We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tenthouse Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockwater Secret Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Vancouver
1 review
“Tenthouse Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2008

We stayed at Rockwater in a tenthouse for our honeymoon. We loved the view from the tenthouse, and I loved having a room that didn't require us having to walk through a hotel, it made it much more private.

I was a little surprised by how close the tenthouse was to the boardwalk. We still had plenty of privacy, it just meant that we had to keep the windows facing the boardwalk closed. Ideally we would have liked to have opened them all.

It was very windy while we were there, which made it very loud in the tenthouse. I loved this! It made the experience more memorable.

Our deck was very hot in the late afternoon and once the sun went down we had to go inside to avoid the mosquitos. I loved sitting on the deck and enjoying coffee in the morning.

We bought a adventure lunch one day, and it was very dissapointing. The portions were very small, they did not include everything that was listed on the menu, and they did not provide a fork for the salad. Skip it, it was way overpriced! We had room service from the restaurant one night, we were not overly impressed. Although, the service was great!

All in all it was the perfect honeymoon. I would love to revist the tenthouses and the sunshine coast is beautiful!

  • Liked — Location!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenzie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    162
    105
    57
    53
See reviews for
104
516
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2008

Wow, this was a wonderful experience. Some friends of ours that own a great Inn in Texas told us about this place. We stayed in the tents. What an amazing experience!. Delicous food and breathtaking views. Once in a life time adventure. Surprised there are not more of these around.

  • Liked — the amazing view from tents
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cpagirljackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2008

I stayed here with my wife and daughter for 4 nights the first week of July. We stayed in cabin #7 which is the cabin that is showcased on the web site and is renovated very nice. There are only 2 cabins that are renovated, I believe the other one is #6. Our friends arrived a few hours after we did and got cabin #8 which is not renovated and in extreme need of a renovation. There is a spider and mosquito problem in the cabins, I was bit over 200 times during the 4 days. The cabins are also right near the resorts septic system and foul odors flow throughout the area quite a few time a day. For $200 per night these cabins are over priced, even the renovated one that I stayed in. I took a tour of the tree tents and they are fantastic, this is the only place worth staying in this resort, but you will need $400 per night for them. If you have pets or kids you will have to stay in a cabin, but make sure you get a renovated one and take massive amounts of mosquito repellent with you if you choose to stay here. There are also no cooking facilities or BBQ area so you are forced to eat in their very expensive (but excellent food!) restaurant or drive 30 min for other options.

  • Liked — The cabin was recently renovated
  • Disliked — Mosquito and spider problem, septic system odor, overpriced.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Trav69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshine coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2008

Although very nicely decorated, the tent rooms are an utter disappointment. First, there was zero privacy in these rooms. The proximity of the rooms to each other and the boardwalk means that you can't sniffle in the room without being heard by a passer by, let alone anything else you might do in the bedroom or bathroom. Speaking of the bath, while taking a bath, we were surprised that people from several points along the nearby boardwalk could look directly into our room and see us in the tub - it was shocking! I actually waved to one person since they were staring at us. The same was true for our bed. the only way to have any privacy was to close every window - eliminating the appeal of the tenthouse suite. Finally, the rood made of some sort of taught polyurethane fabric - this is aesthetically appealing, but when it rains it turns the room into a very, very loud drum. I have spent plenty of time in an actual tent and love the sound of rain on the roof and rain on a tent fly, but this was unbearable. At 5 am it started to rain (not very hard - just your typical west coast rain) and inside the tenthouse suite it was an unbearable racket - so much for sleeping in. I left the resort very, very disappointed.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of privacy
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timbsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2008

We went last August and stayed in one of the tent suites. We have both stayed in some incredible places all around the world - but this - this was something magical. It was the most romantic place we have ever seen. At least once in your life, you should experience this.

It is a very quiet place - perfect for relaxing and snuggling close to enjoy time together.

We are going back this August.

  • Liked — It was just amazing.
  • Disliked — I wish it had been a little less expensive - so we could have stayed longer ;-)
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sudsyspartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2008

This resort is in a beautiful location. They have many little nooks where you can relax and look at the sea.

The staff were helpful, friendly and efficient!

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AxelGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2008

We just got back from this resort, and stayed in one of the Tenthouse Suites. We LOVED the room itself, and the views. The room was pretty much controlled by remotes, which was very cool. And the tub in our room was AMAZING - jets, and colored lights - plus you can see the ocean while your sitting in the tub! It's so big, I didn't have to touch my fiance if I didn't want too (I did of course!). The views were amazing ... I can't imagine a more serene place - it was awesome to wake up right beside the water.

We noticed a few things - the bugs were bad. Right when we got there we found 3 large spiders.... but, seeing as we were in a tent, in the middle of the bush, that is sort of expected, and can be dealt with pretty easily. However, the mosquitoes were BRUTAL. We didn't use our deck in the evening because they were just WAY to many. It would have been nice if the hotel provided some bug spray, or burning coils to keep them away. We just got home today and we each probably have 10 or 15 bites easily.

Room Service was a bit slow - and we did take into consideration that they have to hike to get to our room. We only ever ordered drinks and it took 25 plus minutes on both occasions.

Room Temperature - When we got there it was a NICE day, and they had the fireplace on full blast - SO HOT. We couldn't even breathe! Even when we turned it off, and had the fan on FULL BLAST, it was still very warm. I cannot imagine how hot it would be in the middle of the summer! I know that we would NOT go there then.

We loved the Continental Breakfast - there was a good variety of food, and plenty of it. However, I do agree with others about the decor of the dining room. It seems very outdated. We never did order dinner or lunch from the hotel since they did not have a wide variety of food on their menu (and my fiance is a vegetarian), and it was quite expensive. Instead we went to the IGA and Grasshopper Pub in Madeira Park (about 15 minutes away).

As for activities, there was a lot to do at the resort, but we found ourselves heading off the resort a lot. We would highly recommend renting a boat from the Bucaneer Marina (2 minutes away) - and it's only $30.00 an hour.

Overall - we had an excellent weekend away, and definitley enjoyed the time we spent inside the Tenthouse. We probably won't go back because of the cost of the place, but are not regretting the money we spent going this time. An experience I will never forget! You've got to go at least once (with bug spray!).

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mellyissia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfmoon Bay
5.8 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
22.4 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
20.5 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
6.9 mi away
InnSpire Resort & Spa
InnSpire Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Halfmoon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwater Secret Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwater Secret Cove Resort

Property: Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Address: 5356 Ole's Cove Rd | Halfmoon Bay, Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia V0N 1Y2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Halfmoon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwater Secret Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort is the Sunshine Coast's Premier 4 star year round resort, featuring 38 ocean front rooms, suites, tenthouse suites and cabins. The resort features a restaurant, lounge, and seasonal outdoor swimming pool. Ideal resort for getaway, corporate retreats and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Rockwater Secret Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwater Secret Cove Hotel Halfmoon Bay
Hotel Rockwater Secret Cove
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort Canada/Halfmoon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing