We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A resort which is a work in progress”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Reviewed 21 October 2007

We booked a cabin at the resort for a chillout 3 days following a hectic 10 Days in Whistler.The website looked very slick and so we expected the high standards of accomodation we had experienced in Canada.

Well our experience couldn't have been further from our expectation! The cabins are in desperate need of replacement the.They are extremely basic ,not too disimilar to a bunkhouse.Not good enough for the premium rates being charged.

When we arrived we were told that our carpets had been cleaned that day so they were a littledamp.That was an understatement, it was like wading through wet field.I dread to think why they needed cleaning so thoroughly the day a guest was arriving.We asked to move but were told the resort was full.So we said we would check out in the morning! No real effort was made by the front desk to apologise or move us the next day,we had booked for 3 nights ! We asked for a table for dinner and that became a problem as they were fully booked.Where else are guest expected to eat in such an isolated spot? A table was eventually found ,but we felt the evening had been spoilt.

On checking out there was no real apology,but the lady behind the desk said the manager had instructed her not to charge for the night.That was a surprise but we feel the manager should have conveyed that message.

Overall a beautiful setting but seems to be a resort of two halves.High quality Tented suites shabby cabins.Together with staff who could do with some lessons in customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CraneHolmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

830 - 836 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2007

What a beautiful retreat. We stayed in the yurt/tent. Not your ordinary tent. Decked out and with a Bain Ultra tub , it was the pinnacle of relaxation. Luxurious linens, spa like tub and a view to lose yourself in, the yurts are a lovely additon to the property. The restaurant and environs make this a great destination for a weary traveller. Kudos.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ktminnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2007

I just spent 3 nights at Rock Water Secret Cover Resort. It was the single worst vacation experience of my life.

It is slickly marketed as a premium property ("a private paradise for distinguished guests"), but it is not. The tent suites may be, but the oceanfront cabins are run-down, spider-infested and unkept. The cabins were our only option because we travel with our dog. The carpet seams were ripped, extension cords were tacked along the wall, you could see outside through the door frame.

After killing the first 10 spiders during our first evening, I reported the infestation to the front desk. They offered another cabin, where upon inspection, 3 of the 4 corners of the bathroom had large webs, each with a resident spider. No difference, no other options.

I left the front desk with a vacuum cleaner and spent nearly an hour vacuuming our cabin myself. The upper corners of the cabin had thick webs. A web network ran across the whole ceiling. Between the shower stall and the ceiling, it was one 16 inch thick web house. Below the lowest housekeeping standards of even the cheapest roadside motel.

The front desk was indifferent, and on Day 2 I learned that the problem had not been conveyed to housekeeping or management. I demanded to speak to someone in management, and was promised a call on my cell. I still await their call.

In total, I killed 21 spiders in our cabin.

Less revolting, but still disappointing, was the complete lack of information about the property at the front desk, a non-existent spa menu ("still working on it"), and the absence and apparent indifference of the managers/owners.

I am sure their new tent suites are nice, but stay in these run-down cabins at your own risk.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank hsthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2007

as most of the other reviews note, the fabulous new tenthouses are beyond luxurious (and quite a steal at the price). they feature huge down blanket covered beds, amazing views, heated slate floors, fireplaces, rainfall showers, mini fridges, gigantic soaking tubs (with jets!)...extraordinarily clean, completely elegant (without sacrificing rustic charm), totally worth the surprisingly small nightly rate. the food in the resort restaurant was very expensive and left much to be desired, as did the restaurant decor. the staff was a bit uneven, some of them were extraordinarily friendly and helpful, while others were the exact opposite. i think the transition to a more in-demand, luxurious place has been a bit bumpy and the staff may not be used to delivering a slightly higher level of service. we booked outdoor massages before we arrived and were told that we could have them on our tenthouse deck (the resort website also features lots of pictures of guests receiving massages on their decks or on outdoor platforms), but when the time came, we were told that we could only enjoy our massages inside the main building's massage room. we were also not warned that the restaurant would not be open for lunch for much of our stay, due to construction. this would normally be a not-so-terrible oversight, but there aren't many options for dining in the area. all in all, i would absolutely recommend this place for a romantic getaway (we eloped here!), but stop by a good market on the way there and pick up some snacks and treats to have in the room, because dining in the hotel and the surrounding area was surprisingly terrible.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank k_cooper_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2007

We stayed in the tents here over the summer and were just enchanted. They are beautifully appointed and have awesome rain-showerheads and an incredible spa tub. You could spend days just sitting on the deck looking out over the strait. I definitely didn't want to leave.

Our only complaint was that one of the women who works at the front desk (*not* the owner's wife, who was very gracious) was so rude--to us personally and, we observed, to other guests. Our dealings with her were slim, fortunately, so it didn't color our whole stay, and the rest of the staff were just great--especially the restaurant servers!

If we lived a bit closer, we would definitely get away to this place often, it's just so beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roadsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2006

We stayed in one of the new "tents" at Rockwater. This is the place to stay in Halfmoon Bay! The tents are located on the rocks overlooking the bay. Needless to say, the view is fantastic, especially at sunset. This is the only way to go when staying in a tent. We had a king size bed with feather comforter, a shower, bathroom and an unbelievable jacuzzi soaker tub, fireplace and a large deck with wicker furniture. The floors were stone and we also had a ceiling fan. Almost everything, including the soaker jacuzzi, is remote controlled. The staff were friendly and the restaurant was excellent. We rented a kayak, located right at the resort. You'll need a car so you can drive along the coastline, see the scenery and the small towns. This is a place to relax - hike, kayak, fish.
I've read the other reviewers concerning the rooms at this resort. Hopefully, they will be updating them soon so that they match those fantastic tents!
NOTE: The wood walkway to the tents is very long. It wanders through the beautiful trees and is very romantic at night. However, dragging luggage over that long walkway is a chore. Pack light or if you have a lot of luggage, let staff take it to your tent.

Stayed: August 2006
3  Thank tutravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2006

The newly opened tent style cottages are wondrous. Remotes control imaginative lighting, a fireplace, and a super jacuzzi tub. There is a private furnished deck overlooking the ocean. The plumbing and all other details have been well thought out. The bed was the best I have ever had in a hotel. The floor is even heated which will indicate to you the care that has gone into designing these buildings. The walk through the forest is also beautiful. The scenery is unsurpassed. I would love to be there in a rain or windstorm. I did not want to check out in the morning!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marydele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfmoon Bay
5.8 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
422 reviews
6 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
15 mi away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
155 reviews
1.4 mi away
Secret Cove Cottage Suites
Secret Cove Cottage Suites
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
9 reviews
20.3 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwater Secret Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwater Secret Cove Resort

Address: 5356 Ole's Cove Rd | Halfmoon Bay, Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia V0N 1Y2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Halfmoon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Price Range: £115 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwater Secret Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort is the Sunshine Coast's Premier 4 star year round resort, featuring 38 ocean front rooms, suites, tenthouse suites and cabins. The resort features a restaurant, lounge, and seasonal outdoor swimming pool. Ideal resort for getaway, corporate retreats and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rockwater Secret Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwater Secret Cove Hotel Halfmoon Bay
Hotel Rockwater Secret Cove
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort Canada/Halfmoon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing