We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter weekend Wedding with a room for every budget. Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
BC
1 review
“Easter weekend Wedding with a room for every budget. Fantastic!”
Reviewed 27 April 2009

I had the pleasure of attending my cousins wedding at the Rockwater on Easter weekend. The sun came out just in time for the outdoor ceremony...the staff said they ordered it just for us! I almost believe it is possible! They were friendly, accommodating, and made us feel at home. They were calling my Uncle "Grandpa" by the end of the weekend and treated the Matriarch, our 93 year old grandmother with the honour and respect she has earned. The food was outstanding, the setting speaks for itself, and with the cabins, lodge rooms and tents, there was a room for every budget including kids and pets too! All-in-all a weekend full of wonderful family memories. Thanks Rockwater Team!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCCousin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    179
    129
    64
    55
See reviews for
119
564
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washngton State
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Celebrating our 19th anniversary here was amazing! The cliffside tents are the best part of this resort experience. They include king beds, large two person tubs, fireplaces, showers, decks and incredible views. We enjoyed the continental breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. The food was exceptional and the staff very accomodating. Our couple's massage was relaxing and very professional. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gplz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

My boyfirend & I sayed in one of the gorgeous tent suites at Rockwater. We wouldn't normally spend so much a little weekend get away but the website made the place look so beautiful we couldn't resist. I have to say it was worth the money for such a unique experience, we're planning another trip back next month & plan to make it an annual tradition. We were blown away with the attention to detail in the suite, they are beautifully decortated & private with heated tile on the floors & a big jet tub. The perfect setting for a romantic relaxed weekend. We ate breakfast & dinner in the lodge & were happy with the quality of food & prices, we also took advantage of room service & ordered some wine to our room which was literally delivered in minutes. Our suite #51 was the first one on the right, it was nice to be secluded from the other guests but we did get some noise from foot traffic since the other guests have to walk by to get to their tents. The staff were very friendly & professional. We didn't use the spa services but plan to next visit. The two comments I have that could make it any better would be for the suites to have out door hot tubs & the lodge restaurant to be updated a little. Oh and bring your bug spray this is camping . . . . very luxurious camping.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlyGirl1480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VancouverBCCanada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2009

We've visited many areas, resorts and hotels around the world, but have to say, our experience at Rock Water tops them all. After a short ferry ride from outside Vancouver, we had a very pretty, scenic 40 minute drive to the Rock Water in Halfmoon Bay.
Our accomodation in one of the cabins on the shore line was fabulous! Food was amazing and all staff members were so very accomodating and friendly.
It's defiitely become a place of choice for us and we plan to return many times.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanandLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

The view from the Rockwater Secret Cove Resort is simply amazing. Everything else is a disgrace. This resort has a very carefully marketed web site, with photos and images that are not representative of the quality of the establishment.

The room that we had booked looked nothing like the web site had suggested. The smell was unpleasant and the bathroom had not been cleaned. The restaurant is out-dated and our table was dirty on two out of three mealtime occasions. My fiance and I were appalled to overhear a member of staff using derogatory language in reference to another guest, and then in reference to the management.

We did speak to another couple who were staying in one of the coveted "Tent Suites" and their experience was different to ours only in that their rooms were well furnished and modern (in stark contrast to the rest of the resort).

Before leaving I requested a meeting with the manager/owner to discuss my concerns. I was told he would be available at 10am and I should meet him in the lounge area of the bar. By 10.45am when he had not shown up my fiance and I decided to give up and try our very best to forget the whole terrible experience.

I would not recommend this resort to anyone. The staff are unhelpful and discourteous, the general upkeep of the resort is very poor, and the ownership are extremely unprofessional. AVOID!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flodhast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnwood
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2009

We said, "Wow!" so many times that we actually discussed trying to make an effort to use more adjectives. But the truth is, this twenty-two year married couple was "Wow'ed" by our experience at beautiful Rock Water Secret Cove Resort - and instantly excited by our new surroundings. Right away we released the stresses of everyday life-and let ourselves be swept up in the joy of our own private little shang-ri-la. We embraced on the balcony of our sparkling clean and luxurious tent-home and inhaled long, deep breathes of the freshest air one can imagine. Lovers of nature, we were entertained by God's amazing creation: wind, waves, tides & currents, birds, sunsets, moon & stars - it was all there for us to view from the comfort of our balcony, our bed, our bath and our table. Not wanting to leave our new little home, we were glad we'd brought in provisions that were as inspirational as our fabulous lodgings: rosemary & sea salt flat bread, brie, pepper salami, lemon stuffed olives, special beverages, dark chocolate, fresh fruit. We settled in and enjoyed ourselves in true heathen style! Like the newlyweds around us, we too, felt and acted like honeymooners. And now that we are back home-we are already planning to make this our anniversary get-away every year!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveRockWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2009

My fiancée and I were excited to stay in the unique tenthouse suites for the weekend and it truly did not disappoint. The reviews before does not sound like anything we experienced when we were there as the staff was very helpful and accommodating to our needs. We arrived early on friday at 2PM (we were expecting to wait until 4PM to be allowed to check in) but were surprised to find that our room would be ready in 10 mins.

We were given one of the more private tenthouses (#57) and it was amazing. The fireplace and heater was on already and our room was warm and cozy. This room is truly an experience, everything from the amazing tub to the heated floors. The only warning for travelers is that you do find insects in your room but you are in the middle of the forest! The dining room was a little outdated but the food made up for it. Even though the continental breakfast was your average breakfast, the dinner was very tasty (definately try the Rib Eye Steak).

Overall the experience was very enjoyable and I would definately want to go back during the summer (it was a little chilly and windy during this time).

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gchan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfmoon Bay
5.8 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
374 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
22.5 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
15.1 mi away
Backeddy Resort & Marina
7.1 mi away
Pender Harbour Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwater Secret Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwater Secret Cove Resort

Property: Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Address: 5356 Ole's Cove Rd | Halfmoon Bay, Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia V0N 1Y2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Halfmoon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwater Secret Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort is the Sunshine Coast's Premier 4 star year round resort, featuring 38 ocean front rooms, suites, tenthouse suites and cabins. The resort features a restaurant, lounge, and seasonal outdoor swimming pool. Ideal resort for getaway, corporate retreats and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Rockwater Secret Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwater Secret Cove Hotel Halfmoon Bay
Hotel Rockwater Secret Cove
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort Canada/Halfmoon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing