We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not real Thai food”

Gili Air Santay Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 71 Restaurants in Gili Air
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$13
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Gili Air Santay restaurant, run by Andy from Gili Air and his wife Rosi from Austria, is far from the loud music on the east coast of Gili Air. Located right on the beach, you can enjoy wonderful food and finest cocktails. There is a daily BBQ with a wide selection of dishes as European, Thai, Indonesian, juices, cocktails and sweets.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not real Thai food”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Dinner here with friends, we were recommended the Thai menu by the waiter. We all wished we had chosen from the Indonesian menu. It was fine but wasn't really Thai food, and I felt quite unwell afterwards. Nice spot for a beer though.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ddraig_fawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    47
    12
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good for local taste”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I can find tempe at this restaurant cheap price also, the view from the resto is facing to the beach.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cenilhippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food and friendly people, the best place!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We came here a number of times, both for dinner and lunch. They serve very nice food, really fresh, well spiced and good quantity. In my opinion the best restaurant of at least the east coast of Gili air!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joris596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Come and judge yourself”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Terrible, firstly there s no welcome from the staff or they just give their service to foreigners. Ordered only 2 items (Fried rice and spring rolls) but it took over an hour to get your food and got only Fried rice without the spring rolls after another half hour only they give my other dish after few reminder and funny enough they brought me another fried rice which i didnt order, we made the order very clear and spoke in bahasa. not sure what they consumed before :) we didnt accept the extra fried rice as we didnt order but the waiter insisted that we ordered second fried rice , it got into my nerves and i just paid for everything .
will never comeback to this place !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank verymir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS! Great Thai and Local Indonesian Dishes!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is a great place to eat and relax. There is some of the best snorkelling right in front of this restaurant. We ate several lunches and dinner here. The thai dishes and the indonesian food is just delicious. There is a local Lombok style salad that I think I ate every time! The Mie Goreng is just fab. The staff were amazing to us and our child. Our child has a bad habit of spilling drinks and unfortunately did this on two different occassions while we were eating here but the staff were totally fine and helpful and made sure he was not upset over it. It is also great value and the prices are really low. This place is awesome! We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vs2008vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gili Air Santay Restaurant also viewed

Gili Air, Gili Islands
 

Been to Gili Air Santay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing