We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$132
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Painted Boat Resort(Madeira Park)
US$261
US$254
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina(Madeira Park)(Great Value!)
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ruby Lake Resort(Madeira Park)(Great Value!)
US$81
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$135
US$115
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stonewater Motel(Madeira Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (868)
Filter reviews
868 results
Traveller rating
414
192
133
70
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
192
133
70
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstent suitessunshine coasttenthouse suiteheated floorssecret covethe main lodgebeautiful locationget awayjacuzzi tubour honeymoonunique experienceceiling fanromantic getawayon the rockscouples massagemini fridgespa services
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
550 - 555 of 868 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Deluxe yurts perched on the cliffs above the ocean, connected via a lovely boardwalk through the towering fir trees.
Great for couples-luxurious accommodation with large jet tubs to fit two, a cozy gas fireplace for those chilly evenings, beautiful views from your private deck.
For families, there is also a full service hotel on site, along with a swimming pool and kayak rentals off of the beach.
Summer can be busy-book ahead to get your choice of rooms or yurts.
Excellent restaurant on site with local seafood etc.
Car recommended as the resort is about a 20 minute drive out of Sechelt, the closest town.
Float plane flights can also be arranged.

Room Tip: Request yurt #57 for optimal privacy and view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifesjourney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Hello lifesjourney01,

Thank you very much for a wonderful review. Tenthouse number 57 is an excellent choice for having your optimum privacy and an amazing view.

Harbour Air as well as Tofino Air operate multiple daily flights to and from Vancouver Harbour and Richmond YVR South Terminal to Sechelt. All flights are approximately 20 minutes in duration. Shuttle transport between our resort and the float plane terminal in Sechelt can be arranged by our guest services department.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the very best.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We scheduled our wedding with the elopement package. On first look of the hotel the front staff are very nice, but allowed us to lug all our luggage ourselves to the tent house sweet. Which doesn't sound bad, but its at least a 2 block walk. The suite was filthy, ants in the bathtub, dirt in all the corners, brown stains on the bathroom wall screen, and cobwebs all over the ceiling. It was probably beautiful at one time. The view is stunning though, and the bed very comfortable.
The first night stay we had noise complaints 3 times, but we weren't loud. After the rude phone calls the desk clerk came up and saw we were quiet, apologized and offered us champagne.
We had the cabins and the rooms booked for our guests and our dogs. Upon arrival there was gifts of treats etc. for our dogs which we enjoyed- and so did they. The cabins are rustic and quaint but cute, with extra blankets, robes and a nice sitting area. I wish we had stayed in there to be honest. The rooms are so old. 2 queen beds I think, old burgundy carpet etc. think motel.
We came the day before to discuss our wedding with the coordinator, but she was busy with another wedding. Showed up around 12ish the day of our wedding, didn't talk to me much about the plan. We were running late for the wedding due to late guests for makeup and hair, then I saw a lot of her to rush me. She was power calling the room etc. so much my photographer took the phone off the hook. When we got down there, she gave us a quick run down of how to walk, and helped me walk down the hill. After the ceremony we did some family pics. She checked with my maid of honor to see if everything was good- and then went home without saying.
As we were getting pics taken one of the wait staff came out said the music is bothering the spa and turned it off. We asked for the food tray we were supposed to get along with the champagne, and he said no. No food allowed on the green. Rhian was supposed to arrange this too. The champagne thankfully did come as planned. There is a room next to the restaurant that was set up for us, but we were never told about it. When we went for dinner- we were shown there! guests could've been there already eating. 30 mins in we asked a guy if he was our waiter- he said yup he could be. It took us 2 hours to get dinner, and the restaurant wasn't busy. The service was so terrible they comped us the next day most of our alcohol. Over all, the food tastes amazing, service is hit or miss, some people are amazing and others don't care. My sister was excited about the wedding in this venue, and was highly considering having hers there to- not now. And we wont be back for our anniversaries. We still had a great time, but that's a testament to us and our ability to roll with stuff- and gotta say. The carrot cake from wheat berries was amazing!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zendogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Zendogz,

Thank You for the feed back pertaining to your elopment group's May 2013 stay at The Rockwater Resort and Spa.

I have reviewed all the events relevant to your overall experience and relay my apologies for the inconveniences caused even though certain things which occured were beyond our control.

If you wish to further discuss the three excessive noise complaints generated from your Tent House after hours, the reason as to why Rhian was trying to reach you multiple times on the day of your Elopment, unauthorized loud music being played right after your ceremony on the green and also in the delay of your dinner being served late please do not hesitate to call me at 1-877-296-4593 or email dikran@rockwatersecretcoveresort.com.

Thank you very much for considering our venue as beautiful and we wish you all the very best in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Firstly, I can not believe the room and resort worth 270cad per night. The mainbuilding and its room design are overall like a MOTEL!

Horrible!!

Within 8 hours, the power was out THREE times. We didn't even turn on the tv. We only plug in one appliance. Power just went out!

Do NOT stay at the main building. Cabin looks cheap too.



  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uske823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Dear uske823,

Thank You very much for your review.

We sincerely apologize for the unexpected power outage in your room and thank you also for accepting a 10% discount on your room rate of 239.00 during yesterday's check out for this inconvenience.

As we explain to all our guests who are calling in for reservations that our lodge rooms as well our rustic cabins which are part of the original buildng are three star standard hotel accomodations and their price points have been positioned as such depending on the time of the year.

I welcome you back to stay in one of our world famous 5 star tent house suites in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed in Cabin Number 6 which was a great spot for views of the ocean and privacy. The cabin is nicely renovated and very comfortable. One downside is that it is located next to the sewage treatment, and when the wind is blowing in the right direction the smell drifts up and if you are sitting on the deck it can be unpleasant. Absolutely love the grounds, very "west coast". The location of the property is excellent in terms of proximity to explore the entire Sunshine Coast. Check in was great, Ivan is wonderful! We had two dinners at the resort and have to say the quality is comparable to high end restaurants downtown Vancouver, at a very reasonable price, huge portions, and lovely presentation. We will return again and again! Next time we will try one of the tents!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RubyCoquitlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Dear RubyCoquitlam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a wonderful review on Trip Advisor pertaining to your recent stay with us.

I have already passed on your kind remarks to Ivan our Guest Services and Tour/Travel Manager.

Also I apologize for the odor generated by our sewage treatment plant which is located very close to Cabin 6 as we try to minimize this inconvenience by more frequent maintenance during our very busy summer season.

It is in our master renovation/expansion plan to move this away from our guests view to a non public area of our resort.

We look forward to seeing you again at Rockwater in the future.

All the very best.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I had the opportunity to stay in this wonderful resort for a friends wedding and in doing so, was able to get a good idea of the full resort as I was in a number of rooms through out my stay.

My accommodations were in the Honeymoon Cabin which is apparently the only cabin that has a king size bed. I booked the stay some time ago but added a day through the resort about a month before my stay. The staff was helpful and accommodating.

Check in was very good. We were given a map with directions to the cabin as well as checked in for reservations for dinner. Check in was extremely quick. I would have appreciated help with our bags upon check in and check out but the service was never offered. The cabin was tucked away however on a rocky pathway which wasn't ideal for our bags.

The cabin was rustic but nicely appointed with a great deck overlooking the shore. The room as described had a little sitting area on the deck and inside the room with a flat screen TV (although we never turned it on), mini fridge and cabinet.

While the room had the king bed, there wasn't a lot of space on one side of the bed which often required us to leave via the foot of the bed in order to get up during the night.

The bathroom was very small with only a shower. If you’re a bigger person, you might be better off looking into a pool side room as the bathrooms are larger.

Our meals at the resort were extremely good. Our breakfast servers seemed highly inexperienced as we often had to ask individually for milk and sugar for our coffee, then again for spoons. It was towards the end of breakfast service but we felt rushed.

The service for the wedding was excellent.

I would definitely stay here again but would likely seek a Tent suite although the cost is somewhat prohibited. All in all, we had a great time in a beautiful location.

Room Tip: The tent suites are definitely the way to go if you are looking for a spectacular view. The Honeymoon Cabin also has a great view, although the cabins are a little rustic. The pool side suites have the most modern amenities.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stumblehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Stumblehome,

Thank You very much for your kind review pertaining to your recent stay with us.

I have passed on your comments regarding the inexperienced server during breakfast to our food and beverage manager and I apologize for this shortcoming as such.

We look forward to having you stay with us in one of our five star tent house suites in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews