We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming”
Review of Puri Hondje

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Puri Hondje
Seoul, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were greeted by very friendly hosts and had a wonderful stay, despite it being only a night! It's not on the beach front, but only a 5 minute walk away. Would definitely recommend. Great breakfast too ;)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireG4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    22
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We pre-booked this place and on arrival were greeted (by our names) with an enthusiastic welcome by Harry, the caretaker. He then notified us that we were being upgraded to the larger villa for the same price and eventhough the price did not include breakfast that he would be happy to cook for us in the mornings free of charge. The pancakes were excellent by the way!

Our accommodations were incredible. The villa was very clean and huge. There was a daybed downstairs with a tv and fan. It did have an outdoor bathroom with excellent water pressure and hot water available. But be aware, that with an outdoor bathroom comes bugs (we're talking a few mosquitoes), yet this was expected and did not bother us at all; I just thought I should mention it. Upstairs had vaulted ceilings, a well functioning AC unit and king-sized, comfortable bed with mosquito netting. We had a private balcony overlooking the small pool with beanbag chairs for lounging. The pool itself was actually cold - rare in Bali and such a treat!

Puri Hondje was the perfect location. Just a 5 min walk down the alley from all the action, but tucked enough away so as to not get any of the noise. It was initially a little difficult to find, but all the locals knew it by name and were happy to provide directions.

From what we could tell, there was just the one villa where we stayed and the two smaller bungalows, so I would definitely pre-book if you are wanting to stay here to avoid disappointment of it being full. Also, because there's only the 3 rooms it feels like you have the entire place to yourself!

Another note, there is no restaurant on site, but there are multiple options just a minutes walk away. Nevertheless, there is a small outdoor kitchen by the pool and I'm sure Harry would cook for you if you asked and he was notified ahead of time.

We would highly recommend this place based on the staff alone. Harry completed our stay with his enthusiasm, friendliness, and assistance with anything we needed. You must stay here!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chelsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

we stayed for 4 nights ; i wish we could have stayed longer. Its not that easy to find but boy was it worth it A beautiful villa with a balcony. High vaulted ceilings upstairs, a daybed with TV downstairs, opening out to the lovely cool plunge pool. We had a fresh cooked breakfast made to order every day. The owners were fantastic; really lovely welcoming people with a great sense of humor.
I loved that we had this oasis to enjoy while others on the main strip were bombarded with commercialism, lights and human traffic. I would rate Puri Hondje over many of the hotels which cost a lot more. It looks like it is far away on the map but it is literally 5 mins walk from the main drag. I cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: The villa option with an upstairs and downstairs is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

we love it!friendly staff,clean,nice location,close to center of Trawagan but in a quiet part.Staff was so nice,they know even few words in our leangue Slovene.They dont have breakfast but its not expensive to get one in a restaurant.Nice!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.1 mi away
Giliano Residence
Giliano Residence
#66 of 243 in Gili Trawangan
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diversia Diving Club and Bungalows
Diversia Diving Club and Bungalo...
#35 of 243 in Gili Trawangan
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Sahabat
Villa Sahabat
#90 of 243 in Gili Trawangan
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tir Na Nog Gili Trawangan Accommodation
Tir Na Nog Gili Trawangan Accomm...
#19 of 159 in Gili Trawangan
344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Good Heart Resort
Good Heart Resort
#16 of 243 in Gili Trawangan
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Daily Gili
Daily Gili
#24 of 159 in Gili Trawangan
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Hondje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Hondje

Property: Puri Hondje
Address: Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 243 Speciality Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Puri Hondje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hondje Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing