We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taverham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had our wedding reception here in August 2013 and it was what we expected and more. Our wedding planner Hannah was always on call in the months leading up to the big day and both her and Tim made the big day run smoothly. The catering is first class as was the reception room itself and the wonderful views of the golf course. The staff are very friendly and were always able to answer any questions we had. All our guests enjoyed the reception and commented on how lovely the venue and staff were. Honeymoon suite was lovely, Jacuzzi bath too! We really recommend Wensum Valley as it was such good value for money!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleur N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

Yep- it's got a great golf course, great golf shop and friendly staff. No question there. The Hotel itself is clearly just for corporate events and staff are friendly and helpful. However if your there for a weekday lunch you could do better. We had off the bar top board the Salmon dish, the posh burger and Ham Eggs and chips with drinks. Good deal included with the golf costs where you get a fiver off your lunch. Food was however very average but gets four green dots for value and being hot so for us blokes still a great day thanks. Mach.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Macheovelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had our wedding reception at Wensum Valley Hotel & Golf Club & we couldn't fault a single thing, All the staff did us proud, Hannah the wedding co ordinator very friendly lady helped with everything & answered all my questions if i had any, Tim was on hand in the evening to make sure everything was running well again anything i asked for or had a question for was either done or answered, The food was perfect couldn't have asked for better, Being the Bride & Groom we had a complementry room & it was lovely & clean the breakfast in the morning again was lovely, we did want our day to end we really couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We held our Wedding here in March 2013. Wow what a fantastic day! Hannah our wedding co-ordinator was brilliant and everything was taken care of with absolutely no stress. Wedding breakfast room was gorgeous and the staff were great. Honeymoon suite was lovely & the food was fantastic. Guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves and the whole day was perfect for the price paid. If you are thinking of booking Wensum Valley for your wedding venue don't hesitate.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We went for two nights away expecting a luxury resort and booked a honeymoon suite to really indulge. However our "honeymoon suite" was just a large corporate looking room with bland dated furnishings and a wobbly four poster bed. But to really top it off there was crinkly plastic mattress cover on our bed. Nothing discreet about it, it was a thick nasty plastic covering, not something you would expect in such an expensive room. This is what i would have expected if i was staying in a cheap b&b. When i fed back at check- out they simply advised that it was there for hygiene reasons. Well it did not work as we took it off the bed.
The spa also left a lot to desire. The swimming pool was amass with hair.
The restaurant was okay but the breakfast was hideous. You ordered items from the menu through a waitress service, my husband had a sausage which was stone cold (clearly they microwave chilled items as it was cooked through), when he told the waitress she said "oh well".
I would not recommend this place to anyone as there were absolutely no highlights except the beautiful and amazing wedding that we attended that weekend.

Room Tip: Chose a different resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MileeScalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had our wedding here in August and the service was fantastic. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the food was amazing and the beautiful view topped it off. The rooms were large and very clean with an ensuite shower and bath. We highly recommend Wensum Valley to anyone who is planning their wedding or just looking for a hotel. Massive thank you to all of the staff who made our wedding day perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holm310813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

stayed here recently as part of a large corporate event . The place is clean and tidy although did have a bit of a dated feel about it .

The rooms were very 80s in style and the lack of a bath was a disappointment . Television was small for the size of the room.

The food was good value and the staff were always smiling and helpful .

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank coughandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taverham
5.3 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
915 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
6.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
949 reviews
9.0 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,770 reviews
17.3 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club

Address: Beech Avenue, Taverham NR8 6HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Taverham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taverham
Price Range: £68 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 350 acres of breathtaking Norfolk countryside you’ll have plenty to choose from at Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club. Perhaps you are thinking of taking a weekend break in Norfolk, or a Golf break in Norwich, and would like to be only 5 miles from Norwich’s nightlife, shopping and culture and just 30 minutes from the beautiful North Norfolk coastline. Our convenient location and transport links make us the perfect Norwich Airport Hotel. Whatever the purpose of your visit, anything is possible at Wensum Valley Hotel, Golf and Country Club.Wensum Valley Hotel offers 2 of the finest golf courses in Norfolk. Both 18-hole courses are free draining, meaning they are playable all year round with no temporary greens! Our 90 en-suite rooms are both comfortable and welcoming after a round on the course, fishing on the river Wensum or a day out in Norfolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wensum Valley Hotel And Country
Wensum Valley Hotel Golf And Country Club Taverham, Norfolk, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing