We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
27
22
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
22
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge balconynice hotelcurtainsreceptionistgermanybreakfast
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2015

The Engelhorn family made our stay memorable and fills this property with the love and care you won't find in any chain. The rooms we had were huge by American standards, let alone European standards. Everything was immaculate and comfortable from the moment we arrived. And the breakfasts each morning included many more options than just hard rolls and jelly. We had eggs, bacon, fruit, curd, yogurt, cheeses and meats to select from. It was delicious and well worth the 9 euro. Each day we'd leave the hotel with fond wishes from the family to have a great time whatever sights we were seeing. Most memorable was the weekend we were heading to Paris. Acknowledging that at just a 5 hour drive we had to see it, the proprietor insisted we take the hotel's business card with us in case anything came up. So sweet! If you have a car and Heidelberg is you home base for a German vacation or business trip, definitely check out this property.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentFlyer064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have stayed here a number of times to visit friends following my move from Heidelberg to Berlin. This is a very, very nice hotel which had some of the cleanest, tidiest rooms I've stayed in. It's quiet, the staff are friendly, the breakfasts are. ample, parking is free and the rates are an excellent value. Just right for a night or two...and my dog is welcome!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerlinAmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Hotel Engelhorn in Leimen (10-minute drive or so from Heidelberg) is a well-kept building just off a small roundabout. Reception has to buzz you in, because the inner door to reception is locked for security purposes. Receptionist spoke English very well.

We were in room 106, which, along with room 105, is in the basement (!). We could see the car parked just outside the window. The room had a complimentary bottle of mineral water. There was also a mini-fridge with chargable items. As our dinner that night was stuff we'd bought from the supermarket, we used the fridge to store the left-overs so we could have them for breakfast in the morning, as breakfast wasn't included in the price.

The windows are covered by heavy metal shutters/blinds, so when the light was turned off, it was so dark you couldn't see a thing. Not even a hand right in front of your face! Impressive! Maybe a little TOO dark, but the bed was comfortable and it was a quiet night in a quiet neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doctortrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I stayed here one night in May 2013, and had a very pleasant stay. It takes less than 10 minutes to drive from Heidelberg center to the hotel, which is located in the small town of Leimen.

The room was large, spotlessly clean and inviting. All the rooms seemed to have a large balcony, and we also appreciated small complimentary “gifts” like a free bottle water and candy on the pillow. We slept with the window open all night, and heard very little from the road. The hotel offered free WiFi in the rooms as well. Unfortunately the curtains did not keep any of the sunlight out, and the beds were incredibly narrow. We spent half the night getting used to it...

The receptionist was helpful and friendly. It was possible to eat breakfast in the hotel, but we preferred a buffet in our room instead, before hitting the road very early. It was possible to park for free right in front of the hotel, and you could walk to a large supermarket (Edeka) in about 5 minutes.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone visiting the area, or just passing through.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

This is a small family hotel that knows how to offer good value for business travellers. Stayed in a single room which was perfectly adequate for one person. All the necessary amenities were available, a comfortable king size bed, free fast wi-fi connection and satellite television. A clean, well equipped bathroom with very impressive water pressure in the shower.

And with a balcony in a single room...

The hotel has friendly, helpful staff who are fluent in English. They offer a good breakfast as one can expect in Germany. There is very little to fault them, except for the location in the outskirts of Leimen which is best suited for travelling salesmen.

And you might want to avoid the Spanish-themed restaurant adjacent to the hotel. They advertise to specialize in tapas but do not have fino sherry in stock. Switching to German fare, we were served raw pork medallions. Not up to the standards of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KariL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews