We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already Planning to Return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oceans 5 Dive Resort
Ranked #26 of 148 Speciality Lodging in Gili Air
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

After a not so great trip through Bali my husband and I were looking for a more secluded destination to escape to. Everyone recommended Gili Air so we took a boat to the island and were so glad we did! We had only planned to stay at Oceans 5 Dive Resort for a few nights and ended up adding over a week to our stay because we loved the island lifestyle and resort so much!

While we were there we met a lot of other travelers that we became friends with and still keep in touch with - the entire resort definitely feels like a family with the dive masters and guests. You become close with everyone that is staying there and works there very quickly!

We also ended up getting our diving certification while we were there and loved each dive we went on! The water was crystal clear and we were able to see a wide variety of wildlife!

Can't wait to make it back to Oceans 5 and Gili Air!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

The dive was a incredible experience in our trip of one year, being in Indonesia has become even better.
The instructors were attentive and gave us total confidence for a wonderful dive.
Our dive was with tranquilidade e appreciation of the seabed.
We saw differents types of fishes and three big turtles. The marine life here is fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda_Vidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I had such an amazing time here. I spent 5 nights at the resort and did my Open Water Course here and a few fundives. The hotel: You are an a tiny tiny island with no roads, no car, electricity that falls out every so often so don't come here if you expect 5 star luxury... the same with the hotel. It's perfect for what you pay for. The rooms are clean, the aircon works perfectly, there is a private bathroom and a big swimming pool. The beds are really comfortable as well and it's so quiet! Personally my favorite was the half open bathroom. This place really is great value for money. The Dive shop: this is my ABSOLUTE favorite! I got my open water course here and loved every minute of it! it all feels very responsible as well for safety as for protection of the nature and oceans. It's a very laid back and social atmosphere so even if you go by yourself like I did you will still meet plenty of people to hang out with. My instructor Joeri was very good, patient, responsible and funny. My fundives I did with divemaster Unus, he's like a fish in the water.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Us: late 20's, sisters, past the backpacker phase, still on a budget, but want things like Air Con and private bathroom. Spent 3 weeks on holiday in Indonesia, 4 nights here.

Place: yes, this is a dive place, but it didn't matter, and is so much more. We don't dive and loved this place. A few friends dove with Oceans 5 and had nothing but good things to say.

rooms: clean, open air bathroom, air con worked really well in main part of villa. Only thing about air con: would have been nice to have more than a sheet cause it got a little chilly sleeping. I had a small travel blanket, so I was fine, but my sister was cold with just the sheet.

Superb location, right next to where your boat will drop you off, 3 minute walk down the main path to restaurants.

Pool is glorious, with cushion loungers, and enough umbrellas for shade. Big and clean. Not just a plunge pool for diving instruction. Felt totally comfortable being in the pool when diving stuff was going on.

Breakfast: reviews must have changed something cause the breakky was delish. 7 or so things to choose from, such as eggs Benny, fruit and yoghurt. Really delicious and a highlight!

For the cost, you can't beat what you get. It was one of the best value for money places we stayed at and really made us love Gili Air more than we already did. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it, especially for those like us: can't afford $100/night, but don't want to be in dorms.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllisonVTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I did my advanced padi course and my friend did her open water course at oceans 5. We both felt very safe, well looked after and happy with our instructors and had one to one tuition (low season)! We also stayed there with a discount as we were diving, the rooms were simple, modern and comfortable, with very effective air con! Would highly recommend oceans 5 as a place to dive and stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twiglet77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My boyfriend and i stayed in Ocean's five resort in February. Here we completed our open water course under the guidance of Janeke. Janeke was an amazing instructor. She was warm, friendly and most importantly a GREAT teacher. The staff here were all very friendly, never failing to greet you with big smiles at any time of the day. The resort is situated right in front of the jetty so it's not much of a walking distance at all. Food in the restaurant was acceptable. WE will definitely be returning here for more dives when we get the chance.

Thank you ocean's five staff for an amazing experience

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sangitaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanderbuis, Manager at Oceans 5 Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hi Sangitaraj,

thank you very much for your nice review about Oceans 5 Dive Resort.
It was a pleasure to have you both with us and we are looking forward to please you the next time.

Kind Regards,

Riet Vanhemel,
Manager @ Oceans 5 Dive Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Ocean's 5 had by far the most professional, responsive and safest dive staff I've met to date! They went out of their way to make sure we got everything we wanted from our dive vacation. The center is eco-conscious and organizes a regular (free) reef clean up dive. We would go back again just to dive with their team - awesome awesome crew! It's incredibly easy to get to the hotel/dive center from the fast ferry (about a minute walk). There is a lovely, large pool that looks over the beach and has tons of lounge chairs. The restaurant/bar are tasty and inexpensive. The restaurant does close around 5, so dinner is offsite. Most of the nicer restaurants are a two to five minute walk, but there are cheap eats across from the property. If you're there to dive -- you can't beat it. Given the location, great dive and awesome staff - we barely spent any time in the room.

Room Tip: The rooms are clean, very affordable - but at least half are pretty barebones. They all have hot wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCeeTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Air hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Karang Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
0.2 mi away
Omah Gili Accomodation
Omah Gili Accomodation
#4 of 148 in Gili Air
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Turtle Beach Hotel
Turtle Beach Hotel
#13 of 148 in Gili Air
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manta Dive Gili Air Resort
0.3 mi away
Aza Zil Bungalows
Aza Zil Bungalows
#10 of 148 in Gili Air
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceans 5 Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceans 5 Dive Resort

Address: South | Harbor, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 148 Speciality Lodging in Gili Air
Price Range: £36 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceans 5 Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PADI 5 star IDC Dive Resort Oceans 5 is located in the harbor of Gili Air, Gili Islands, Indonesia. The resort is just 5 minutes away from the main beach area, the restaurants and the sunset point. The resort has 10 rooms, 4 pool bungalows, 4 standard rooms, 1 family bungalow and 1 roof top bungalow. The pool bungalows, family bungalow and the roof top bungalow are having the pool view. Oceans 5 Bungalows have: * Airconditioning *WiFi in room * Access to pool * Sea and mountain view * Breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Oceans 5 Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceans 5 Dive Resort Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing