We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay, beautiful pool & large rooms/bathrooms”
Review of Villa Karang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Karang Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Gili Air
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay, beautiful pool & large rooms/bathrooms”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part on an Intrepid tour and were pleasantly surprised at how lovely this hotel is! Rooms are situated around a stunning central infinity pool - the perfect area to relax with lots if sun loungers. The hotel itself was peaceful and our group seemed to be the only guests staying there. For an exra $40/night you can upgrade to a room with AC, although all rooms do also come with a plug in electric air cooler. The bedrooms are spacious with a TV, fridge and wardrobe. The bathroom is modern and clean with a large shower. There is no running hot water, but the water through the shower is not very cold either.

Each room has a pretty balcony with a ladder drying rack and bench. All AC rooms are directly facing the pool and have lots of sunlight. There is free wifi available around the hotel and in bedrooms. At reception they will do washing in 24hrs, charged by the item.

Turning left out of the hotel and a 10/15min walk is the main strip of restaurants and bars on the island.

All in all this hotel is a perfect spot for a quiet stay on a beautiful island and I would completely recommended it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Where_Magic_Happens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    151
    51
    23
    16
See reviews for
45
162
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed at Villa Karang for 3 nights. We had a family group with 3 rooms next to each other. We were welcomed to the resort by a temporary manager and check in quick and easy. The rooms were modern and clean and decent A/C. We were right in front of the pool which was very handy. The pool was a really good size and clean area with plenty of loungers although the large pebbles at the bottom of the pool stairs were a bit tricky to cross with bare feet.

The hotel has a small restaurant that we ate in the first night. Unfortunately the service was extremely slow!!!! One of our group got their pizza over an hour after everyone else had finished! No one came to ask if we needed extra drinks. Breakfast was included and there was a very small choice although it was cooked well. The coffee was awful!!!
The temporary manager was really trying to teach the staff some lessons in hospitality, a big problem was the language barriers, very few of the staff spoke or understood english.

The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the 'resort' centre with a good selection of restaurants and bars. The beach here was really good and some reasonable snorkelling to be had. The beach outside the hotel was very grubby and full of rubbish and boats. As we were leaving they were beginning to clean it up and get the boats moved further round the bay.

All in all we enjoyed our trip to Gili Air. Villa Karang does have a lot of potential which just isn't being realised at the moment.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallarate, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Nice, very clean room, a short walk from the restaurants and the port.
We enjoied our stay, nice staff, we rented bike from them and had a marvellous snorkeling tour!!
Breakfast was ok, eggs and toast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robinswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed at Villa Karang over Christmas and we were very pleased with the accommodations, the location on the island as well as the lovely people who work there. The rooms are basic, but very clean with a fantastic bath and shower. The hotel is situated off the beaten track around most of the other hotels, bars and restaurants so it is quiet and peaceful. Lovely to hear the bells on the horse carriages as they walk on the path towards the village in the morning. The pool was lovely too, although we favoured swimming in the sea. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HH_MrsBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

When we arrived to Gili Air, it was a convienent hotel to stay at because you can walk there. You don't need to take a horse and buggy. However, it is about a 10 minute walk to the "main strip" where the tourists hang out (but we enjoyed staying on that side island anyway).

Pros:
- GREAT movie channels on TV (we got stomach sick and spent quite a bit of time in the room)
- Cold air con
- Relaxing and quiet pool
- comfy patios
- will deliver food to your room from the restaurant (if you walk there and order)

Cons:
- no phones to call for food
- breakfast is very very basic
- can't make mixed drinks
- expensive (110 USD per night)
- had run out of quite a few dishes in the restaurant when we were there


We were sick on new years eve and were unable to find food (and were quite hungry!). The italian chef and a restaurant employee named Ariz came to our rescue! It was 11:45 on Dec 31st and the staff were having their news years party. Ariz convinced the chef to make us pizzas and deliver them to our room! We rang in the new year eating hot fresh italian delicious pizzas! Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We came to Gili after a four day three night trek through Rinjani National Park, incl summit. Villa Karang was awesome. We had a pool side villa, very clean and comfortable. Slow season, sure loved the service. Tour operator operating nearby - Remy - was a great help in getting lots of stuff organized, especially the massages we badly needed. Stayed five nights, used the lounge and restaurant a lot, great italian food options. Pizza was great. Highly recommend it as a place for R&R.

Room Tip: go with a pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Spent 3 days here earlier this month. The hotel had a wonderful layout with separate bungalow type rooms situated in nice peaceful grounds with an attractive pool area. Breakfasts were very good and the staff were wonderfully welcoming, helpful, friendly and professional.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marosa351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Air hotels
0.2 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
0.3 mi away
7SEAS Cottages
7SEAS Cottages
#14 of 20 in Gili Air
332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#5 of 20 in Gili Air
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ombak Paradise
Hotel Ombak Paradise
#12 of 20 in Gili Air
23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lucy's Garden Hotel
Lucy's Garden Hotel
#10 of 20 in Gili Air
92 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gili Air Resort
Gili Air Resort
#20 of 20 in Gili Air
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Karang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Karang Hotel

Property: Villa Karang Hotel
Address: | West Nusa Tenggara, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia (Formerly Gili Indah Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Air
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Karang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a 25-minute boat ride from Bangsal Harbour in Lombok, Villa Karang Hotel offers an outdoor pool and direct access to Gili Air Beach. Rooms overlook the garden. Diving can be done by the beach. Rooms come with either a fan or air conditioning. A TV is provided. En suite bathrooms offer either cold or hot water supply. Hotel Villa Karang is an hour’s drive from downtown Mataram where guests can shop and dine. Sightseeing arrangements and water sports including snorkelling and surfing can be arranged by the tour desk. The hotel has a concierge desk for guests’ convenience. Laundry services are available. Guests can enjoy a selection of local dishes in the restaurant, which features sea views. Couples in particular like the location – they rated it 8 for a two-person trip ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Karang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Karang Hotel Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing