We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey but awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pricey but awesome!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our honeymoon for 3 days. The tent house rooms are the way to go. They are a little on the expensive side, but it was a great experience. The beds were great and the view was awesome. Room service was second to none. As well as the food! So good!
The only thing I would advise is maybe skip the massage. We weren't too impressed.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hello Cody H,

Thank you very much for a wonderful review pertaining to your stay with us.

I will certainly look into your massage treatment or the 'lack of it" which I sincerely apologize for.

Thanks again and hope to see you in the future.

All the very best.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    166
    117
    57
    54
See reviews for
107
534
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I recently eloped at Rock Water Resort as part of their Elopement Package. Although I was getting married I didn't set my expectations very high because I wasn't expecting much. However, I was completely blown away by the resort and it's staff. They were very accommodating to us as well as our families that joined. The resort itself is beautiful. We stayed in the tenthouse suites as part of our package and it was a one of a kind experience. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the Kittyhawk Tent Suite which is right on the water with a very large deck. It is also the furthest away which gave us the most privacy. On the big day, everything ran very smoothly and completely stress free. Me and my fiance didn't have to do one thing except get dressed and ready.
After our beautiful ceremony, we had dinner in the restaurant. I thought the food was amazing and the service was top notch. I've dined at many 5 star restaurants and found that the food lived up to those standards.
This resort is definitely somewhere you go to get away and relax. Yes there is limited phone service and the wifi isn't great but I didn't come here to sit on my phone all day.

Room Tip: If you can swing it and if you are okay with a 10 minute walk on the boardwalk, go for the Kitty Haw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheilagh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you so much for your comments.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

All the very best.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I've now been to Rockwater Secret Cove Resort twice. The first time, we stayed in a tent suite in February. The second time, with a child, we had to stay in one of their cabins in late May/early June.

Our first experience in the tent suite was very nice. The setting is tranquil, and you can't beat the ocean views from the tents. The accommodations were luxurious, and we enjoyed the jacuzzi tub and other amenities. The only thing that detracted from the experience was that the tent roof tends to make a lot of noise if there's wind (as there often is in winter), which can keep you up at night. Also, the restaurant is decent but not top notch. (We found better places offsite.)

Our late spring visit in the cabin, unfortunately, convinced us not to return again during wedding season. First off, the cabins aren't nearly as nice as the tenthouse suites. They're closely packed together and while they say most have views, our "ocean view" off the deck was a small corner of ocean; mostly all we could see (and hear) was all the other cabins in very close proximity. Our three-bedroom cabin looked nothing like the pictures of the cabins on the website, other than the single picture that shows a rustic, wood-log interior. (Rustic is fine -- the pervasive smell of wood smoke in the cabin also wasn't bad -- it just wasn't as billed in most of the cabin pictures on the website, which looked more modern.) The rooms give you enough space -- and there was a room with bunk beds that made my child happy -- but the common space is tiny and the washroom even smaller -- so small that they couldn't even fit a trashcan without it sticking out to where you'd trip on it every time you attempted to use the sink. It was just a (very small) shower, toilet and sink. No luxury in that washroom, and not much in the cabin. Think rustic.

The main problem was the weddings, though. They do a booming business in resort weddings, it appears -- it's not a big place and they had two weddings the weekend we were there. The guests turn up and spend the weekend drinking on their decks and around the property from early in the morning until late in the evening. There was a reception going on late into the night on the Saturday night we stayed. At 8 p.m., we were impressed, because while you could hear the music outside on the deck, you couldn't hear it in the cabin. And then management allowed them to turn up the volume as the night got later (shouldn't it go the other way around?), and let them go until 1 a.m. with the loud music which we could plainly hear in our bedroom with the windows closed. Also, at breakfast, they were clearly overwhelmed with the number of tables trying to eat, and service was excruciatingly slow (example: when we finally got our coffee, a good 10-15 minutes after ordering it, the waitress asked if we wanted cream, which we did. It took another 10 minutes for her to come with the cream, while our coffee got cold).

Another complaint was the wifi -- which forced a new login every 15 minutes. There's next to no cell reception on the property (at least with Rogers), so wifi's all you have. At most hotels you just log in once a day, but at Rockwater Secret Cove, you get kicked off in the middle of browsing or reading an article and have to log in again -- constantly.

Go in the winter, when there are no weddings and you can chill out and watch the ocean, relax, and unplug. I highly recommend the resort then. Avoid it on summer weekends, unless you're a member of a wedding party.

Room Tip: Stay in the tenthouse suites, rather than the cabins (especially the three-bedroom cabins).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OffTheBeatenPath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank You very much for positing a review pertaining to your 2 stays at Rockwater Resort and Spa on Trip Advisor.

Your feedback and observations are very accurate and will assist us in improving our overall services going forward.

Currently we are in the process of reviewing our wedding reservation/booking patterns and operating procedures so that we don't inconvenience non wedding guests staying at our resort at the same time.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused and we look forward to seeing you here again in the future.

Wishing you a wonderful summer.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I are expecting our first child in September and so we wanted to getaway on a babymoon. We chose Rockwater and was not disappointed. Not only was the resort situated in a tranquil part of the Sunshine Coast, the weather was perfect-- sunny and relatively warm for a May long weekend. Very pet friendly, and with a fantastic dining experience-- we loved the amenities: private pebble beach, pier for float plane docking, short trails around the water, and beautiful views of the ocean+islands. Plenty of good hiking trails nearby (driving distance), don't forget to bring water!

Room Tip: Make sure your room is closed at all times to prevent mosquitos from getting in, and be sure to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear James C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read that you had a very pleasant stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100 Mile House, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Attended a wedding event at this resort with a two night stay. The staff was fabulous in every way, the food in the restaurant and catered food were first class. The setting is sensational. I would go back there again!

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are nice and close to the restaurant... tents on the ocean offer more privacy but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello Maria W,

Thank You very much for your kind remarks pertaining to your recent stay with us.

It was our pleasure in being at your service.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

All the very best.

Dikran Zabunyan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Most relaxing and beautiful place I've been to yet. You are at one with nature and the food and service is amazing, very unique tent houses. Camping will never be the same. Wonderful and friendly staff! We will definitely have a return trip in our future. I have already recommended this place to others

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Laura W,

Thank you very much for your review and also for recommending us to others.

We look forward to seeing you back here at Rockwater Resort and Spa in the near future.

All the very best.

Dikran Zabunyan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed for one night at a conference arranged at this resort. The resort has a room and adjoining deck that were used for the conference. The anteroom was used to provide the meals (all buffet). Food was good, if standard fare (eggs, bacon for breakfast, sandwiches for lunch, salmon and chicken for dinner). I would have liked more "spa" oriented meals with healthy alternatives. The room was cosy with about 35 attendees (my estimate). The weather was wonderful so use of the deck made the exprience so much better. I was in a hotel room, not one of the tents. The room was acceptable, but small. The bathroom was very small. The bed was very comfortable. The bedding was excellent. View from the room, and from the balcony was amazing. I'd like to return if only for the peace and quiet and the comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Main floor rooms are small but comfortable. Tents can be noisy, depending on the activities of your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Tom D,

Thank You very much for your feed back and observations.

I was happy to read that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Our Resort is an ideal venue for hosting corporate retreats and conferences for groups up to 60 delegates.

We look forward to be at your service in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfmoon Bay
5.8 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
22.5 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
20.3 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
1.4 mi away
Secret Cove Cottage Suites
Secret Cove Cottage Suites
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwater Secret Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwater Secret Cove Resort

Property: Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Address: 5356 Ole's Cove Rd | Halfmoon Bay, Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia V0N 1Y2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Halfmoon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwater Secret Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort is the Sunshine Coast's Premier 4 star year round resort, featuring 38 ocean front rooms, suites, tenthouse suites and cabins. The resort features a restaurant, lounge, and seasonal outdoor swimming pool. Ideal resort for getaway, corporate retreats and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rockwater Secret Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwater Secret Cove Hotel Halfmoon Bay
Hotel Rockwater Secret Cove
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort Canada/Halfmoon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing