We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tent Rooms are very dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
sunshine coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tent Rooms are very dissapointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2008

Although very nicely decorated, the tent rooms are an utter disappointment. First, there was zero privacy in these rooms. The proximity of the rooms to each other and the boardwalk means that you can't sniffle in the room without being heard by a passer by, let alone anything else you might do in the bedroom or bathroom. Speaking of the bath, while taking a bath, we were surprised that people from several points along the nearby boardwalk could look directly into our room and see us in the tub - it was shocking! I actually waved to one person since they were staring at us. The same was true for our bed. the only way to have any privacy was to close every window - eliminating the appeal of the tenthouse suite. Finally, the rood made of some sort of taught polyurethane fabric - this is aesthetically appealing, but when it rains it turns the room into a very, very loud drum. I have spent plenty of time in an actual tent and love the sound of rain on the roof and rain on a tent fly, but this was unbearable. At 5 am it started to rain (not very hard - just your typical west coast rain) and inside the tenthouse suite it was an unbearable racket - so much for sleeping in. I left the resort very, very disappointed.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of privacy
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timbsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    166
    110
    57
    54
See reviews for
105
529
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2008

We went last August and stayed in one of the tent suites. We have both stayed in some incredible places all around the world - but this - this was something magical. It was the most romantic place we have ever seen. At least once in your life, you should experience this.

It is a very quiet place - perfect for relaxing and snuggling close to enjoy time together.

We are going back this August.

  • Liked — It was just amazing.
  • Disliked — I wish it had been a little less expensive - so we could have stayed longer ;-)
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sudsyspartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2008

This resort is in a beautiful location. They have many little nooks where you can relax and look at the sea.

The staff were helpful, friendly and efficient!

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AxelGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2008

We just got back from this resort, and stayed in one of the Tenthouse Suites. We LOVED the room itself, and the views. The room was pretty much controlled by remotes, which was very cool. And the tub in our room was AMAZING - jets, and colored lights - plus you can see the ocean while your sitting in the tub! It's so big, I didn't have to touch my fiance if I didn't want too (I did of course!). The views were amazing ... I can't imagine a more serene place - it was awesome to wake up right beside the water.

We noticed a few things - the bugs were bad. Right when we got there we found 3 large spiders.... but, seeing as we were in a tent, in the middle of the bush, that is sort of expected, and can be dealt with pretty easily. However, the mosquitoes were BRUTAL. We didn't use our deck in the evening because they were just WAY to many. It would have been nice if the hotel provided some bug spray, or burning coils to keep them away. We just got home today and we each probably have 10 or 15 bites easily.

Room Service was a bit slow - and we did take into consideration that they have to hike to get to our room. We only ever ordered drinks and it took 25 plus minutes on both occasions.

Room Temperature - When we got there it was a NICE day, and they had the fireplace on full blast - SO HOT. We couldn't even breathe! Even when we turned it off, and had the fan on FULL BLAST, it was still very warm. I cannot imagine how hot it would be in the middle of the summer! I know that we would NOT go there then.

We loved the Continental Breakfast - there was a good variety of food, and plenty of it. However, I do agree with others about the decor of the dining room. It seems very outdated. We never did order dinner or lunch from the hotel since they did not have a wide variety of food on their menu (and my fiance is a vegetarian), and it was quite expensive. Instead we went to the IGA and Grasshopper Pub in Madeira Park (about 15 minutes away).

As for activities, there was a lot to do at the resort, but we found ourselves heading off the resort a lot. We would highly recommend renting a boat from the Bucaneer Marina (2 minutes away) - and it's only $30.00 an hour.

Overall - we had an excellent weekend away, and definitley enjoyed the time we spent inside the Tenthouse. We probably won't go back because of the cost of the place, but are not regretting the money we spent going this time. An experience I will never forget! You've got to go at least once (with bug spray!).

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mellyissia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2008

My husband and I stayed in one of their luxurious tents during the beginning of the summer 2007. If you are going to stay there - you definitely have to book a room with a tent and not with the hotel / cabin rooms. Bring a fan if it's summer and call ahead to make sure it isn't mosquito mating season.

Our room had a fantastic view, the surroundings were just gorgeous. The room was clean and the bed was so soft that it was the best sleep I had had in weeks. We loved it! The best part was waking up in the morning to the ocean. The cleaning service in our room was very good. It seemed they cleaned our room and made our bed twice a day!

Our only complaint is that the tents can get super hot during the day, especially if you are staying there during the summer. There are surrounding trees but they do not provide ample shade. Being tents - unfortunately there is no air conditioning - however, there is a ceiling fan. It was so hot in the room by noon that we simply could not stay inside. Luckily, we bought one of their adventure packages so we were always out during the day. We did not expect the stuffiness and humidity of these tents so be forewarned. It was a little sad that we could not stay inside of our tent during the daytime if we wanted to. I definitely recommend to bring your own fan if you are going during the summer months.

I also recommend bringing along bug spray, After Bite, and those candles which keep away the mosquitoes. There are a ton of mosquitoes and other types of flying bugs which find their way into the tents even though there are screens. My husband and I got eaten alive during the first day until we got a chance to buy some repellent. The tents have their own private decks, however, you will need to keep those bugs away during the evening.

I don't recommend eating at the hotel's restaurant. The food is overpriced, mediocre at best, and the service was the slowest I've ever experienced. It took 2 hours, no exaggeration, for our food to arrive. There is no air conditioning in the restaurant either.
If you have a car, there are plenty of better restaurants in town.

Otherwise, the staff was friendly and helpful. The resort was beautiful and we loved the horseback riding, the kayaking and on-site massages. I would definitely recommend this place for a quiet and relaxing weekend getaway. Just be prepared with your own fan, a lot of bug repellent and a map to the town. You can also bring some of your own snacks as there is a fridge inside of the tent.

  • Liked — Gorgeous room with a jaw dropping view of the ocean at your footstep.
  • Disliked — The bugs and the lack of air conditioning for the price you pay.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ILoveCooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2007

We booked a cabin at the resort for a chillout 3 days following a hectic 10 Days in Whistler.The website looked very slick and so we expected the high standards of accomodation we had experienced in Canada.

Well our experience couldn't have been further from our expectation! The cabins are in desperate need of replacement the.They are extremely basic ,not too disimilar to a bunkhouse.Not good enough for the premium rates being charged.

When we arrived we were told that our carpets had been cleaned that day so they were a littledamp.That was an understatement, it was like wading through wet field.I dread to think why they needed cleaning so thoroughly the day a guest was arriving.We asked to move but were told the resort was full.So we said we would check out in the morning! No real effort was made by the front desk to apologise or move us the next day,we had booked for 3 nights ! We asked for a table for dinner and that became a problem as they were fully booked.Where else are guest expected to eat in such an isolated spot? A table was eventually found ,but we felt the evening had been spoilt.

On checking out there was no real apology,but the lady behind the desk said the manager had instructed her not to charge for the night.That was a surprise but we feel the manager should have conveyed that message.

Overall a beautiful setting but seems to be a resort of two halves.High quality Tented suites shabby cabins.Together with staff who could do with some lessons in customer service.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraneHolmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2007

What a beautiful retreat. We stayed in the yurt/tent. Not your ordinary tent. Decked out and with a Bain Ultra tub , it was the pinnacle of relaxation. Luxurious linens, spa like tub and a view to lose yourself in, the yurts are a lovely additon to the property. The restaurant and environs make this a great destination for a weary traveller. Kudos.

  • Liked — Serenity
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ktminnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfmoon Bay
5.8 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
22.5 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
20.3 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
1.4 mi away
Secret Cove Cottage Suites
Secret Cove Cottage Suites
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwater Secret Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwater Secret Cove Resort

Property: Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Address: 5356 Ole's Cove Rd | Halfmoon Bay, Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia V0N 1Y2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Halfmoon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwater Secret Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort is the Sunshine Coast's Premier 4 star year round resort, featuring 38 ocean front rooms, suites, tenthouse suites and cabins. The resort features a restaurant, lounge, and seasonal outdoor swimming pool. Ideal resort for getaway, corporate retreats and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Rockwater Secret Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwater Secret Cove Hotel Halfmoon Bay
Hotel Rockwater Secret Cove
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort Canada/Halfmoon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing