We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent stay and top class staff”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Gili Air, Gili Islands, Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Michael H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay and top class staff”
Reviewed 19 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic 4 night stay as part of our honeymoon. The villa was just as described in the description and the pictures. The location was great, just a few minutes walk from the beach and bikes were provided which made it very easy to get around the island (you can cycle to the other side of the island in less than 10 minutes). We enjoyed having our breakfast prepared for us in the villa each morning. We loved Gili Air, the beaches and snorkelling were amazing and there's plenty of nice restaurants and bars yet it never felt too busy or noisy.

Unfortunately our last night coincided with the Lombok earthquake. The owners and staff (particularly Mike) showed real class and professionalism. It was a frightening situation but Mike and the staff stayed with us and the other guests the whole time and told us exactly what to do. They put the guests first and did everything they could to ensure we were safe and comfortable. They arranged for a boat to take us off the island in the morning which saved us waiting for hours in the harbour and made sure we were able to get to our next destination. We honestly don't know what we would have done without Mike and the staff.

Obviously this was not the ideal end to our stay but the staff left a big impression on us and we will always be grateful to them.

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nzs9
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The staff make this excellent!”
Reviewed 1 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you to Mike for looking after us so well! All the staff were excellent from helping us settle in with a welcome drink and information about the island to making us breakfast each morning in our yard and teaching us some of the local language! It was my dad's birthday during our stay and I emailed ahead to ask for a cake to be ordered and the staff organised this and helped prepare the cake as a surprise with candles which was lovely! The villa was very clean and even my fussy mum thought it was scrupulously clean! Each villa had it's own yard and pool which was nice to chill out in and the price of the mini fridge is very reasonable. The shower was lovely and even though there was a power cut one night the generator came on and sorted out the hot water. The location of the villa is not on the beach front but is less than 5 mins walk from the beach (and best location to watch the sunset). There were nice restaurants nearby including the Mexican kitchen and scratch and bars showing the world cup! Terima kasih for this fantastic stay! Sampi jumpa!

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeanieBur...
Napier, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wanted to stay forever”
Reviewed 1 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful private retreat just minutes from the beach and fabulous sunsets - perfect for our Ruby Anniversary. Breakfast superbly prepared each morning at your own villa. Good sized private pool and fantastic staff. Bicycles at our disposal too, they were very useful. Fab.

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesHunt...
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Paradise ”
Reviewed 17 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We absolutely loved our stay at Villa Samalama and our only regret was that 3 nights just wasn’t enough!

Location is great, just a few minutes walk to the beach, restaurants and bars near by, and perfect for watching the sunsets.

The staff are fantastic, and really make your stay as easy as can be, breakfast cooked for you each morning in your own villa was a highlight, plus in the evening when we chose to stay in one night they helped with a pizza delivery!
The garden around the pool and outside area is beautiful with varied colours of flowering plants, all add to the atmosphere.

Having gone around the island, we were so happy with our choice of accommodation and would most definitely stay here again should we return. :-)

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B4125TJhe...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 5 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We have just left the villa this morning. Our favourite place we have stayed on our tour of Bali and Lombok. Beautiful outdoor space with large private pool. Great outdoor dining area and Maria made us breakfast every day. The best pancakes!! The bedroom was stunning with a great bathroom too. Everything was honestly perfect. We loved using the bikes to get around (free from Samalama) but you can also walk to the good sunset beaches from here. The staff thought of everything from giving us torches for the night time to a waterproof bag for snorkelling. Absolute private paradise.Thank you so much to Maria who made our stay so perfect! Cannot recommend this place enough.

Date of stay: November 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RazzyRazz...
Roskilde
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cosy place with a great size pool and nice house”
Reviewed 20 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The owner was very present and helpful. The breakfast was fast and delicious, and nice to have at the villa.
Nice to have bikes all the time, so that we didn't have to rent them.
The pool was big for a two person villa.
Comfort, price and location was great. Would come back.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla z
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“The villa for honey moon in gili air”
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We went in villa samalama after a tour of Bali. When we arrived at gili air we had no idea that a horse would have rode us to this beautiful place. The room is a little house, with a nice bedroom (king size bed an AC), a large openair bathroom with a shower. Out side there is an open kitchen and a beautiful private pool. Every morning Mike and his staff prepare for us a delicious breakfast with pancakes, fresh fruits, juice and so on. During the day you can order fruits or juice whenever you want. The villa is very clean and a usefull included service are bikes, best choice to move around the island. Last but not least all the staff are very very kind.

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2017
Hi Camilla,

Thank you very much for your lovely review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Villas Samalama!
Hope to see you again one day for a bit longer!
Kind regards,
ARA
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing