We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely family break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taverham
norfolk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely family break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed here with grandparents and our two young children. Although not the prettiest of hotels when you arrive, inside is a different story. We had a family room - probably one of the largest we've ever stayed in. Clean with everything you needed. The staff were fantastic throughout - they really couldn't have been more accomodating. We were made to feel welcome and thoroughly enjoyed the lovely food we had both nights. We all enjoyed the swimming pool. It was a perfect base for our few days away and we will definately be returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tunmora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    148
    57
    47
    34
See reviews for
104
90
16
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Before checking into this lovely hotel I had read some really poor reviews and nearly cancelled my booking. How glad I was that I didn't - my room was very clean and comfortable with an excellent en-suite: the spa is open from 7am at the weekends so I was able to make use of its excellent facilities before joining my family for the rest of the day; the staff were without exception friendly and helpful; breakfast was delicious. In fact I thought the owners and their staff had thought of everything - even the views! I wouldn't expect the frontage to be beautiful(answering some other people's complaints!) - its got a large car park which is very useful!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We wished to travel as a family of four (two children, aged 4 and 6) and stay somewhere in or around Norwich to allow us to split our time between North Norfolk and Suffolk at reasonable cost. The initial impression is - frankly - a worry: a bleak tarmac car park. But once inside, the interior is pleasant, the rooms a decent size and quite comfortable and reception welcoming. The hotel also shows signs of care and maintenance - everywhere was clean, tidy and freshly decorated.

The main attraction was the use of a pool. The pool was quite good - deep enough and long enough to get into a rhythm and actually swim lengths. I didn't try the sauna or steam room, but they looked to be typical of a hotel. The men's changing area could - perhaps - be cleaner, but it was up to normal standards.

We tried the bar meals: Everything was fine - nothing exciting or unusual but decent value considering the modest prices charged. There were also two real ales on tap - my Adnams Bitter was in good condition when it arrived. The breakfast service was good enough considering the room pricing.

So far, so good - there's nothing wrong with the place on the whole and if you enjoy Golf (a mystery to me but it takes all sorts I suppose) then having two courses close by would make it a good choice. And yet, the place lacks that touch of something extra. It needs a few modest extras - a box of tissues in the room was my wife's suggestion - along with somewhere to buy a few odds and ends, such as a bottle of cola. as is common is hotels in the US. Somehow it all feels a bit institutional - more like a management training centre than a hotel.

There is a lot to like, yet somehow it doesn't quite click. I would be quite happy to return at some point and if I were sent there for work I'd be quite content for two or three days. If we were doing the same trip again, its location would make it a good choice. But for someone looking for a hotel in Norwich, there may be better choices.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis-Graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Good staff , facilities and huge grounds.Stayed here for a romantic weekend or tried to.Three large parties of golfing gentlemen really spoilt our weekend but then it is a golfing hotel!? But did we want loud ribald behaviour in the bar / seating area in the evening accompanied by swearing...NO.Yes the hotel makes its money here but give those who do not golf an opportunity to escape.A quiet lounge area with comfortable seating overlooking the golf course would be ideal,somewhere to sit and drink a coffee without streams of golfers going outside to smoke and walking between the rather ugly looking green sofas that exist already.Barnham Broom deals with this aspect far better so take a look or ignore it and "carry on golfing" will prevail.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ROBINONorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We've just arrived home from our wedding weekend at Wensum Valley, and cannot praise the place enough... Firstly the situation. Yes; it looks like a barrack block when you pull up in the car park. But go inside... The interior is anything but barrack block. The views from the function suite and patio area (with plenty of seating), are over miles of beautifully tended golf course and countryside which make the perfect backdrop to any function and no traffic noise at all. Then we start on the staff. That needs only two words. Absolutely Amazing!! From Hannah & Tim, Adam on the night bar and all of the front of house staff. To the tireless work of those people behind the scenes. Not once were we ever greeted with anything less than a genuine warm smile, and the response to all we asked, for the whole weekend was: "That's not a problem" and it was meant sincerely. Attentive is too small a word for these people, everything we thought of, they had thought of it 5 minutes before we did..... On to the food, again; superb. both in quality and presentation. From the wedding breakfast (Which was just Wow!!!!!!! and we personally recommend the chicken & chorizo and their stawberries & cream) through the breakfasts (one of the best selections I have ever been offered) to their bar meals and snacks. None of them were any less than excellent. Freshly cooked and very tasty, and there is something for every taste....... The honeymoon suite is the largest hotel room I have ever seen. Complete with king size four poster bed, jacuzzi bath and a shower built for two...... Our guests that stayed the night all had generously sized rooms that were well appointed, and comfortable... Our room overlooked one of the first tees and being a warm weekend we slept with all three windows open both Saturday and Sunday night. We were not disturbed by excessive noise at all, at any time.
So. DO NOT be put off by any of the bad reviews. Go have a look at Wensum Valley. You will not be disappointed. We were not put off by the reviews, or the first impression from the car park. And we have just had the best wedding EVER......

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoandPaul2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

A group of 28 of us attended our annual "golfing challenge" weekend at Wensum Valley Hotel. The first pleasing point was that we were able to gain access to our rooms before we tee'd off at midday. The rooms are comfortable and sufficiently equipped for the needs of most short stay guests. The staff are very attentive and service is swift, there always seemed to be enough persons to deal with any number of guests requirements. Considering the hotel's very picturesque, quiet location, meaning that they have a virtually "captive clientele" when it come to the bar, the prices are very reasonable ; £3 a pint for a good selection of beers is not over the top. The food is excellent with a choice to suit everyone. Two 18 hole, challenging golf courses, mean that, even at weekends, you can enjoy your round at a good pace without waiting. The golf packages are very competitively priced and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Ive been 3 times, many come back too, says it all really. Great location, close to Norwich £10,00 in a taxi, 2 great golf course, rooms lovely, bar large, restaurant food & bar food lovely, staff always excellent. A great location for a lads weekend away golf.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simoncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taverham
9.0 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
5.3 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
17.3 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club

Property: Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
Address: Beech Avenue, Taverham NR8 6HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Taverham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taverham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 350 acres of breathtaking Norfolk countryside you’ll have plenty to choose from at Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club. Perhaps you are thinking of taking a weekend break in Norfolk, or a Golf break in Norwich, and would like to be only 5 miles from Norwich’s nightlife, shopping and culture and just 30 minutes from the beautiful North Norfolk coastline. Our convenient location and transport links make us the perfect Norwich Airport Hotel. Whatever the purpose of your visit, anything is possible at Wensum Valley Hotel, Golf and Country Club.Wensum Valley Hotel offers 2 of the finest golf courses in Norfolk. Both 18-hole courses are free draining, meaning they are playable all year round with no temporary greens! Our 90 en-suite rooms are both comfortable and welcoming after a round on the course, fishing on the river Wensum or a day out in Norfolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wensum Valley Hotel And Country
Wensum Valley Hotel Golf And Country Club Taverham, Norfolk, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing