast at the beach with the beautiful view of the sea.
Yes, ...That's correct that we are located on the quiet and peaceful side of the island.

It seems the problem started from the room. We apologize if our natural concept does not meet to your expectations. We provided the room based on your on line booking via booking.com ( one bed-room bungalow for 2 persons) with the correct room category, description and pictures in both hotel's website or booking.com. In the hotel's website mentioned Joglo Villa (one bed-room bungalow).

To make the room brighter during the day, just need to open the windows and doors curtains or open the entrance door and the bathroom door. We are providing daily complimentary mineral water in all rooms. We are also providing the free island map and rechargeable headlight in our reception (front office), free mask and fins for snorkeling and all the correct information about the island based on request.

I checked with our staff (reception, beach bar and housekeeping), but I can not find any information about your complaint. Our beach bar staff just inform me that you are never had lunch or dinner with us, meanwhile you are really enjoyed your breakfast at the beach with a beautiful view of the sea surrounded by quiet and peaceful atmosphere. I think it would be necessary for us to full fill all you need and take any necessary action to make your stay pleasant when you are still with us.

We thank you for all your suggestions and we receive every guests complaint with open hands. We are always looking for improvements if any possible to make every guest has a memorable experience with us.

Best regards,
Desa Dunia Beda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
There are newer reviews for Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Im back to Desa Dunia Beda... Its a lovely resort. Coming back to villa joglo.
It is a great enviroment with eco living way here. Can take a shower under the moonlight...and the water comes out from mouth of stone curving. We almost spent of our time in resort area. Just go to snorkel in front of hotel then meet turtle and another big fish and dont forget bring proper shoes as well......and after just lay down relaxing on long chair at beach deck waiting the sunset. So owesome......What a beautiful life.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex_pj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect, just around the corner of the 'busy' main street and right a the beach.

Snorkeling is absolutely perfect, try to go before breakfast when the sea is still calm and perfectly clear to see everything! We saw turtles, sharks, manta ray, lots of small and big fish! Don't forget some water shoes because you need them. You need to walk over some dead coral which is painful without any proper shoes/socks.

Also the service and food is excellent. The people are really friendly and always smiling and willing to help!

One tip: check your villa or cabin on gecko's, they make quite some noise especially at night...

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erikhornung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Desa Dunia was a very good place for our stay in Gili T. We liked our cottage, the hotel grounds and the service. We spent most of our time on the beach area eating and doing nothing! :)

As other customers have stated, the only drawback of the place is that the the beach in front of it is not a great beach for swimming. It is, if your plan is to snorkel but if you want a sandy beach, then you'll have to go to another beach on the island. Other than that, the place is a good option for Gili T. It's far from the noise but only a 30 mins walk away if you want to go at night (bring a flashlight).

In general we liked the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pmadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This Hotel is the one you want to stay in Gili Trawagan

Why?
Amazing breakfast/food
Lovely people
Far from the crowd
Eco friendly
Super relaxing

Tiny detail you might want to consider, the beach is not made of sand and you have to wear flip-flops if you want to swim, apart from that, it was just perfect!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ne01325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights earlier this week and absolutely loved it.

It's away from the main strip so you don't get any noise and the morning call to prayer isn't heard at this end of the island either.

We stayed in 2 types of accommodation: Kampung Villa with AC & Joglo Villa with AC.
The kampung villa is perfect with a comfortable bed, space for your stuff and a nice bathroom, albeit outside with a chilly saltwater shower!

The joglo villa was just superb. It is a lot larger, has an enormous bed, inside sink as well as the outside bathroom and is just lovely. Out of the 2 types of villa, I would choose the joglo every time. However, had I not seen the joglo, I would have been perfectly happy with the kampung.

The pool is lovely with nice chairs/loungers. Plus the resort is on the beach if you prefer to lie on loungers there.

Breakfast was included in the price and was delicious and huge. There was a very good selection of breakfasts in my opinion. You certainly won't be hungry after breakfast!

The only improvement that I could possibly offer is to use freshwater showers rather than the saltwater ones. Freshwater is provided in large clay pots but for convenience, it would be better coming from a heated shower. However, we still loved our stay and would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twiggy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Travelling around the island, we felt very lucky to have chosen Desa Dunia Beda. At the quieter end of the island (but not too far from the action), this place was our favourite accommodation when compared to anywhere else we stayed in Indonesia. The rooms were stunning, the salt water showers invigorating, the pool area so relaxing, the service friendly but not intrusive, and the sunset view beautiful. One other tip - the tapas and sangria at Karma Kayak, a few hotels along - superb!

Room Tip: We stayed in both the garden and beach front rooms, AC and fan rooms. Both were excellent! Authentic...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smoodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesaDuniaBeda, Propriétaire at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Smoodge,

Thank you for your great comment about our resort, and we are so happy that our resort was for you the best place you stayed during your holiday in Indonesia.

Happy to know also that you did like our Eco bathroom with (as you mention) invigorating shower.

We hope you will be back to us to enjoy the great sunset from the beach in front of our resort.

Sincerly your

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.4 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
406 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,797 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#6 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#14 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
574 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#12 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Pantai, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: £77 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most quiet resort on Gili Trawangan. We are located on the north part of the island and we have one off the longest beach (170 mtr),you will enjoy it having a romantic time or dinner time facing the indian ocean. With only twelve villa on our fifteen square meter property your privacy will be respected at any time during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desa Dunia Beda (Gili Trawangan - Lombok) Hotel Gili Trawangan
Desa Dunia Beda Lombok
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing