We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Painted Boat Resort(Madeira Park)
US$259
US$252
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina(Madeira Park)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ruby Lake Resort(Madeira Park)(Great Value!)
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Stonewater Motel(Madeira Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (868)
Filter reviews
868 results
Traveller rating
414
192
133
70
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
192
133
70
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstent suitessunshine coasttenthouse suiteheated floorssecret covethe main lodgebeautiful locationget awayjacuzzi tubour honeymoonunique experienceceiling fanromantic getawayon the rockscouples massagemini fridgespa services
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
501 - 506 of 868 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I've now been to Rockwater Secret Cove Resort twice. The first time, we stayed in a tent suite in February. The second time, with a child, we had to stay in one of their cabins in late May/early June.

Our first experience in the tent suite was very nice. The setting is tranquil, and you can't beat the ocean views from the tents. The accommodations were luxurious, and we enjoyed the jacuzzi tub and other amenities. The only thing that detracted from the experience was that the tent roof tends to make a lot of noise if there's wind (as there often is in winter), which can keep you up at night. Also, the restaurant is decent but not top notch. (We found better places offsite.)

Our late spring visit in the cabin, unfortunately, convinced us not to return again during wedding season. First off, the cabins aren't nearly as nice as the tenthouse suites. They're closely packed together and while they say most have views, our "ocean view" off the deck was a small corner of ocean; mostly all we could see (and hear) was all the other cabins in very close proximity. Our three-bedroom cabin looked nothing like the pictures of the cabins on the website, other than the single picture that shows a rustic, wood-log interior. (Rustic is fine -- the pervasive smell of wood smoke in the cabin also wasn't bad -- it just wasn't as billed in most of the cabin pictures on the website, which looked more modern.) The rooms give you enough space -- and there was a room with bunk beds that made my child happy -- but the common space is tiny and the washroom even smaller -- so small that they couldn't even fit a trashcan without it sticking out to where you'd trip on it every time you attempted to use the sink. It was just a (very small) shower, toilet and sink. No luxury in that washroom, and not much in the cabin. Think rustic.

The main problem was the weddings, though. They do a booming business in resort weddings, it appears -- it's not a big place and they had two weddings the weekend we were there. The guests turn up and spend the weekend drinking on their decks and around the property from early in the morning until late in the evening. There was a reception going on late into the night on the Saturday night we stayed. At 8 p.m., we were impressed, because while you could hear the music outside on the deck, you couldn't hear it in the cabin. And then management allowed them to turn up the volume as the night got later (shouldn't it go the other way around?), and let them go until 1 a.m. with the loud music which we could plainly hear in our bedroom with the windows closed. Also, at breakfast, they were clearly overwhelmed with the number of tables trying to eat, and service was excruciatingly slow (example: when we finally got our coffee, a good 10-15 minutes after ordering it, the waitress asked if we wanted cream, which we did. It took another 10 minutes for her to come with the cream, while our coffee got cold).

Another complaint was the wifi -- which forced a new login every 15 minutes. There's next to no cell reception on the property (at least with Rogers), so wifi's all you have. At most hotels you just log in once a day, but at Rockwater Secret Cove, you get kicked off in the middle of browsing or reading an article and have to log in again -- constantly.

Go in the winter, when there are no weddings and you can chill out and watch the ocean, relax, and unplug. I highly recommend the resort then. Avoid it on summer weekends, unless you're a member of a wedding party.

Room Tip: Stay in the tenthouse suites, rather than the cabins (especially the three-bedroom cabins).
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OffTheBeatenPath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank You very much for positing a review pertaining to your 2 stays at Rockwater Resort and Spa on Trip Advisor.

Your feedback and observations are very accurate and will assist us in improving our overall services going forward.

Currently we are in the process of reviewing our wedding reservation/booking patterns and operating procedures so that we don't inconvenience non wedding guests staying at our resort at the same time.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused and we look forward to seeing you here again in the future.

Wishing you a wonderful summer.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I are expecting our first child in September and so we wanted to getaway on a babymoon. We chose Rockwater and was not disappointed. Not only was the resort situated in a tranquil part of the Sunshine Coast, the weather was perfect-- sunny and relatively warm for a May long weekend. Very pet friendly, and with a fantastic dining experience-- we loved the amenities: private pebble beach, pier for float plane docking, short trails around the water, and beautiful views of the ocean+islands. Plenty of good hiking trails nearby (driving distance), don't forget to bring water!

Room Tip: Make sure your room is closed at all times to prevent mosquitos from getting in, and be sure to ask room service to shut the door instead of keeping it open when they are cleaning it.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear James C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read that you had a very pleasant stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Attended a wedding event at this resort with a two night stay. The staff was fabulous in every way, the food in the restaurant and catered food were first class. The setting is sensational. I would go back there again!

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are nice and close to the restaurant... tents on the ocean offer more privacy but not close to the restaurant. Views are spectacular. Amazing spot regardless. Did not use the fitness centre so can't comment,
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hello Maria W,

Thank You very much for your kind remarks pertaining to your recent stay with us.

It was our pleasure in being at your service.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

All the very best.

Dikran Zabunyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Most relaxing and beautiful place I've been to yet. You are at one with nature and the food and service is amazing, very unique tent houses. Camping will never be the same. Wonderful and friendly staff! We will definitely have a return trip in our future. I have already recommended this place to others

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Laura W,

Thank you very much for your review and also for recommending us to others.

We look forward to seeing you back here at Rockwater Resort and Spa in the near future.

All the very best.

Dikran Zabunyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed for one night at a conference arranged at this resort. The resort has a room and adjoining deck that were used for the conference. The anteroom was used to provide the meals (all buffet). Food was good, if standard fare (eggs, bacon for breakfast, sandwiches for lunch, salmon and chicken for dinner). I would have liked more "spa" oriented meals with healthy alternatives. The room was cosy with about 35 attendees (my estimate). The weather was wonderful so use of the deck made the exprience so much better. I was in a hotel room, not one of the tents. The room was acceptable, but small. The bathroom was very small. The bed was very comfortable. The bedding was excellent. View from the room, and from the balcony was amazing. I'd like to return if only for the peace and quiet and the comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Main floor rooms are small but comfortable. Tents can be noisy, depending on the activities of your neighbors
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Tom D,

Thank You very much for your feed back and observations.

I was happy to read that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Our Resort is an ideal venue for hosting corporate retreats and conferences for groups up to 60 delegates.

We look forward to be at your service in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews