We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay on Gili Air” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manta Dive Gili Air Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manta Dive Gili Air Resort
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Gili Air
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay on Gili Air”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

First: You do not come to the Gilis to fall in love with a resort (there is not 5star PAMPERING like on Maldevies - but you know that before you come! Maybe it is even the reason WHY you come!). You fall in love with the Gilis, their surroundings and the ultimately laid back atmosphere (it does not feel commercial at all). For us Gili Air was one of the most lovely places we have ever been to in the world!

The "Manta Dive Gili Air Resort" is located at one of the best parts of the beach of Gili Air. You can go snorkelling directly from the beach - we did not only see lots of fish and great corals, but also giant Sea Turtles (5 times snorkelling on 2 day meant finding 3 times Sea Turtles!). These guys can you really make your day when watching them and even swimming with them!

Furthermore Manta Dive is located not far away from nice restaurants like "Chill Out Bar" and the very small town of Gili Air. So you are near to life - but you will never feel that the area around you is crowded. It's tranquil and extremely relaxing.

The rooms we had at Manta Dive were alright but quite basic. Disadvantages: The air conditioning was very loud, the shower did not always function perfect, the walls lost some colours. But: The staff of Manta Dive was very friendly and helping us with everything. They also offered us to accompany the divers (we are just snorklers) to the diving spots and see even more of the fantastic underwater world - just for free. The restaurant directly at the beach is nice and offering good food, including the breakfast. And all of this does not even cost you more than 50 bucks a day.

All in all we were very confident in choosing the Manta Divve Resort and can recommend it to anyone going to the Gilis!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christian19041982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    191
    41
    13
    3
See reviews for
107
412
61
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Waterfront, and one night at the Manta Dive rooms.

Our stay at Manta Dive & Waterfront was really amazing. We initially booked for 3 nights, but booked another night because we loved it so much! All of the staff is really friendly and helpful.
At the Waterfront we stayed in one of the beautiful cottages, which had a really comfy kingsized bed and a beautiful outside shower, which we loved! We also liked that they are very conscious of the environment: the clean new water bottles that you are given at arrival, are re-filled with clean drinking water each day, instead of replaced by new plastic bottles.

Breakfast is really good and was included in the price, which is very reasonable by the way! All the staff are really nice and we had so much fun with Angal each day, teaching him some Dutch slang!
The 'chill out huts' next to the tables are amazing, and GREAT to chill in after your dive, and read a book with a beer in hand, watching the sunset...it really is paradise on earth on Gili Air.

Our last night was in one of the Sasak bungalows, which we also really liked. The bed was super comfy and again we loved the outside shower.

We were very sad to leave wonderful Gili Air, which really is like paradise. We hope to return one day!

Thanks Charlotte, Angal and all the others, and of course Nick and the other diving instructors for making our stay beyond amazing!

PS: you HAVE to rent snorkeling gear from next door and go snorkeling, its really one of the most beautiful things you'll ever see!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

What an amazing spot. We did not dive, but snorkeled daily on Manta's beach which is loaded with fish of every variety! The rooms are clean, and each has a safe. Manta is on the main strip, and surrounded by loads of restaurants. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizardo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I spent five weeks on Gilli air and did all my diving from open water to deep speciality at Manta dive. Awesome bunch of instructors and dive masters really passionate and professional, and youl probably end up having some bintangs and vodka joss after the diving's done!
I had a absolute blast while I was there diving at manta and cant wait to go back which will be soon.
Big ups manta crew see you soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in garden rooms, which were spacious and nice. We were surrounded by families (4/5 "apartments" nearby) with small children and the one nextdoor was very noisy. But let's not hold it against the resort.

Staff was extremely helpful and room available when we arrived before noon. Breakfast OK and discounts at nearby restaurant. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Spent 3 weeks in total on Gili Air and stayed at Manta Dive in between travelling to Komodo & Flores. We stayed in the Sasak Bungalow and it was perfect. There was great storage, the bed was so comfortable and the outdoor bathroom was beautiful.

The diving operation here is superb and they really know how to look after you.

The staff are always happy and very helpful and I couldn't have been happier. Thanks Manta for everything!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
862 reviews
221 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 819 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

(This is a review of Manta Dive Waterfront Accommodation as opposed to Manta Dive as a Dive Center)

We spent 3 nights in one of the bungalows in the Waterfront - part of the Manta Dive resort. As we were diving with Manta Dive we received a 10% discount on accommodation - which was nice !

The bungalows are well equipped - air con, big tv, fridge etc all of which worked very well. Large comfy bed and spotlessly clean. The bathroom has flushing western loo and a shower with hot water - the shower is in part of the bathroom open to the air.

Staff are friendly and helpful - admin is done by the Dive center next door and it's helpful and efficient. When we booked the room the Dive Center booked the boat over from Bali for us for example.

Breakfast is good and served on the seafront in a superb location.

Downsides ? Well the bungalows don't have a sea view and are down a footpath behind the restauraunt. Also the wifi in the evenings slows from slow but usable to not being available. But these are fairly minor issues with what is a smashing place to stay - particularly convenient if you are diving with Manta dive next door.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Air
0.3 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
0.0 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#4 of 19 in Gili Air
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gili Air Escape
Gili Air Escape
#5 of 19 in Gili Air
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
7SEAS Cottages
7SEAS Cottages
#12 of 19 in Gili Air
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Karang Hotel
Villa Karang Hotel
#7 of 19 in Gili Air
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
4.0 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manta Dive Gili Air Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Dive Gili Air Resort

Property: Manta Dive Gili Air Resort
Address: 87 Jalan Koperasi | Ampenan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Air
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Air
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manta Dive Gili Air Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manta Dive Resort, 11 beautiful rooms, all air con, hot water, safety box, swimming pool, generator (many power cuts on island), all dive courses and fun dives available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Manta Dive Gili Air Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Dive Gili Air Hotel Gili Air
Manta Dive Gili Air Resort Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing