We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
39
78
49
38
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
78
49
38
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnicest foodsnappermagical islandgreat sunsetnice roomcarriageindonesiaboats
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I've arrived to the island without a booked room.

We saw a lot of rooms, but we wanted to stay in the north part of the island, so there isn't so much offer...

Between the rooms that we saw, the Gili Air Hotel was the best for the price that we could afford.

The rooms are old and all the resort is a bit badly maintained. They have free-internet, but is very slow. The BBQ in the restaurant was good, but a little overpriced.

The location is great, very calm with beautiful sunsets. Overall it was a nice stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XanaIgreja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alambaru, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Gili Air Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Thank you for your comments and we are happy you enjoyed our the Hotel Gili Air & Restaurant, it's location on the #1 beach in Gili Air island.
We apologize that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations.
We will share your feedback with our team and hope we have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Oh dear....this place could be great but isn't. Wish we had stayed somewhere else. The air conditioning unit did not work and poured water all over my rucksack and the clothes inside, admittly some where dirty but the majority had just come from the laundry. When we advised them that we needed a new room with an a/c unit that worked and perhaps it would be decent if they washed my clothes. Well the outcome was they handed my clothes back dirty, so we asked again. So instead of being honest they just folded my clothes as if they had been laundered and returned then....rather snide. The breakfast is poor and covered in flies and the rooms are dirty and so overall it was crap...also the funny thing was when they showed us to our room, the guy tried to put together a free standing hammock and when he realized it was broken just threw it back on the ground and left it.....great first impressions...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samanthafreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alambaru, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Gili Air Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

After writing your false comment anonymously on booking.com, now you "copy and paste" the same also tripadvasor after more than five months.
We hope to never see false people like you on Gili Air and in our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

The rooms are good, clean by Indonesian standards.The swimming pool is nice and the view is great as well. But the service is really poor; The water isnt working for the whole day and you don`t get any update from the staff, we asked them twice and every time they say it will work in 1 hour.We handed in the laundry 26 hours ago and yesterday they told us it will be done in 24 hours when we went to collect it they were laughing in our face and said its still drying and maybe its done tomorrow but tomorrow we leave so hopefully its done.On the door of the room is a poster advising the guest they should use the hotel restaurant instead of the others on the beach because the hotel staff is "professional".

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janicer1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alambaru, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Gili Air Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

The Hotel Gili Air Service Laundry delivery the laundry within 24 hours. This is the operating standard.
During the rainy season it hard to get the laundry dry with all the rain, so can happen that need more hours. In fact, if the sun is absent during the rains, it certainly is not the Hotel Staff responsibility.
For your next holiday is preferably you should avoid the rainy season, since you've proven to be a little patient person.
The water has never been lacking in the hotel more than 1 hour. The Direction talked to other hotel guests, nobody complained about the written by you in your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We didn't have a room booked when we came to the island. We are budget travellers who use the lonely plant book as our bible. We headed to some place in our guide book but they were fully booked. We wanted to stay on the north of the island which is best for snorkeling and sunsets and less busier. Our horse and cart driver suggested we try hotel Gili air, we thought it would be over our budget as this place was mainly for package tourists. So we got there we were shown a cute bungalow no. 20 and we made a deal for 6 nights. We were very happy with the price and felt we got a very good deal at about $25 a night. It was low season when we arrived so we thought that's why we got such a good price. We had a welcome drink and off we went to the pool. The pool is salt water which was fine but it did get a little dirty and it wasn't cleaned throughout the day same goes for the surrounding pool area. The breakfast was also included in the price and we enjoyed omelettes, pancakes fresh fruit and unlimited tea. I got slightly Unwell during my stay (cough and cold) which meant I couldn't go snorkeling and just stayed around the pool. The staff were very nice they showed me where to get medicine from and helped us to phone air Asia when they decided to cancel our flight to Thailand. We didnt eat at the restaurant simply because we couldn't afford to but there was lot of places to eat along the beach front. The bbqs are the best, we went to the chill out bar a few times and had giant tuna kebabs and 241 cocktails. Overall we had an amazing time at the hotel, I would highly recommend staying here but for the right price I don't think it's worth the $100 a night some people pay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alambaru, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Gili Air Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement and support for Hotel Gili Air & Restaurant!
We're glad that you enjoyed our location, and the #1 beach in Gili Air.
We appreciate everything your recognition of our exceptional staff.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I went into this vacation not knowing what to expect from an  hotel in Gili Air, and the Hotel Gili Air & Restaurant exceeded every expectation I had.  The food was very good. I especially liked the  breakfast. The Italian restaurant was our favorite at night, but they were all awesome. The Manager he was very nice and generous. He made sure we had a great time and had every thing we needed. The only thing that I wasn't crazy about was the restroom at the restaurant. But compared to the rest of the trip, it was one little thing compared to a fabulous overall experience! We booked through internet, which I was also very impressed with- including the flight reservations, the airport to hotel transfers, and the price! I am a fairly picky person when it comes to traveling and we had a fabulous time- we came home recommending it to everyone!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m80john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews