We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing overall experience, not so good restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aston Sunset Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Canggu, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very relaxing overall experience, not so good restaurant”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at the Aston Sunset for 2 nights and overall we were very happy with the service and our experience. We wanted a getaway with quiet surroundings and nothing to worry about and that is what we got. The pool is massive and the lush green area around it is pretty empty and quiet until 10 AM. We slept better than at home thanks to the back-out curtains!
We stayed in the Deluxe Room which was lovely; the room was clean and well equipped, the bed super comfy and the hotel in general lived up to what you typically expect from a hotel chain: a range of branded amenities, good front desk service and friendly staff, although not all of them spoke well enough English (which we do expect from a concierge!).
Small beauty-let down: a cracked tile in the shower and the lock to the balcony door looked like it was coming out and about to break - minors in the end though.
Great are the bikes that you can rent for free - but you need to be quick to get them in the morning!
The beach area: neat & clean but not enough (natural) shade: during the day they didn't have enough umbrellas - not even enough for the front beach row sun beds. In the end two very helpful waiters moved one of the umbrellas from the front to our sun beds in the back, which was very nice. We had dinner at the restaurant once and really were not impressed at all. We got 2 very standard tasting spring rolls without any garnish on a plate and they were too greasy; the Caesar salad with prawns drowned in sauce, and I found 2 (!) tiny prawns in the salad hidden under the romaine lettuce. The portions were very small; the mie goreng was ok, but we've had better ones, no sambal, no sauces were given... The majority of the dishes we tried cannot be considered more than average in taste and quality and for charging 21% tax and service on top, the restaurant is nowhere near other really good restaurants on the island. We felt like we needed to repeat everything in Indonesian to the restaurant staff to make sure they got our order right as one of us is vegetarian. Definitely needs improvement!
Our verdict: great place to stay and get away from the buzz as a couple but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Henny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonGiliTrawangan, General Manager at Aston Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2016
Dear Henny S,

We sincerely apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to live up to your expectations. Pleased to let you know that we have been made aware of your comments and that these will be evaluated and addressed accordingly. You can be assured that we will give your feedback our full attention and use it to help us correct our deficiencies and improve our services to ensure that this similar situation does not occur again on your next visit.

Regards,
Emanuel Prasodjo A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    553
    232
    87
    77
See reviews for
209
798
53
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Hotel was very clean and the facilities were amazing! Slept better than in my own bed! Although far from the action this place has everything so no need to leave. Free bike hire/Fab sunsets/Largest buffet ever/lots of additional extra nice surprises.





Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anakalia_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonGiliTrawangan, General Manager at Aston Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2016
Dear Anakalia_83,

It is always our goal to please you with convenient place , comfortable accommodation and pleasant experience. Thank you for your time to give us your positive and truly rewarding rating. We will pursue excellence to maintain the quality of accommodation we take pride to offer our guests.

Regards,
Emanuel Prasodjo A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The beachfront lounge and restaurant is a very good sunset point, with Mt. Agung as the background. The seafood buffet was OK, but they certainly could really make more improvement on their cocktails drink. They don't make a good mix drink - sometimes the alcohol was too strong, sometimes they use too much water, etc. :(
Breakfast was OK but not consistent. 1 morning the porridge was good, the next morning it was watery. 1 morning the beef bacon was soft, the next day it was crunchy (which I don't complain but imagine if a guest had a soft bacon the other day, love it so much and looking forward to have the same bacon the next morning but getting the crunchy version instead on the next day, which he doesn't like as it was too hard).

Overall, the hotel itself is not as impressive as our expectation was. I just found out that it was actually an old local hotel which management was then taken over by the Aston group. But i think they did not make much improvement in the room, especially the bathroom area. The toilet was yellowish with age, the floor was slippery as they did not scrub it enough, and the water flow to the wrong direction when showering, causing all the soap and shampoo waste run to the towel area instead of to the drain. Luckily the bed was very very comfortable, which for me makes up for the less impressive bathroom.

Another not-so-impressive moment is on the pick-up arrangement at the harbor. I arranged for 3 horse carts to pick us up at the harbor prior to our arrival, of which their representative said they will have their hotel staff waiting at the harbor. Only later that I found out they are not there and we are to get our own horse cart at the harbor, but Aston will pay it on our behalf when we get to the hotel (which later I found out to be the same rate as if I pay it myself - so what's the point of having this prior arrangement?).

The arrangement to get back to the harbor during check out was also a bit messy, but by this time we have learnt to spare extra waiting time so we won't be late for our boat back to Lombok island.

One thing I appreciate was that they provide more than enough bike to be borrowed during the day (with no charge), so we could get to the more lively area without have to wait for the horse cart (saving our transport budget as well)

Overall, I think I won't be back to this hotel on next visit to Gili Trawangan. I will definitely find somewhere nearer to the art market/harbor and hopefully better service and cleaner room, but will make a visit to Aston for the sunset.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonGiliTrawangan, General Manager at Aston Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2016
Dear Rachella K,

Thank you for your details review. your comment are truly important for us to monitor the level service we delivered to you. trust that we will work diligently on your concern to provide the excellence service as guest expected.

Regards,
Emanuel Prasodjo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights and from start to end was great ! Live band every night with a great sunset . I stayed in the standard room and 4 star quality . Friendly staff and yes it is a little bit out of the way but it's not far into Central town and good to get away from all the people in the central town . I'll be back in 2 months ! Thanks Aston see you soon

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trent1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonGiliTrawangan, General Manager at Aston Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2016
Dear Trent1989,

It is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.Your positive feedback for our hotel will surely inspire our team to stay committed and continue to work closely to be able to provide the best value services you deserve. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Regards,
Emanuel Prasodjo A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The location is a bit far from the harbor (15 minutes by horse cart which costs IDR 75 thousand or 20-30 minutes biking. Aston will lend the bike, but it is a sandy road and has limited light at night). We stayed for 2 nights. The hotel, similar as other Aston resort hotel, has a nice and spacious room with a quite large swimming pool. We took the Aston club room (we got additional high tea service in the afternoon). The outdoor restaurant where the guest can watch the sunset has a pretty scenery of the beach and the sunset. The only downside is that the location is a bit far from the centre, so the choice for restaurants and other happening things in GiliT are very limited. If you look for a quite place, this must be it. The restaurant service is quite slow, maybe we were there at the busiest time of the year and there is only limited choice of restaurants in the area, unless the guest wants to bike or take the horse cart to the city. But, overall, we have no problem to stay again at this place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonGiliTrawangan, General Manager at Aston Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2016
Dear Atiek,

Thank you for your time writing a review of stay in our Resort. I truly hope that you were manage well by our staff and you had an enjoyable time during you stay. your continue support and trust in our Resort is much appreciated.

Regards,
Emanuel Prasodjo A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Is really a nice place to stay but not as a 5star hotel. We stayed at the villa and it was really worth it. Unfortunately is build not on the nice side of the Island for swimming. It takes around 15mins with the bike to get to the center and the road is very bad, to and through the center. The staff need to be trained. As I'm travelling a lot in Indonesia I have to say that people there are true workers! they can work for hours (and I mean all day long) and days continuously and still they will be smiling! BUT they need guidance and training, someone to tell them what to do specific and not many things together, otherwise they are lost. Travelers have to understand that and show patience. Breakfast was down below the average. Local dishes were absolutely not nice. If you are up for American Buffet maybe you will be satisfied. At the breakfast there were not so many tables, so they used tables and chairs from the conference room. Was really unmatched picture... Hope to change that soon. On the other hand dinner at the restaurant was very good! Different chef maybe??? Who knows.

I wanna mention Muis, who was on the breakfast, for being social, friendly and always smiling. And I wanna give congrats to Royyand at the reception (although he was working in many positions) because he was so helpful, smart and capable of doing everything. He is really a jewel for the hotel.

Room Tip: Take the villa for sure. Alternatively if you are looking for quiet choose the Aston Club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonGiliTrawangan, General Manager at Aston Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2016
Dear Elia H,

Thank you for your supportive comment of our property. your satisfaction is our primary goal, thus we would give our due attention for further improvement. your kind recognition will be shared to our team as this is important to encourage them in creating another magnificent stay for all of our guest.

Regards,
Emanuel Prasodjo A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We've stayed at this resort in June this year and having stayed with Aston before I blindly booked Aston Sunset Beach Resort. I have no clue why this resort is listed as a 5-star property at Booking .com (from previously comments here on TripAdvisor I learned that they claim not to be a 5-star hotel, so apparently nobody is checking the online channels). Anyway, I wouldn't even classify this resort as a 4-star property, the rooms are clean and nice and the receptionist was very friendly, but the breakfast was terrible. The staff at work during breakfast clearly missed a leader and they were either enjoying breakfast themselves or walking around not knowing what they were doing. The spa menu in the spa was different from the spa menu in the room and the choice was very limited. We needed assistance with the safe deposit box in the room as we weren't able to open it. It took 30 minutes before someone came to the room.

Being hoteliers ourselves we might have higher expectations than others, but I believe that there are plenty of better options to stay on this island.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJanssen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonGiliTrawangan, General Manager at Aston Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2016
Dear MJanssen1,

Thank you for bring those issues up into our concern. I am terribly sorry for the inconvenience you had endured during your stay with us. we always strive our best but unfortunately we have fallen short of our goal to pleased you this time. trust that this will be verified and address accordingly, so similar situation will not happen in future.

Regards,
Emanuel Prasodjo A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,722 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#13 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
355 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#15 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
532 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#3 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Sunset Beach Resort

Property: Aston Sunset Beach Resort
Address: Gili Indah-Pamenang, West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#3 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Sunset Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aston Sunset Beach Resort - Gili Trawangan is a retreat for leisure travelers with a taste for style and substance offering comfort, intuitive service, and relaxation interweaved with respect and admiration for local traditions. With it's unmatched facilities and excellent services, this resort is perfect for a short break or an extended family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Sunset Beach Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing