We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Light Tackle Adventure Tarpon Fishing

Light Tackle Adventure Tarpon Fishing
Ranked #2 of 8 Tours in Cabo Rojo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Boqueron Bay in Cabo Rojo West Coast of Puerto Rico Fishing Information for anglers the island of Puerto Rico is located just a short 3 to 4 hour flight from any major city on the East coast of the United States. Unknown to many, Puerto Rico offers some of the most sensational fly fishing and light tackle opportunities in the Caribbean. The West coast waters offer to any angler a fishing paradise .The area is home to a significant population of year-round resident tarpon. Plenty of larger fish also ply the regions bays, lagoon and estuaries throughout the year. The big Tarpon are present, presumably to take advantage of the warmer waters and plentiful forage.I had the good fortune to call the flats and bays my office for work . Cabo Rojo is a magnificent area to cast a streamer in front of hungry tarpon. I was presented with the options of casting to schools of feeding fish over vast shallow flats, working amongst entangled mangroves to pocket pools & tiny creeks with single fish, and working the magic of the river.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My father in law and I had an excellent time fishing with Capt. Ponchy. The man knows what he is doing. We were able to hook fish within minutes of the start of our trip. We California released several large tarpon but we were able to bring a few in as well. This fishing trip has been the topic of conversation since we returned to the dock. Thanks for a great experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nino365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarponhombre, Owner at Light Tackle Adventure Tarpon Fishing, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Always is pleasure to take nice people to go fishing.
Thanks for fish with us .
Capt.Pochy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    0
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time spent on the water with an exceptional guide.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

As a fellow Captain in Tampa Florida in can truly attest to how great of a guide Captain Pochy truly is! I have fished with him numerous times and have taken angler's that have never fished before to seasoned angler's. To a person they have repeatedly said he was amazing! He consistently puts you on fish and even if the bite is slow he will continue to work to find feeding fish. We always leave with numerous tarpon hook ups and usually a few nice snapper for dinner. I highly recommend using Capt. Pochy when in Puerto Rico, for fishing, sightseeing and some great Puerto Rican history!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarponhombre, Owner at Light Tackle Adventure Tarpon Fishing, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thanks Capt.Murray It is always a pleasure fishing with you and spend a good time in the water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have fished all over the world and many times with Pochy. He is simply the best. In probably 20 trips with Pochy, I have never had a bad day. Besides being an incredible guide, he is friendly, patient, easy to talk to, and completely dedicated to his craft. A consumate professional.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RMEjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarponhombre, Owner at Light Tackle Adventure Tarpon Fishing, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
It is always a pleasure fishing with you and spend a good time in the water.
thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fish on guaranteed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I have fished with captain Pochy on several occasions with friends, relatives, and sometimes just the both of us. He knows where the fish are, keeps exploring new techniques and spots and always works hard so that everybody gets hooked on fish and on fishing. At the same time conveying a message of resource conservation and complementing the natural experience with a review of our cultural heritage since he is also a certified tourist guide. If you want to fish with the best and get a great value for your time and money look no more.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jose ivan v v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarponhombre, Owner at Light Tackle Adventure Tarpon Fishing, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
It is always a pleasure fishing with you and spend a good time in the water.
thanks Capt .Pochy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Texas
1 review
“Captain Pochy is great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We fished with Captain Pochy on our recent vacation to Puerto Rico. We had 2 tarpon hooked up in the first 30 minutes. We caught tarpon, and several other species of fish. We were on fish all day!!! I lost a very nice tarpon. I would highly recommend Captain Pochy whether you are a novice fisherman or a pro. He will take care of you.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bluelacy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Light Tackle Adventure Tarpon Fishing also viewed

 

Been to Light Tackle Adventure Tarpon Fishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing