We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look old, but no musty smell as imagine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mukdahan Grand Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Mukdahan
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Hotel looked quite old, but room was good as well as bathroom. There is no musty smell from room, carpet, or wall paper as my imagination.

Room was spacious stuffed in with old furnitures. No minibar, and empty refrigerator. Only 2 bottles of free water inside. Bed was clean, and not hard. Bathroom was also clean, but water ran quite slow.

Breakfast was fine, and had many choice of foods to eat. I like egg pan the most.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeHyoHee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2010

In short:
This is neither a "grand" hotel nor a "leading hotel of the world" by international or Bangkok standards, but nobody would really expect that. It's a city hotel which often caters for tour groups and also regularly seems to hold local conventions. I've found no major faullts of any kind during several stays, which is already quite remarkable as it's easy to get spoilt by Bangkok Hotel standards.

Location: As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is quite close to the city center, and shops and restaurants are within walking distance, but you would often take one of the readily available Tuk Tuk's outside. The Ploy Palace (the "other" major Hotel in town) is about 300 Meters away and right in the middle of shops and a market.

Rooms: We've stayed in a junior suite and found this to be very well equipped by any standards. The size is very large, from bedroom with king size bed and sufficient storage space and writing desk to the marble bathroom with separate tub and shower and even includes a bidet.
The living room has a comfy sofa and a dining table for four or five plus there's a little guest bathroom, too. Both rooms have individual air conditioners, which I find usefull especially at night as the a/c in the living room can cool the whole room without the contsant draft.
TV's are reasonable but sitll "tube", i.e. not LCD, but there's mostly Thai TV, which I don't watch. A little mini-bar holds a few soft drinks and beer at THB 35.-. There's still room to store your own drinks.
The only thing that's missing is a safety deposit box.
The rooms and especially the bathrooms are smartlsy decorated in mostly wood and earth tones. Age does show as in some corners the wallpaper is coming loose and there are some (overpainted) stains near the a/c.
Warning: There seems to be a nightly disco / entertainment somewhere in the basement or the adjacent club (never bothered to check exactly) and the music can easily be heard up to the rooms. (including the ninth floor)

Food:
The main hotel restaurant on the ground floor is a bit of a hit and miss. Food quality is generally ok, the menu is Thai. The "hit and miss" factor is the presence of groups and their size. If you're unlucky, Breakfast only consists of the leftovers of a "grazed down to earth" buffet and the dinner is "enhanced" by loud live music. If you're lucky, you've got the restaurant nearly for yourselve and service is then attentive and perfect.

Service:
We've found all staff to be very friendly and quite efficient. Everything has worked out well, be it room service or laundry or chec kout at 4AM.
There is free Wifi in our room, although I have no idea if it's provided by the hotel or a generous third party. Anyway, it's an open / unsecured network and signal is only strong enough in part of the room.

Overall:
I would recommend this hotel due to nice comfortable and clean rooms and the central location in Muk. Maybe not ideal for light or early sleepers due to the nightly music downstairs.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Popoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

this modern 4 star hotel is easily reached by tuk tuk from the city bus station (coming from savan,lao by express border bus) for 40 bart.the first thing that impresses you when you walk through the main doors is the pride all the staff take in their hotel.reception is quick and flawless,including travellers cheque exchange-more about that later-minutes later i found myself on the 10th floor with a city/mekong river facing room that would have done any worldwide 4 star hotel proud.all facilities were available but accepting this is a thai nationals hotel,and i the only westener,the tv had only one english channel..a short walk and i was at the night food market( a must)and its "tops"supermarket.another 2 blocks led me to the ferry wharf for boats to savan in laos and the riverfront market stalls.both thai and western items were available.with a more than adequate variety of westen offerings includine omlette station.breakfast was included in the US$ 28 a night rate...reception was able to get me a superior a/c bus to bangkok for 819 bart delivered to hotel and on being taken back to the bus depot for 8pm departure,the manageress spoke to the bus driver and gave him directions to drop me off before bangkok bus depot where i picked up a taxi that pulled in behind stopped bus and took me to my bangkok hotel at saphan taksin for 200 bart...back to the travellers cheque story...the manageress informed me that the bank required me to attend in person to cash US$80 worth of cheques.this lady then came with me as a staff member drove us to bank and i signed all the necessary papers..all staff at this hotel were attentave and helpfull at all times..

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank whrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2008

having taken notice of the only other review for this hotel (probably the best hotel in town) i decided to stay for the one night i was in mukdahan.
to keep this short and sweet this hotel is old and overpriced for a town such as this.
there are newer hotels at half the price around town.
i paid 1000 baht(walk in rate) for a "deluxe room" but i saw on certain websites these rooms were 1400baht.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thetruth69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2005

The Mukdahan Grand Hotel is probably the best hotel in town. Just don't expect too much of it. The rooms are spacious and look really nice. You can also hear your neighbours very well. The walls are thin!

Some of the staff speaks English. So you have to be lucky.
Breakfast was as expected: nothing special. The usual toast, rice, porridge, tea and fruits.

At night we had dinner at a restaurant along the Mekong river. It was really nice. Simple Thai food in a romantic setting.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Wereldreiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juicygrape M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pattaraporn_fufu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mukdahan hotels
0.2 mi away
Ploy Palace Hotel
Ploy Palace Hotel
#3 of 11 in Mukdahan
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kieng Piman Hotel
Kieng Piman Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mukdahan
24 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bird Day Boutique Hotel
Bird Day Boutique Hotel
#2 of 11 in Mukdahan
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Villa Thiwa Hotel
Villa Thiwa Hotel
#6 of 11 in Mukdahan
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hop Inn Mukdahan
Hop Inn Mukdahan
#4 of 11 in Mukdahan
12 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Submukda Phoomplace Hotel
#8 of 11 in Mukdahan
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mukdahan Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mukdahan Grand Hotel

Address: 78 Songnangsatid Road, Muang, Mukdahan 49000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Mukdahan Province > Mukdahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Mukdahan
Price Range: £21 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mukdahan Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mukdahan Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing