We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, comfortable island retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Gili Air
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, comfortable island retreat”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Service can make or break a hotel and Scallywags is certainly made by the people who run it. The team here and at the beach club are friendly, helpful and most of all fun.

The rooms themselves are clean, comfortable and very private- great aircon and brilliant amenities, easily some of the best on the islands. The beach is a couple of minutes walk away which gives the rooms the privacy that a lot of the rooms right on the beach don't have - the beaches are all public here!!

I will return here, it's the perfect place to chill out and relax whilst also having loads of activities available if you want them! Thanks to all of the team for making sure I had such a great time.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SMint000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    59
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
40
129
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Scallywags Smugglers is a great place to stay, the rooms are spacious, there's a gorgeous indoor/outdoor shower. Great pool just for guests which never seemed crowded. The staff were really helpful. Smugglers is back from the beach a little but not too far, hiring a bicycle is a great way to get around. Would highly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwicloud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A lovely boutique hotel with super comfortable king beds, quiet and efficient a/c, a loaded and affordably-priced mini-bar with snacks of all sorts and including beer, cold rosé and Chardonnay Plaga wine (a pleasant surprise after our 2h boat ride), outdoor designer bathroom, beautiful pool and private terrace.
On the downside: it's out of the way and about a 5-8-min walk from the beach (which for an island that you can walk all the way around in 1h-1.5h with almost everything right on the beach is significant) and their restaurant is quite far to take advantage of the included breakfast (located on the beach about 10-12 min walk from the hotel). Rooms have no view whatsoever. We had a room very close to the machine room which was very noisy but with the door closed we couldn't hear anything; it was one of the quietest rooms we ever had. We had a great night's sleep and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noctanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My boyfriend and I spend 6 nights at smugglers, and loved every minute of it. We only booked one night, but kept extending our stay. It was very modern and clean. As we went to smugglers we thought it seemed out of the way, but it wasn't far away from shops and cafes.

It truly was a hidden paradise, and it feels like you have your own little private villa. We were some of the only people staying at the place at this time, which made our stay even more relaxing!

The service was excellent, you get two bottles of water each day, and they can help you arrange great trips. Anything - they will be happy to help, and you can always find them.

In the room there are robes, a safety box, hairdryer, tv, minibar (with everything!) AND dvd player! (Which was great, they also have a bunch of great new dvds you can borrow.) The rooms also had great aircon. The room wasn't made out of bamboo which meant NO bugs or animals!

The pool area, was very relaxing, comfortable new sun beds with large pool towels, and a lovely small pool.

The Scallywags restaurant offered great buffet breakfast with both Indonesian and Western choices.

Pros:
- It's in a peaceful, and quiet area.
- Large room, with nice private terrace, and outdoor spacious bathroom.
- Fresh water from shower, tap and in pool (not common on the island)
- Net/shade over the pool area
- Free use of Scallywags beach sunbeds
- There is umbrellas and a torch (Good for the rainy season, and torch is good at night)
- Superb wifi in room and at the pool area

Cons:
- Not straight out to the beach, but only 7 minute walk to the beach

We had a very good stay here, and will without a doubt stay again if we come back one day!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flipflop2011, Owner at Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi Hannah,

Thanks for your review, it sounds like you had a very good time with us on Gili Air. Smugglers Hideaway is our newest resort & as you say not far from the beach. If that the only con you had about us is that it's not actually on the beach then we are happy we made you happy. Please come back again.

See you next time.

The Team at Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here in August and really enjoyed it. We can't wait to go back!

The rooms are exactly what you want when staying in the Gilis. Simple, clean and comfortable. The bathroom is great and I love the dark stonework. The shower drain did have issues but this was seriously minor. The pool was divine after a day of diving because of the sun shade it was always cool. We often felt we had our own private plunge pool because not many seemed to use the pool, which was a fabulous treat for us! The staff are amazing and go out of their way to make sure your stay is fabulous....and they are so good with kids....our son just loved them all and when it was time to leave he got very sad and was refusing to go. The walk to the restaurant is a nice stroll through the local village and we actually enjoyed it and got to know a few locals. We had a great time here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vs2008vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at smugglers for one night after staying at their place on a Gilli T for four nights. What a difference. The rooms are new and very pleasant. Pool is very small but cool as they had the foresight to put shade cloth over it. The staff are so much more friendlier than on the other island and the service is fantastic.The only issue we had was a horrible dose of food poison caused by a dodgy goats cheese salad.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Me-and-he-equals-us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurien Bay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed 3 nights at Smugglers on Gili Air in October 2013. Chose this one to have the luxuries like air con and a pool, and it was a lovely little oasis. It is a bit of a walk from the beach through the village, so if you're staying with young children and want right next to the beach, Scallywags also has accommodation right next to their beachfront bar and restaurant, but for us, Smugglers was great. Just picked up some bikes for the three days so we could get around easily. After trying some of the other restaurants, we ended up going back to eat at Scallywags all the time, think it was the pick of the island. Smugglers accommodation was beautiful, clean and quiet. Recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flipflop2011, Owner at Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hi Christine,

We are so very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at our resort Smugglers Hideaway. It's our newest addition to the Scallywags Resorts. Mostly it hasn't bothered people to have a short 10 minute walk away from the restaurant & beachfront. It's actually very nice to meander through the village along the shaded walk ways. You have to remember your torch at night which the housekeeping staff leave in your room. Gili Air is an easy island to get around & hiring bicycles is a very good idea.

Thanks for trying the Scallywags Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Air
0.3 mi away
7SEAS Cottages
7SEAS Cottages
#14 of 20 in Gili Air
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#5 of 20 in Gili Air
575 reviews
2.4 mi away
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
#1 of 11 in Gili Meno
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Karang Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ombak Paradise
Hotel Ombak Paradise
#11 of 20 in Gili Air
28 reviews
3.3 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway

Property: Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
Address: Gili Air, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Gili Air
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway. Smugglers Hideaway offers a hidden oasis within the heart of the village of Gili Air, where you can relax on the sun loungers dotted around the swimming pool with a waterfall feature. Smugglers Hideaway is 7-10 minutes from the beach, harbour and our famous beach club. Rumah Dua. A cozy extension of Smugglers Hideaway, Rumah dua are two garden patio rooms sharing the same entrance & private gardens with access to Smugglers pool only step away. Single Rooms: 5 single rooms are cozy budget rooms with air conditioning, hot water, TV and safe in the room. There are 2 share bathrooms and toilets. Scallywags Joglo (3 Bedrooms Villa). A Joglo is a type of traditional house of the Javanese people. The word joglo refers to the shape of the roof. Our teak wood 3 bedroom private pool Joglo's is situated 10 minutes from the harbour & 15 minutes to the Scallywags restaurant & beach. Each Joglo is on 500 sqm of secluded garden, there are 2 queen size bedrooms & 1 twin bedroom, each air conditioned bedroom has a TV & DVD with security safety box & ensuite bathroom with hot & cold fresh water showers. The master bedroom opens out to the soft comfy lounge with a view to the 8 metre swimming pool, the other 2 back bedrooms open on to a fully fitted kitchen. There is a BBQ outside to sizzle steaks & seafood on whilst socialising with your other guests around the pool. There is ample seating & sun loungers including a bale hut to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing