We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not so great”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Well the setting is beautiful, and the service was excellent, but that's about it.

We stayed in the suites which were dated and reminded me of a very average small town motel.
Shower pressure was horrendous, and temperature inconsistent. Likely my top10 worst shower experiences.

Although the service was fantastic, there was a few instances where I found myself waiting for someone to show up at the front desk.

Perhaps if I has paid a third of what I did, then I could consider this acceptable value. I think a B&B in the area might be a better choice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5ive0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank You for the very kind remarks about our location and overall service.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lack of water pressure in your suite. We are in the midst of conducting an investigation as to why this type of an inconveniece took place in order to ensure from reoccuring.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

All the very best.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    171
    121
    58
    54
See reviews for
108
544
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This a fabulous location but any impression of the resort will depend upon the choice of room/cabins/tents for accommodation. The core facilities (reception, restaurant, bar, pool) are very old but well maintained. The oceanview rooms also fall into this category and ours was well appointed and comfortable but it was dated and the small bathroom was somewhat inconvenient. Although we didn't see inside them, the cabins look to be ancient and have all the appeal of a garden shed. At the other end of the spectrum the tented suites occupy the resort's prime real estate and would be our choice if we stayed again although I don't know how well they would cope with cold and windy weather and the outermost tents would be a long haul from the restaurant on a cold and rainy night. Most of these shortcomings can be forgiven on account of the sublime location. The resort's restaurant is a cut above the average and certainly the best anywhere hereabouts.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the tented suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tedstravelblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Tedstravelblogs,

Than you very much for your very fair and candid remarks pertaining to your recent stay at The Rockwater Resort and Spa.

I also appreciated the complimentary review regarding your culinary experience with us which is considered to be one of the best on The Sunshine Coast.

As for our luxury Tent House Suites, they are as popular in the spring/winter time as they are during our busy summer/fall season especially during the weekends. We also provide room service year round (15 hours per day) for those guests who wish to remain inside their luxury accomodations or sitting outside their deck.

We look forward to welcoming back to Rockwater Resort and having you stay in one of our Tent House Suites.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My wife and I were lucky enough to stay in one of their luxury tent suites overlooking the ocean. It was relaxing, quiet and romantic. The pillowtop mattress on the king sized bed was very comfortable. A great spot for a romantic getaway :)

Room Tip: If you can spend a buck or two more, try the luxary tent suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank You very much for your kind remarks pertaining to your recent stay with us.

We recently purchased brand new king size Serta mattresses for all of our 13 Luxury Tent House Suites as well as high quality bed sheets, pillows and pillow cases.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We booked a few nights in a cabin here for our honeymoon, and were a little worried after seeing all the negative reviews on tripadvisor, but we couldn't have been happier with the resort. The cabins were simple but private, clean, and comfortable, and ours (#8) had a great view of the water. The resort has fantastic places hidden all over the property to sit with a book and a glass of wine and watch the sun set. The staff could not have been more pleasant or more helpful - at the front desk, with house-keeping, and at the restaurant. What a beautiful, private, relaxing place to stay. We want to go back!

Room Tip: Cabin #8 had the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gheleng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank You very much for the perfect score and we look forward to be at your service again in the future.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were at Rockwater for a family wedding. It was an exceptional, gratifying, beautiful, wonderful and highly memorable weekend. The staff were fabulous, ALL the food delicious, the surroundings stunning and the tent suites were outstanding! Our older kids went kayaking and saw seals popping up their heads. The hike in Smugglers Cove was very scenic. All in all a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DownSouthLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear DownSouthLovers,

It is always a pleasure to read a review such as yours and thank you very much for taking the time to write one on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to hear that everyone in the wedding party of 150 people had a great time at Rockwater Resort and Spa.

Wishing you a great rest of the summer and beyond.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Rockwater Secret Cove Resort is a unique resort property on the fabulous Sunshine Coast on the Sechelt Peninsula, and at the highest end, when you stay in one of the tent house suites, a luxury property. Its vintage main building and vintage swimming pool, however, no matter how nice and tidy the updating has been, betray its origins as a humble motel-like resort and campground.

We went there to stay in a tent house suite, and we were lucky to get one for four nights, they are so much in demand. But we wouldn’t go otherwise: the tent suites, expensive as they are, are what make this resort a destination, and in my view, the only reason to book there.

The tent house suites are magical. For me the experience of sleeping in a tent is nostalgic of early days in summer camps and of roughing it in military camps. The closeness to nature, to the elements, is magic itself. And here, at Rockwater, with the spacious luxury of the tent, the privacy, and the spectacular views of the ocean, of the islands, of the summer light, of the sunsets, you feel deeply present and fulfilled. The landscape is gorgeous.

The king size bed is terrific, a bit on the soft side, but very comfortable. The floor of the tent is slate, nice and cool on the feet in summer, the shower stall is spacious, the loo is neatly tucked away behind a sliding Japanese style screen, and the window openings have zippered plastic covers to do up for warmth at night, and roll-up canvas flaps to roll-up for light or roll down for privacy. There’s a giant ceiling fan to stir and cool the air, and for cool weather there’s a neat propane heater in one corner. The pièce de résistance is the hydrotherapy tub, a very nice touch. Everything works.

And the best part is the deck: here you have total peace and quiet to enjoy the view, to read without the distraction of technologies, and to enjoy your meals: for a small extra fee, the resort will deliver your breakfast, lunch, or dinner right to your deck, where you can sit in your shorts and enjoy your own wines in blessed privacy. A luxurious feeling.

Throughout the resort the service is very good, the staff are attentive and eager to assist, a pleasant and competent crew. The ocean-side spa experience was terrific, one of the best massages we’ve ever had. The pool, though vintage, is clean and cool and lovely to swim in, and pool-side service is friendly too. The restaurant has been nicely updated, the martinis are good, and the restaurant serves decent food, although the starters are better than the main courses. The seafood chowder is terrific (though the portion is a bit on the small side), and the crab cakes and seared tuna starters are very good, but neither the steak nor the lamb entrées we had were up to snuff, especially given the high end prices charged. A small disappontment.

So is it value for the money? A qualified yes. All of the above is wonderful, but at roughly $500 a night one might expect a bit more than one gets, especially from the kitchen. Would we recommend it? Yes. Will we go back? Yes, for the right occasion.

Room Tip: Only book the tent house suites if you can, and if in high summer with tons of sun, ask for a tent h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timotao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dea timotao,

Thank you very much for sharing your Magical Escape at The Rockwater Resort and Spa with our on line community readers.

I also appreciated your feedback regarding your overall experience with us which I have already communicated to our team members.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Its nice but we went to rest and on top of a room for $229, we had to drive 20 mins. To eat. We are a family of four,and dinner would have been another $200.00. The boat dock was broken, so could not use.
It really should be labled couples only.nit kid menu friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windycross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear windycross,

Thank You very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor pertaining to your recent stay at The Rockwater Resort.

I was surprised to hear that you were not able to order from the kids menu as we have them available for all three of our meals on a daily basis.I have spoken to our Food and Beverage Manager regarding this incident(s) which you experienced.

We also apologize for our dock being non operational during your stay with us. However it was fully repaired on Thursday August 8th.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfmoon Bay
5.8 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
348 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
22.5 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
15.1 mi away
Backeddy Resort & Marina
1.4 mi away
Secret Cove Cottage Suites
Secret Cove Cottage Suites
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwater Secret Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwater Secret Cove Resort

Property: Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Address: 5356 Ole's Cove Rd | Halfmoon Bay, Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia V0N 1Y2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Halfmoon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwater Secret Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort is the Sunshine Coast's Premier 4 star year round resort, featuring 38 ocean front rooms, suites, tenthouse suites and cabins. The resort features a restaurant, lounge, and seasonal outdoor swimming pool. Ideal resort for getaway, corporate retreats and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rockwater Secret Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwater Secret Cove Hotel Halfmoon Bay
Hotel Rockwater Secret Cove
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort Canada/Halfmoon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing