We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taverham
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We booked our wedding here over 18 Months ago after falling in love with the stunning views across the golf course. The wedding finally took place on the 25th May 2014 and we could not have asked for a better service from the staff from start to finish in the planning and on the actual day.
Nothing was too much trouble to organise from the menu down to the table decorations, all was taken care of by the staff taking the stress away from ourselves on the build up and on the day. Gennie the events manager could not have been more helpful, accomidating anything we asked for and keeping in costant touch with us.
The food was excellent and many compliments were made by our guests, with all dietry requirement being met and special menus for fussy eaters and children.
The bridal suite we had for the whole day to get ready in and stay the wedding night in was cleaned and set out to a very high standard, with towels and complimentary toileteries provided
All in all we would highly recommend booking your special day here and intend to revisit again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    153
    61
    51
    35
See reviews for
111
95
17
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

For what you get from these standard rooms they are over priced. Although they are clean they are basic rooms nothing special to warrant the cost. We were kept up the first night until around 2-3am which turned out to be the snooker room extractor fan which the owner found the next morning as the staff in the evening could not sort. Having played 11 holes the golf course is good. The food is ok nothing to shout about again should reflect in the price. Staff were helpful when required, however to sum up 5 star prices for 3 star rooms.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laxfield, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We booked a family room with breakfast at the Golf club for a Wedding we were attending. Having never been here before we didn't have any expectations.
The Reception Area and all the rooms were clearly marked which always helps. When we arrived the receptionist that checked us in was really efficient, making check in short so we could get to our room.
I have to say that my boys faces were a picture when they went into our room, it was huge! It consisted of a King size (or maybe super king, not sure) bed and 3 single beds plus seating area and large TV. The bathroom had both a bath and walk in shower, which was a surprise. The room was very clean, well presented and plenty of towels and toiletries for our use. The only down side I could find for our entire stay was that there was no air conditioning or ventilation, which would have helped on such a warm day.
We all enjoyed the Wedding at the Venue, the meal we had at the Wedding was really good and they catered really well for a Gluten Free Diet. Drinks were sensibly priced and all the staff were friendly. Good day had by everyone.
Breakfast in the morning was lovely, Cereals, Yogurt and a coupe of tinned fruits along with fruit juices were available for you to help yourself. The staff quickly poured any coffee and teas required and took orders for a cooked breakfast, again gluten free bread was readily available as soon as requested. The breakfast was really good.
After breakfast we made use of the swimming pool, there was also a spa, sauna and Jacuzzi and also a gym. The staff were so helpful, towels were supplied and during our swim one of the lifeguards saw that we were teaching our boys swimming so got some floats to help us.
A fantastic time had by all, would recommend to anyone and hope to visit again when time to use more of the facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WensumValleyHotelGC, Front Office Manager at Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hello Sandra,

Thank-you for your kind review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Wensum Valley, we are also glad that the Leisure team were able to support you in helping your sons to swim.

I will pass your kind comments on to all the departments and we will look forward to Welcoming you back to Wensum Valley in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

12 of us have been here for the last 5 years,loved everything about the place,but this year,wow what a dissapointment.the food was shocking,kitchen staff were rude and arrogant,bar staff were just not interested that people paid for the pleasure of staying there.I know that the industry change staff regularly,but this years crop just didn't give a damn.will never go back there again,our group will be changing hotels..absolute terrible weekend

Room Tip: Don't bother,they all look tired and need a good clean.only difference is size
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Both myself and my husband were staying here for two nights due to work and it is a truly wonderful soothing place. The staff were excellent and friendly. It is an extremely busy place with several functions and goings on happening constantly. The staff just sailed through and took everything in their stride. The food was also outstanding and we can't wait to go back in January again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WensumValleyHotelGC, Front Office Manager at Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hello Paula,

Thank-you for taking the time to leave us a review and what a lovely one it is! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will look forward to Welcoming you back to Wensum Valley in January!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

had a great swimming pool and leisure facilities. Evening meal good, breakfast not that good. Room large and clean. Location not far from Norwich in the countryside on the West side. Would stay again for sure

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishknight55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have just returned from our golf tour, (12 golfers) on our 11th year at Wensum valley. The two courses are very challenging, especially the Wensum, while the scenery and wildlife around the courses are amazing. The hotel and it's leisure facility are very good, and the food is, and always has been excellent. We have already booked for our return next year.

Room Tip: We always book rooms looking out over the 1st tee on the wensum, a great view first thing in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Phil-seagulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taverham
6.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
9.0 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,533 reviews
5.3 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
706 reviews
6.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,104 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stower Grange
Stower Grange
#1 of 1 in Drayton
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club

Property: Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
Address: Beech Avenue, Taverham NR8 6HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Taverham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taverham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 350 acres of breathtaking Norfolk countryside you’ll have plenty to choose from at Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club. Perhaps you are thinking of taking a weekend break in Norfolk, or a Golf break in Norwich, and would like to be only 5 miles from Norwich’s nightlife, shopping and culture and just 30 minutes from the beautiful North Norfolk coastline. Our convenient location and transport links make us the perfect Norwich Airport Hotel. Whatever the purpose of your visit, anything is possible at Wensum Valley Hotel, Golf and Country Club.Wensum Valley Hotel offers 2 of the finest golf courses in Norfolk. Both 18-hole courses are free draining, meaning they are playable all year round with no temporary greens! Our 90 en-suite rooms are both comfortable and welcoming after a round on the course, fishing on the river Wensum or a day out in Norfolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wensum Valley Hotel And Country
Wensum Valley Hotel Golf And Country Club Taverham, Norfolk, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing