We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made's waroong at Balikana, Gili Trawangan”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gili Trawangan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Balikana Boutique Beach Resort
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We didn't stay at the resort but it looked sweet and cozy, mininum stay 3nights, little warned out. Might be a bit far for those looking for crowd and party. At the end of the day its a retreat place - feels like perfect escape place.
There were more luxury, fancy or central places but we kept returning to the Balikana waroong on the beach everyday. There was something personal and sincere in the attitude, service and how meals were done - fresh, local recipes, well balances and cared dishes. Asparagus crab soup gets our excellent mark, makrel on grill with vegi curry is unique too. Easy to be excellent when done with love.thank you, guys

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank OlechkaGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review of our restaurant and feedback on your feeling of our hotel and location. The three night minimal was enforced for high season only and we do accept one night bookings. Extensive renovations have been in effect to beautify our gardens and to secure our property for the rainy season. We are always trying to find the right way, and hope that If you return to the island you will try a nights stay with us. In progress are new villa rooms and lovely individual island style bungalows. The restaurant staff will be informed of how well they pleased you. Chef Suma is from Bali and is a very talented man with a wok and grill. He has trained his staff to maintain the integrity of good food,, pleasing to the palate, the eye and to the pocket. Thank you once again for your critic, we appreciate it tremendously, We hope that you come again, or send your friends in the future for "A Taste Of Indonesia"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is not a boutique resort - we booked here thinking it would be really nice but its not.
The beach out the front is terrible, I ended up at the medical centre as I cut my feet on the coral.
There was no hot water for the showers
The door to the outdoor bathroom is difficult to use
There is no beach restaurant as advertised on their website (its closed, and looks as though it has been for VERY long time) they provide breakfast but thats it.
The bikes are very poor quality
The lady owner waits up for you at night to check if you all come home (there were 6 of us, and she would ask where the others were if we weren't all together) - very odd!
There are cats everywhere!
No fridge, tv, complimentary water etc - sure it was only $80 - $85 a night but other hotels on the island were similar price and they provided these

A major overhaul of this accommodation is needed or the price needs to be dropped significantly




The only positives about this plase is Made, he is lovely, very welcoming and great to have a chat with and the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Narelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review of our hotel. It gives us an opportunity to update you and your group that stayed at our resort in September. You have mentioned so many issues so I will respond briefly, sorry about the coral on the beach, but it is an island surrounded by a coral atoll and September is windy and coral does wash up on the beach, sorry that you injured yourself, and we are happy to say that we have two very clean clinics on the island that are available for 24 care as well as housecalls. This month we had visiting vets that come once or twice a year to neuter the cats, and they are proud to report that over two hundred cats were neutred as well as the rescue kitten that was so offensive to your friends in the bunglalow next to yours. The restaurant was closed when you visited but we did mention that it was under new management and rented as a separate business. Proud to report that it has been operational once again since November and offers wonderful western and Indonesian food. Open for breakfast from 7:00 am , and closes at 10:00 pm. Already it has been promoting cultural experience and have had live entertainment . We hope that when you and your friends return to the island that you have a chance to experience the best Indonesian cuisine on our sunset beach. Once again sorry you did not get a chance to experience it, however, we were happy to be able to provide breakfast on the beach and as your friends gave that a high review, we hope that you felt the same. The bikes as mentioned are a separate concession and are in immaculate condition, the doors in the bathroom may have been sticky as with humidity wood swells, and if you had a cold shower we are very sorry, once again, all problems at the beach, once reported are taken care of, this is the beach, and this an outter island, not an experience for all persons. thank you once again for your concerns, I believe everything mentioned as been taken care of and we hope that your next holiday leaves a better memory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

To start with the positives.....
1. good pool
2.Made was very welcoming, friendly and helpful
3.nice breakfast included each morning
and unfortunately this is about where it ends.......

The negatives.......
1.over the 4 nights we stayed we did not once get a hot show, only a cold dribble from the outdoor shower, one day no water.
2.The bikes available for hire were substandard and left grease on our legs
3. Our room only had one key which was the master! So our room was unable to be cleaned when we left the hotel and we were not told about this until we had happened to have lost the key out one day. We came back to the hotel straight away to let them know and prepared to pay for a key replacement but was confronted with a "telling off" from the lady owner as it was the master (which we weren't to know) and had to wait downstairs until they broke into the room, we were informed we were to pay for the new lock, key and the transport to get this equipment and possibly a new door?? seriously has anyone heard of this happening at a hotel before?
It wasn't until a friend mentioned to them the following day that it was unfair and we shouldn't have to pay for all that that they must have reconsidered as the final bill on checkout we were charged 150,000.
I thought this matter was handled in a very bad manner.
4. We always felt like the lady owner was checking up on us, she waits for us to come home every night and checks who is with us and asks were the others are (we were in a group of 6) she was always around and we felt like we were always being watched. Its good to be a friendly hotel manager but out of all the hotels I have stayed in around the world I have never come across one who I felt like was checking up on me.
5. stray cats! be ready for stray cats everywhere! we were often woken up during the night to screaming cat fights right outside our room, and even witnessed a cat running away with a kitten screaming in its mouth. Which the owner later took under her wing and constantly had hanging around.

This is the first time I have ever written a review on a hotel. But I think it is necessary for people to know that this is far from a "boutique resort" I think value for money there are plenty of other options o n the island.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rusto30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We always welcome feedback from our guests, because it is only with your response that we can know where we excel and where we have room or improvement. To respond to your remark about our pool, thank you very much and we are glad that you and your friends enjoyed yourself at Balikana. We also thank you for the positive review of our breakfast as it is the same breakfast we have been running all year, and as you can see from other reviews that we have not always received a positive comment, so we are happy that you enjoyed your breakfast. Made is a gem, a very spiritual and sensitive man who always takes the time to help in any way he can, and we thank you so much for your positive thoughts on him. Along with the positive we have been thinking about the things that disturbed you at Balikana, and would like to clarify that the bike are a concession that is maintained by outside people and we are really sorry about the grease you received on your body and we will advise the people in charge of the bike to address this issue so that other guests wont be disturbed by over maintenance. To respond to your comments about the showers not having water, this is the first we are hearing about this from any guest, we were certainly not aware that you had no water during your stay, I can assure you there is water in the room , and only regret that you never mentioned your problem at all during your stay. The hotel has been running full for quite a while, and what you might conceive as checking up on you , others might interpret as a friendly greeting in the reception upon your return from your days activity. I am so sorry that you felt personally watched, but I can assure you that it was just meet and greet and sincere welcome back safely and hope that your day was enjoyable. Contact with your group was strictly in passing in the reception, and never was your space invaded in your upstairs lounge nor near your rooms, nor at the pool. In the situation of the cats, unfortunately, you decided to take a holiday on an outter island where it will be cats, or cows, or mosque, or chickens, or other people, and that is beyond our control, the rescue kitten all of three weeks was not chosen to annoy you or your group, it was an exceptional event that happened and I cannot say sorry for saving it, only sorry that its presence in the reception area annoyed your group and ruined your stay. To address the lost key, there is a posting in the reception listing items and rates charged for lost or damaged items. We did discuss between us that we would not charge or the broken door, nor the lost key for the lock box, however, it was you that told us that you agreed to pay for the lost key and that you felt responsible for this key. The 150,000 rupiah was the posted rate by the reception or the cost of the key replacement. You were charged only for what you personally agreed to pay. Made did say he neglected to tell you that the previous guest walked out with the last key, and that we took responsibility for that and were not charging you for the masterkey. In your four day stay at Balikana, your room was not cleaned only one day of your stay and that was due to the fact you were not home and we did not have the key to get into your room. Once again, thank you for your comments, we appreciate all the positive and negative as it gives us a chance to review what we are doing right and where we can improve. We hope the next time you decide on a Gili Trawangan holiday you will have a better experience, and we would love to see you again to show you how we have taken your comments to heart and how much we would love to show you a better time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We have been coming to Bali now for 25 years, we have been 3 times already this year, so we have stayed in many hotels here, so after staying at Balikana we were very disappointed. The photos on their website were taken a long time ago as it is in dire need of repairs. The beach area especially as all the deck chairs are broken and unsightly. The room was especially a surprise as we had no complimentary water, no tissues, no tea and coffee facilities ( which was a real downer for me), no fridge, no television. Admittedly, it was only $80 per night which is really cheap, but having come from Bali Court in Legian for $85 per night we had all these things included. The owner is a Canadian woman and her lovely partner Made who were both very obliging, but I think That they should perhaps increase the nightly rate and include all those things that guests expect when coming to a Any resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenbarb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest, we are so sorry that the experience at Balikana did not meet your expectations. We have taken all your comments under consideration. There are now workers on site repairing all the damages to the property received during the high season, and if you give us a chance to show you how much we care about you and all our guests, we will certainly put fresh water in your room rather than the complimentary refill process we have been using. We will also put a tv in your room if this is what will make you happy rather than using the common one in the lounge. We are always taking our lead from our guests and if this is important to you, it is important to us, and we will provide. Once again, we are so sorry you were disappointed, our aim is to always please our guests and put each persons need up front. than you once again for thinking of Balikana as your choice of accommodation, and we hope that in the future upon your return to the island you will think of us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very laid back place and beautiful rooms/bathroom AMAZING!!!!!! Wonderful swimming pool and beautiful beach just across the path/you have breakfast on the beach!! Its not a big razmataz place with fancy umbrellas, its just a place to chillax on the beach and brilliant snorkelling. The great thing is about Balikana is you can lie on the beach while your children play in the swimming pool and you know they are safe. Its walk able to town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for positive comments. We are always striving to give the guests a memorable holiday. We are glad your stay with us was a good one. You have a charming family and it was a pleasure to have you as our guests in our home at Balikana. We are always striving to improve and now after the holidays the workers have returned to fix all the damages incurred during the high season. We hope to see you in the future once again at Balikana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Positive : location, nice owner, availability (we understood why after checking in...)
Negative : room not neat, overall need of major renovation everywhere in the hotel, breakfast (awful, we ended up going elsewhere to have one)

The pool is nice, just be careful not to get a shard on your feet while accessing it...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Romain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest, we are so sorry that your experience was a disappointment. We have noted all your comments and are now addressing all your issues. Our guests positive experience is most important to us, and there is no small detail mentioned that goes unnoticed. We hope that if you give us another chance we will excel in all your desires and that your stay will be a memorable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

This place is absolutely wonderful. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The indoor/outdoor bathroom are beautiful. We were running around Bali and when we found the Balikana we stopped and spent the rest of our vacation there. Mr. Bamz and Mr. Allie were incredibly helpful and made the experience very memorable.. We were all sitting in the cabana and playing the guitar while the waves crashed a few feet away.. it was heaven..

Breakfast was included and we loved sitting at the beach enjoying our meal and talking over excellent Lombok style coffee.

If you want to party - this is not the place for you.. If you want to relax and recharge your batteries and restore your serenity .. then come here

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank contextswitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest, thank your for your positive comments. Your reviews are so important to us, not only the negative, which open up areas where we must improve but for the positive ones that let us know that we did something right. We will always strive to do better, to give you an amazing holiday. We thank you for your feedback and hope that if you return or send your friends the experience will remain the same, we live in paradise and we are always happy to share the dream.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.0 mi away
Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa
Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa
#16 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
590 reviews
0.0 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
553 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Almarik Resort Lombok
Villa Almarik Resort Lombok
#9 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
362 reviews
0.0 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
423 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gili Ocean Club
Gili Ocean Club
#31 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balikana Boutique Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balikana Boutique Beach Resort

Address: Gili Trawangan, Gili Indah | Pemenang, NTB, Lobar, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: £376 - £489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balikana is a family guest house situated on the north beach side of Gili Trawangan located in front of the prime snorkel location on the island. It is the place for romance, watersports, or relaxation. Eye stopping tropical garden, beautiful swimming pool, cozy traditional designed rooms with western amenities. A golden paradise retreat.Free wifi included with rooms. Lounge includes tv with satellite channels, lending library. Owner managed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balikana Boutique Beach Hotel Gili Trawangan
Balikana Boutique Beach Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing