We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointing experience at the Rockwater-Not for young couples” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockwater Secret Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dissapointing experience at the Rockwater-Not for young couples”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

My wife and I went to the Rockwater Secret Cove Resort for our honeymoon. We were baffled by the sub-par customer service that we were provided with throughout our stay. We are a young couple in our late twenties and as such were ignored in favour of the older, richer guests. Despite the fact that we had reserved one of the luxury tents overlooking the water, we were given a room on the very top of the hill. The bed was dirty and the sheets covering the duvet (thats right, no duvet cover) consistently fell off to reveal disgusting stains from previous guests. When we came back from a hike on Saturday afternoon, our room hadn't been cleaned. When I complained, someone came twenty minutes later and did a very poor job. As well, the service in the restaurant was very slow and unproffessional. We watched as the waitress attended to the older guests around us despite the fact that we had sat down before them. In summation, the unique luxury tents and beautiful scenery are spoiled by the outrageous prices and very poor customer service.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tpaul55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    162
    105
    57
    53
See reviews for
104
516
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish, MT
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

Unfortunately we stayed here on one of the hottest days of the summer. We could not get a tented room so were in the main building - basically an old motel room. Good points: beautiful view, friendly staff, fabulous food, very clean. Bad points: NO AIR CONDITIONING. Because of the mosquitoes we couldn't sit on the small deck or open the door to get a through draft so had to lie very still and wait until it cooled down enough to get to sleep. On more than one occasion we just sat in the car and ran the a/c to cool down. We asked for a fan but were told they didn't have any - but on the morning we left we saw about 10 sitting on the landing. Staff held up amazingly well in the terrible heat. No elevator to second floor and stairs very narrow. Parking difficult. Pool so-so. Room-service to the tented suites apparently stretched service to the main restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank betemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

Absolutely fabulous place! Stayed in a Tenthouse Suite - amazing. If you need a place to get away from it all - this is it. Exceptional food, service, scenery! Nothing to complain about. Stayed here in March '09, arrived on a beautiful spring day & woke up to a winter wonderland!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiles66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

My fiance and I decided to elope and so we went to the Rockwater Secret Cove Resort. To say it was perfect was an understatement. Everything was looked after for us and the only thing we had to do was show up! The tent house suites were luxurious, cozy and really set the mood. Even though it rained on our special day, it was still perfect. It was all stress free and I would highly recommend for anyone who are planning on an elopement (or want to have a very nice vacation) to consider Rockwater Secret Cove Resort and stay in the tent house suites. If you do choose to go during storm season and stay in the tent house suite, please be aware that the wind and the rain can be very noisy esp at night...and for the men out there...there are no tv in the tent house suites!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yongchowfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langley, b.c.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

Customer service, spa, and food were all a 10!
Activities, Art , and antiques shopping near by compliment this sanctuary.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimindy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

I had a fabulous time at a family members wedding. The scene beautiful, the hotel very accommodating the food good and the wedding was the main focus as it should be. I am going back to enjoy one of the yurts on the rocks - maybe in the stormy season that would be gorgeous.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VanCoastTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

Thank you to everyone at Rockwater for making our wedding such a great and relaxed experience!

My husband and I decided to go to Canada to get married and chose the Rockwater as it offered an elopement package. I have to say that Halfmoon Bay is just as good as the photos on their website! Our time there was just amazing and the views from our tent house were stunning. Food was lovely and the staff couldn't have been more helpful! Everyone was so friendly. Our wedding day was so relaxed, especially the massage by the sea. Everything that we needed was organised so we really didn't need to do much on the day other than enjoy the 35 degree heat! Possibly could have been a parasol on our varanda as we had no shade but I think it was the hottest day on record so can't really moan!

The photographer did an amazing job, we are really pleased with our photos. All our friends and family have raved about them. The service by the sea was just what we wanted so would recommend going to the Rockwater for a wedding or romantic weekend and would definately go in a tenthouse.

Thanks again for making our day so special.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cfc363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfmoon Bay
5.8 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
22.4 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
20.5 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
6.9 mi away
InnSpire Resort & Spa
InnSpire Resort & Spa
#2 of 6 in Halfmoon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwater Secret Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwater Secret Cove Resort

Property: Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Address: 5356 Ole's Cove Rd | Halfmoon Bay, Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia V0N 1Y2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Halfmoon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwater Secret Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort is the Sunshine Coast's Premier 4 star year round resort, featuring 38 ocean front rooms, suites, tenthouse suites and cabins. The resort features a restaurant, lounge, and seasonal outdoor swimming pool. Ideal resort for getaway, corporate retreats and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Rockwater Secret Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwater Secret Cove Hotel Halfmoon Bay
Hotel Rockwater Secret Cove
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort Canada/Halfmoon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing