We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chilled...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaluku Gili Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaluku Gili Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chilled...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The bungalows are a short ‘taxi’ (horse & carriage) ride from the harbour. They are located across the road from a beach. Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner, which was a nice touch. The bungalow is a small room which has a bed, fridge, tv, safe and a cabinet with baskets to put your clothes. Beach/pool towels are provided and there is a pool next door, which we could use. We did not spend much time in the room as we were out all day, either swimming or walking around the island. However when we were in the room we felt a bit claustrophobic and it was really hard to see what you were doing at night as the lighting was very dim. The outdoor bathroom was great. A simple breakfast, eggs, pancakes or toast is served next to the beach and is a great way to start the day. There are sun lounges along the beach which are good to relax on with a good book. The location is great, as it is not on the busy side, near the harbour. Having said that, the harbour area is not that busy anyway. As there is no motorised transport and the island is not that big, we walked everywhere. It is about 30 min stroll to the harbour, along the road which runs next to the beach. There are restaurants and bars all along the road on either end of the bungalows, so food and a drink are no issue. We had the best relaxing days on Gili Air and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsallrelative101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    72
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
24
93
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Gili air is a quiet place, a lot of nice accommodations. The bungalow at Kaluku was very nice and clean.the bungalow was cleaned daily and clean towels were provided. The stretch on the beach isn't that great but the next door restaurant provides hammocks, sun beds and snorkeling possibilities.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We booked 2 rooms & stayed 4 nights in June 2014. It was not near the Gili Air's main pier, so we had to take a short horse-cart ride to the bungalows. There were only 7 bungalows - they looked exactly like what we saw in other reviews on Tripadvisor.
What we liked about Kaluku -
1) Quiet location and more privacy as the 7 bungalows were quite apart from each other
2) Spacious open-air toilet & rain-shower area especially practical for scuba-divers & snorkellers
3) Adequate space in the sleeping area with a well-stocked fridge with drinks priced at very reasonable rates, a cable TV, table & chairs
4) For divers - the Blue Marin Divers centre is just next door, so easy to access to for our daily diving trips
5) For snorkellers - ask hotel staff to charter a private boat (at very reasonable rate especially if you have 4 or more persons in your group to share it & you would have more time to explore different islands & snorkelling sites) rather than going island-hopping with the public boat catered to at least 25 people
6) Good breakfast included daily
7) Bicycles for rent at the site of the bungalows
8) Evening tidepools to look for sea critters & decent snorkelling right off the beach infront of the bungalows
9) Beautiful sunrise right ahead of the bungalows too!
10) Good restaurants were a few steps away.

What could have made the place even better -
1) Housekeeping - it could be better managed & cleaned. All the staff were helpful and friendly but somehow this place needed someone to lead the operation. It was obvious that this place started off as a potential boutique-styled lodging but lack of maintenance took its toll over the years.
2) Fixtures - the air-con in one of our 2 bungalows was not working optimally and the TV didn't work. We asked to shift to another bungalow, and it seemed that the condition of each bungalow wes not the same. The new room we got was far better maintained with everything working fine.

Nonetheless, we still enjoyed our stay at Kaluku as it is still considered a good value place when we compare it to the others on Gili Air.

Room Tip: The wifi signal was the strongest in the rooms closest to the dive centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWELSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Nice bungalows in a quieter area of Gili Air. THe bungalows are great, they have a really nice outside bathroom, safe, fridge and a small tv. Breakfast is included which you take on the beach area. Location is also good, a little bit away from the "busier" harbour area but still lots of eating and drinking options nearby. The staff are a bit indifferent, just hanging around all day but they helped whenever asked anything. Only small concern was we chose this for peace and quiet. One afternoon we chose to lounge around on the beds in front of the bungalows but could not relax as the dive centre next door had a DJ playing boom boom music from 2pm to 8pm, even though no one was there!! It only happened once and maybe was a one off.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpyoldpom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We went from Bali to Gili Air for 2 days, with friends. Gili Air has no motorised transport but the island is quite small so everything is easy to reach on foot. The main path follows the beach so walking is quite pleasant, with bars and little shops ere and there. The bungalow is about 20 minutes from the harbour, and is in my opinion one of the nicest in terms of location and layout. The bungalows, there are only 7 in total, are very well kept and clean. They are not very big but each has a little veranda in front and an open (but private) shower in the back. The bed was pretty big and very good so we slept like babies. In front of the bungalow there is a garden of sorts, then the main path. Beyond that there is a space with chairs and tables for breakfast, some beach chairs and then a nice patch of beach. Take snorkelling gear (to rent a few minutes away) and after some 50 meters you are in coral reef world. A little further the ocean floor drops steeply. The service is very relaxed but pleasant and easy-going, everything is done in a little open hut by the main path (preparing breakfast, checking in/out, handing out beach towels etcetc). We lost our key but they told us not to worry and did not charge anything for it. Price was very low by the way, some 30 euros per night.

Close by there are many restaurants along the path. Especially if you walk further down (away from the harbour), the path slowly comes to a crooked end, in the middle of another resort/bar/restaurant. Really nice place too, especially for the evening.

Somewhere between harbour and bungalow we encountered a huge lizard, sunbathing in a field next to the path. As we walked over it slid into the adjacent pond where we saw two more. They were about 1 meter long and were quite shy. I found out they are called Varanus Salvatus Bivittatus and that they are not particularly fond of having us people for dinner. Seeing them so close and out in the open was surreal

All in all we had a great time here, super relaxed. Forget about shoes, and be prepared to forget all about the big world!

Tip: don't take the horse taxis, the drivers do not treat the horses well at all (many have open wounds on their shoulders) so walk if you can. Even with luggage distances are quite doable

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

It's our second time on gili are this place.
We like the place a lot because it faces the beach with nothing in front of th bungalows.
Rooms have Ac, safes, tv with cable and a minibar.
Outdoor shower is nice with hot water.
Get the pancakes with the included breakfast. Yum.
It's a simple place but perfect for a stay at gili.
It's a 20 minute walk from harbor.
Definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We enjoyed our short stay here. The location is great, on the snorkelling beach and close to restaurants. The grounds are nice, the staff helpful and you can use the pool in the dive centre next door. The rooms are small but they have a nice outdoor bathroom. Breakfast is very basic as they don't have proper kitchen facilities. It is very good value and I would recommend it for a short stay but it might be a bit cramped if staying for a longer period.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Air hotels
0.6 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
0.6 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#4 of 19 in Gili Air
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Karang Hotel
Villa Karang Hotel
#7 of 19 in Gili Air
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
7SEAS Cottages
7SEAS Cottages
#12 of 19 in Gili Air
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Sunset Gili Air
Grand Sunset Gili Air
#3 of 19 in Gili Air
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Turtle Beach Hotel
Turtle Beach Hotel
#11 of 130 in Gili Air
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaluku Gili Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaluku Gili Resort

Property: Kaluku Gili Resort
Address: Desa Gili Indah, Kec. Pemenang, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Gili Air
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaluku Gili Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kaluku Gili Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaluku Gili Resort Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing