We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place in all ways”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic place in all ways”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We booked a few nights in a cabin here for our honeymoon, and were a little worried after seeing all the negative reviews on tripadvisor, but we couldn't have been happier with the resort. The cabins were simple but private, clean, and comfortable, and ours (#8) had a great view of the water. The resort has fantastic places hidden all over the property to sit with a book and a glass of wine and watch the sun set. The staff could not have been more pleasant or more helpful - at the front desk, with house-keeping, and at the restaurant. What a beautiful, private, relaxing place to stay. We want to go back!

Room Tip: Cabin #8 had the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gheleng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank You very much for the perfect score and we look forward to be at your service again in the future.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    176
    124
    61
    55
See reviews for
115
555
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were at Rockwater for a family wedding. It was an exceptional, gratifying, beautiful, wonderful and highly memorable weekend. The staff were fabulous, ALL the food delicious, the surroundings stunning and the tent suites were outstanding! Our older kids went kayaking and saw seals popping up their heads. The hike in Smugglers Cove was very scenic. All in all a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DownSouthLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear DownSouthLovers,

It is always a pleasure to read a review such as yours and thank you very much for taking the time to write one on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to hear that everyone in the wedding party of 150 people had a great time at Rockwater Resort and Spa.

Wishing you a great rest of the summer and beyond.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Rockwater Secret Cove Resort is a unique resort property on the fabulous Sunshine Coast on the Sechelt Peninsula, and at the highest end, when you stay in one of the tent house suites, a luxury property. Its vintage main building and vintage swimming pool, however, no matter how nice and tidy the updating has been, betray its origins as a humble motel-like resort and campground.

We went there to stay in a tent house suite, and we were lucky to get one for four nights, they are so much in demand. But we wouldn’t go otherwise: the tent suites, expensive as they are, are what make this resort a destination, and in my view, the only reason to book there.

The tent house suites are magical. For me the experience of sleeping in a tent is nostalgic of early days in summer camps and of roughing it in military camps. The closeness to nature, to the elements, is magic itself. And here, at Rockwater, with the spacious luxury of the tent, the privacy, and the spectacular views of the ocean, of the islands, of the summer light, of the sunsets, you feel deeply present and fulfilled. The landscape is gorgeous.

The king size bed is terrific, a bit on the soft side, but very comfortable. The floor of the tent is slate, nice and cool on the feet in summer, the shower stall is spacious, the loo is neatly tucked away behind a sliding Japanese style screen, and the window openings have zippered plastic covers to do up for warmth at night, and roll-up canvas flaps to roll-up for light or roll down for privacy. There’s a giant ceiling fan to stir and cool the air, and for cool weather there’s a neat propane heater in one corner. The pièce de résistance is the hydrotherapy tub, a very nice touch. Everything works.

And the best part is the deck: here you have total peace and quiet to enjoy the view, to read without the distraction of technologies, and to enjoy your meals: for a small extra fee, the resort will deliver your breakfast, lunch, or dinner right to your deck, where you can sit in your shorts and enjoy your own wines in blessed privacy. A luxurious feeling.

Throughout the resort the service is very good, the staff are attentive and eager to assist, a pleasant and competent crew. The ocean-side spa experience was terrific, one of the best massages we’ve ever had. The pool, though vintage, is clean and cool and lovely to swim in, and pool-side service is friendly too. The restaurant has been nicely updated, the martinis are good, and the restaurant serves decent food, although the starters are better than the main courses. The seafood chowder is terrific (though the portion is a bit on the small side), and the crab cakes and seared tuna starters are very good, but neither the steak nor the lamb entrées we had were up to snuff, especially given the high end prices charged. A small disappontment.

So is it value for the money? A qualified yes. All of the above is wonderful, but at roughly $500 a night one might expect a bit more than one gets, especially from the kitchen. Would we recommend it? Yes. Will we go back? Yes, for the right occasion.

Room Tip: Only book the tent house suites if you can, and if in high summer with tons of sun, ask for a tent h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timotao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dea timotao,

Thank you very much for sharing your Magical Escape at The Rockwater Resort and Spa with our on line community readers.

I also appreciated your feedback regarding your overall experience with us which I have already communicated to our team members.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Its nice but we went to rest and on top of a room for $229, we had to drive 20 mins. To eat. We are a family of four,and dinner would have been another $200.00. The boat dock was broken, so could not use.
It really should be labled couples only.nit kid menu friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windycross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear windycross,

Thank You very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor pertaining to your recent stay at The Rockwater Resort.

I was surprised to hear that you were not able to order from the kids menu as we have them available for all three of our meals on a daily basis.I have spoken to our Food and Beverage Manager regarding this incident(s) which you experienced.

We also apologize for our dock being non operational during your stay with us. However it was fully repaired on Thursday August 8th.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Deluxe yurts perched on the cliffs above the ocean, connected via a lovely boardwalk through the towering fir trees.
Great for couples-luxurious accommodation with large jet tubs to fit two, a cozy gas fireplace for those chilly evenings, beautiful views from your private deck.
For families, there is also a full service hotel on site, along with a swimming pool and kayak rentals off of the beach.
Summer can be busy-book ahead to get your choice of rooms or yurts.
Excellent restaurant on site with local seafood etc.
Car recommended as the resort is about a 20 minute drive out of Sechelt, the closest town.
Float plane flights can also be arranged.

Room Tip: Request yurt #57 for optimal privacy and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifesjourney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Hello lifesjourney01,

Thank you very much for a wonderful review. Tenthouse number 57 is an excellent choice for having your optimum privacy and an amazing view.

Harbour Air as well as Tofino Air operate multiple daily flights to and from Vancouver Harbour and Richmond YVR South Terminal to Sechelt. All flights are approximately 20 minutes in duration. Shuttle transport between our resort and the float plane terminal in Sechelt can be arranged by our guest services department.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the very best.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We scheduled our wedding with the elopement package. On first look of the hotel the front staff are very nice, but allowed us to lug all our luggage ourselves to the tent house sweet. Which doesn't sound bad, but its at least a 2 block walk. The suite was filthy, ants in the bathtub, dirt in all the corners, brown stains on the bathroom wall screen, and cobwebs all over the ceiling. It was probably beautiful at one time. The view is stunning though, and the bed very comfortable.
The first night stay we had noise complaints 3 times, but we weren't loud. After the rude phone calls the desk clerk came up and saw we were quiet, apologized and offered us champagne.
We had the cabins and the rooms booked for our guests and our dogs. Upon arrival there was gifts of treats etc. for our dogs which we enjoyed- and so did they. The cabins are rustic and quaint but cute, with extra blankets, robes and a nice sitting area. I wish we had stayed in there to be honest. The rooms are so old. 2 queen beds I think, old burgundy carpet etc. think motel.
We came the day before to discuss our wedding with the coordinator, but she was busy with another wedding. Showed up around 12ish the day of our wedding, didn't talk to me much about the plan. We were running late for the wedding due to late guests for makeup and hair, then I saw a lot of her to rush me. She was power calling the room etc. so much my photographer took the phone off the hook. When we got down there, she gave us a quick run down of how to walk, and helped me walk down the hill. After the ceremony we did some family pics. She checked with my maid of honor to see if everything was good- and then went home without saying.
As we were getting pics taken one of the wait staff came out said the music is bothering the spa and turned it off. We asked for the food tray we were supposed to get along with the champagne, and he said no. No food allowed on the green. Rhian was supposed to arrange this too. The champagne thankfully did come as planned. There is a room next to the restaurant that was set up for us, but we were never told about it. When we went for dinner- we were shown there! guests could've been there already eating. 30 mins in we asked a guy if he was our waiter- he said yup he could be. It took us 2 hours to get dinner, and the restaurant wasn't busy. The service was so terrible they comped us the next day most of our alcohol. Over all, the food tastes amazing, service is hit or miss, some people are amazing and others don't care. My sister was excited about the wedding in this venue, and was highly considering having hers there to- not now. And we wont be back for our anniversaries. We still had a great time, but that's a testament to us and our ability to roll with stuff- and gotta say. The carrot cake from wheat berries was amazing!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zendogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Zendogz,

Thank You for the feed back pertaining to your elopment group's May 2013 stay at The Rockwater Resort and Spa.

I have reviewed all the events relevant to your overall experience and relay my apologies for the inconveniences caused even though certain things which occured were beyond our control.

If you wish to further discuss the three excessive noise complaints generated from your Tent House after hours, the reason as to why Rhian was trying to reach you multiple times on the day of your Elopment, unauthorized loud music being played right after your ceremony on the green and also in the delay of your dinner being served late please do not hesitate to call me at 1-877-296-4593 or email dikran@rockwatersecretcoveresort.com.

Thank you very much for considering our venue as beautiful and we wish you all the very best in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Firstly, I can not believe the room and resort worth 270cad per night. The mainbuilding and its room design are overall like a MOTEL!

Horrible!!

Within 8 hours, the power was out THREE times. We didn't even turn on the tv. We only plug in one appliance. Power just went out!

Do NOT stay at the main building. Cabin looks cheap too.



  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uske823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Dear uske823,

Thank You very much for your review.

We sincerely apologize for the unexpected power outage in your room and thank you also for accepting a 10% discount on your room rate of 239.00 during yesterday's check out for this inconvenience.

As we explain to all our guests who are calling in for reservations that our lodge rooms as well our rustic cabins which are part of the original buildng are three star standard hotel accomodations and their price points have been positioned as such depending on the time of the year.

I welcome you back to stay in one of our world famous 5 star tent house suites in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfmoon Bay
5.8 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
357 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
22.5 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
15.1 mi away
Backeddy Resort & Marina
7.1 mi away
Pender Harbour Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwater Secret Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwater Secret Cove Resort

Property: Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Address: 5356 Ole's Cove Rd | Halfmoon Bay, Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia V0N 1Y2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Halfmoon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwater Secret Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort is the Sunshine Coast's Premier 4 star year round resort, featuring 38 ocean front rooms, suites, tenthouse suites and cabins. The resort features a restaurant, lounge, and seasonal outdoor swimming pool. Ideal resort for getaway, corporate retreats and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Rockwater Secret Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwater Secret Cove Hotel Halfmoon Bay
Hotel Rockwater Secret Cove
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort Canada/Halfmoon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing