We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time in gili air”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunrise Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunrise Resort
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Gili Air
Erfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First time in gili air”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Value for money, they clean the room everyday, friendly staff, good service especially beachfront sundeck & gazebo that is free for the guest. Juice in Restaurant was not so tasty and a bit more expensive than other same class Restaurant. The beach area was wonderful. That's a plus too. Unfortunately the club near the hotel was too loud!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratukd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    193
    106
    59
    34
See reviews for
138
259
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our 2 nights in Gili Air. Area's (Pool/walkways/gardens) were kept so clean, beautiful and large pool, central location on Island.
Ate breakfast overlooking the beach. It was beautiful.
Staff were very accommodating.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisabhearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

i normally praise the hotel where I stay , I booked the hotel by booking.com as I was due to meet a client in Gili Air as it was easy for this client to pick me with his boat . upon arrival of the hotel the front office wanted to charge me 3 % commission as I was paying with a credit card , IT IS ILLEGAL to ask extra money from your customer , the hotel was rated 3 star , the room given to me had no AC and no Hot Water , the fan provided was one" antique plastic " fan blowing at 10 centimetre from his base , the room was open to mosquito and roaches we found them in the bathroom , the back window in the so call bathroom was giving inside of a store ,the bathroom has no tap it is coming directly from the pipe. I requested the front office to change my room but he mention that he had no more room with AC available and as I paid he could not refund my money .diner time I went out as my client was more attracted by local barbecue , but reading the menu in the afternoon we decided to come back for the dessert as the French chef was highly promoted on the menu , we took at the cirque ( meaning circus in French ) the profiteroles and a chocolate fondant profiterole must have been for a long time in the fridge they were soggy the chocolat pour on the top was of a very bad quality stick to the plate , as per the fondant meaning Melting in French it was not melting and hard to cut must have been in the fridge for few days
thanks god I spent only one nite there never wish to have this type of experience ever to the owner or manager of this place don't call 3 star a shack room

Room Tip: don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capricornThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gili Air hotels

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We came to Gili Air without hotel booking and chose this acommodation among the many possibilities provided. The beach bungalows are spacy, clean and well equiped. The garden has many beautiful plants and trees providing nice shade. The stuff is very kind and helpful. The restaurant across the street is equiped in style and the fresh juices are really delicious. The prices are reasonable. Don't miss this hotel while staying in Gili Air!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Petra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We took particular care in choosing our stay on Gili Air. It was a big celebration and we wanted a sea view. Sunrise offered to "Make your holiday special" - perfect , we thought. The Sunrise Suites seemed to fit the bill and advertised as "Beach front units" at top dollar. Five were available it said.
Having booked and spent a long time looking forward to this part of our stay we were somewhat disappointed to be shown to one of two units behind three on the beachfront. Ours was not a beachfront unit and I asked if we may have one of the front ones which we had expected. Alas I was advised that there were booked and would not become free until after we left. I shall try and post our view of the sea. It was, as Basil Fawlty would have said" that small patch of blue through the gap in between the sky and the trees". More of a glimpse than a view. Most of our view was the back of two beachfront units - insult to injury really as they were what we wanted.
The rooms themselves were spacious, cool and well designed. All that was promised - apart from the view- the bed was roomy and comfortable and the upstairs was a great place to relax provided you liked to look at the back of the rooms you wanted.
The bathroom was very large and attractive but - not much of a but - in a climate like this why was there no hot water. Its essential for a proper shave. This was a possible explanation for hairy faced men all over the island.
The breakfast was pleasant and the seafront seating area our favourite - get the feel for what were looking for? The restaurant food was excellent and although the staff were very enthusiastic they did not always catch on to what was wanted. However, they were a delight to chat to and joke with.
Given that the island is known for couples I was surprised at the number of small children. Generally the pool was a bit of a kindergarten but it was nice to use now and then.
Would we stay here again? Possibly but maybe more research as there are lots of other places with guaranteed views of the sea - uninterrupted!

Room Tip: Specify a front row sea view if that is what you want - do not accept rooms 27 or 28 as they are bla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colincjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Sunrise is a nice place to stay in Gili Air, the waterfront location is perfect. Deep inside swimming pool, garden, and cottages make it a peaceful gateaway. The only sound is the sea water hits the shore, and rare honk of cidomo (horse cart) around.
Gili air divers is in the front of the receptionist, will give special rate for the guests of Sunrise. Perfect.
One thing must be assured ahead is your room choice. Since they offer rooms with AC or fan only, at the same price. Aircon is a must have item since the heat is unbearable. My mistake, i didnt double check my choice once i booked. Realizing that i only get a room with fan when I'm cheking in. Ups..its boiling. Lucky I stayed for only 1 nite.
I still plan to return with better clarification and confirmation when booking.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank diannatalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I loved our villa, especially the stone bathroom. no tv which didn't really matter, as there was better things to do. comfy bed. I liked the hotel pool too. breakfast was ok. the check in and check out was a nightmare! lining up, waiting for ages, lots of confusion over my booking. it almost ruined the stay but not quiet. our room was overlooking the front and I thought it would be noisy but it wasn't too bad. if you are wanting a really really quiet place, better to go further up the road though. but I liked being so close to the restaurants etc. I would stay again.

Room Tip: deluxe villa was awesome - room 30
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazpotato78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Air hotels
0.4 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
0.2 mi away
7SEAS Cottages
7SEAS Cottages
#12 of 19 in Gili Air
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gili Air Escape
Gili Air Escape
#6 of 19 in Gili Air
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Karang Hotel
Villa Karang Hotel
#7 of 19 in Gili Air
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Sunset Gili Air
Grand Sunset Gili Air
#3 of 19 in Gili Air
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manta Dive Gili Air Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Resort

Property: Sunrise Resort
Address: Desa Gili Indah, Pamenang | Utara Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara 83325, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Air
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gili Air is a pristine jewel set in the Bali Sea, situated in one of the most picturesque locations on Earth. To the East, the majestic crater rim of Lombok’s Mount Rinjani, provides a picturesque backdrop to a stunning sunrise. To the West, the sun sinks behind the perfect cone of Bali’s Mt Agung as it releases all the colours of the rainbow. Sunrise Resort is situated in Gili Air’s top location - fine, white coral sand gives way to breathtaking snorkeling directly off-shore, accessible at both high and low tides (unique on Gili Air). Within 50 metres, lies a reef teaming with colourful fish and turtles in crystal clear water. Perfect for swimming, snorkelling or diving and always at idyllic temperatures (25-32°C). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Cottages And Restaurant
Sunrise Cottages & Restaurant Hotel Gili Air
Sunrise Resort Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing