We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply amazing.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akti Dimis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Akti Dimis Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Tigaki
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend back in late August/September on our first holiday. This was my fourth visit to the resort of Tingaki, and I had previously stayed at the Mayflower hotel - which although was extremely friendly and beautiful, was a bit out of the way. I had seen the hotel before and had been impressed by it's location and appearance, and I was not disappointed.

We arrived late, yet staff were on hand for our arrival, making conversation and even helping with the bags. Although the room was basic and came with a slightly leaky shower (as is the norm in Greece), me and my boyfriend were more than happy, and our balcony came with a lovely view of both the sea and the gorgeous mountain backdrop.

The hotel is in a seriously fantastic location, with the beach at your doorstep - and the Akti Dimi beach sunbeds were a steal at just 5 euros for two and a parasol! It was roughly a 5-10 minute walk to the main strip of the resort, but a pleasant one all the same, and the hotel was just far out to feel like you were truly away from it all. The staff and the cleaner were always pleasant, and the snack bar was well priced and they even served us on the beach! The pool was always kept clean, with plenty of space - one morning we even had it to ourselves!

As for Tingaki itself, the little bakery on the main strip is a must for the croissants, and the crepes are to die for! The Menai restaurant was lovely, and I would recommend it if you feel like treating yourself, but most importantly, the Alykes restaurant is an absolute gem, down the dirt path towards the Salt Lake, and Stematis and his family could not have been more friendly with us. We had most of our meals there, and there was nowhere better for quality, hospitality - and size portions! Also, the little snack bar towards the beach front on the main strip was a definite for lunch - offering pitta gyros for only 2 euros each!!!

The Zia sunset trip was very romantic - perfect for couples and for finding those perfect souvenirs, and hiring bikes is something i definitely recommend, as it was very cheap and one of the best days we had! Me and my boyfriend managed to cycle to a gorgeous taverna called the Amphelli on the very outskirts of Tingaki (too far to walk) and overall we made the 26km journey to Kos Town and back, which was such a thrill! A bit more expensive, the three island cruise was also amazing, and is a great way to top up your tan and end the holiday.

Overall, we had the holiday of a lifetime, and we will definitely be returning to the Akti Dimis!!!

Sarah Ellis & Ryan Traill.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank SarahLouEll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    54
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
119
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed here a couple of times and highly recommend it.
It is situated a good 10 minute walk from the roundabout leading to main strip of bars / clubs / restaurants. In peaceful surroundings backing onto farmland.
Property is to a good standard and kept spotlessly clean.
The bar stays open late and serves light meals. Staff are always happy and just looking to help you get the most from your stay.
There's a pool + childrens area too.
The main thing I like about this place is you just have to cross the road from the apartments and you're on the beach.
Each time I stayed noticed it was mostly couples and a few families.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aegean_Addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiloo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

First of all: the location is perfect, across the street is the beach, with nice sunbeds.
Loved the swimmingpool!
The rooms are basic but good.
The staff is very friendly. Food and drinks for reasonable prices. I slept on the east side and it was nice waking up seeing the sun coming up. In the afternoon and evening no sun on this side but i liked that, otherwise it was too hot to sit outside.
Sleeping went well, no noisy rooms.
Every day clean towels.
Next to the building is a small supermarket, and you can rent a bike in the shop next to the supermarket.
The shops and restaurants you can find on a distance of aprox. 10 minutes walking. Very close to Akti Dimis you'll find Esperos, great restaurant!
Next year i'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

First stayed here 10yrs ago and I must say apart from a little tired furniture in our studio apartment there was nothing else to fault. Basic accommodation as most is usually in Greece, very clean, beds comfy and quite well equipt. The bar area has just been refurbished and is looking lovely, the pool is clean, fab location all these helped us to return and we were not disappointed.

Billy behind the bar was entertaining, and the rest of the family really helpful. I needed my wedding ring repaired, the sent me to see their cousin in Kos town he repaired it and delivered it back to the hotel all for 20 euro.

Thank you all for a wonderful holiday and we hope not to leave it another 10 years before we come back.

Room Tip: If you like the sun in the morning then ask for a room on the left and if you like the sun in the af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We spent a fortnight at Akti's, but we could of stayed a whole lot longer
Billy, Bianca, George and Co made us feel really welcome. With ' No problem' being their favourite reply nothing was too much bother.
The pool was great and with the beach just over the road it was perfect.
The rooms were fine. Not huge but more than adequate. The rooms were kept spotless with fresh towels and bedding every other day. The snack bar was great for breakie's and had a good mix of well priced snacks to keep you going through the day ( their are plenty of nice restaurants in Tigaki, 10 mins stroll away for your evening meals).
Billy's cocktails in the bar in the evening are 'cracking' Not just over loaded with alcohol, they were mixed to taste good (the Mojito's were my fav), and at a fair price.
We had a split holiday, a week with family (they are friends too!) and a week with friends (another couple) and Akti's worked well for both.
We had a westside room and although there was a little noise from the Kingsize bar next door, it was 'chilled music' so wasn't a problem. We stopped there on the way home on many an occasion, both in the afternoon and at night.
So a big thanks to all at Akti Dimis for a great holiday, We're looking forward to seeing you all again next year....

Room Tip: westside rooms have a little music noise at night so if your a light sleeper go eastside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poshian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Fabulous place. Excellant staff,beautiful pool. Location spot on across the road from the beach. Supermarket next door. Snacks bought on to the beach for you. Very good value for money. Bianca is the most friendliest receptionist in Greece. Rooms adequate for your stay and very clean

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We have just returned from a brilliant holiday at this lovely hotel. The studios are basic but clean and sheets and towels are changed every couple of days. The location is perfect, just across the road from a clean sandy beach and a lovely pool on site. The owners/staff are fantastic and nothing is to much trouble for them. The snack bar serves freshly cooked food, sandwiches etc. the pizzas are brilliant value, In the evening the Cocktail bar comes alive with a great range of cocktails and a good selection of other drinks.
Tigaki is a small resort with a large range of bars resturants and shops which we found ideal, there was plenty of choice of entertainment or you could just spend a quiet day/evening. The Greek night in Zia is well worth the money as is the three Island boat trip. We booked through Silica Tours which is a small independant operator and found them very reliable and cheaper than the other tour operators
We were on holiday with a group of friends and were all impressed with every aspect of the hotel and resort and we will be returning next year with our daughters and grandchildren. This will be the first time we have returned to the same hotel and can't wait!!!!!
Many thanks to Vasillias [forgive the spelling] Bianca, George and all of the rest of the staff. See you next year :)

Room Tip: Rooms on south side are quieter Ground floor have larger balconies 1st floor have twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigaki
0.5 mi away
Marianna Hotel
Marianna Hotel
#6 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zorbas Beach Hotel
Zorbas Beach Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tigaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
2.6 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tigaki's Star Hotel
Tigaki's Star Hotel
#8 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
5.1 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
2.0 mi away
Caravia Beach Hotel
Caravia Beach Hotel
#2 of 14 in Marmari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Dimis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Dimis Hotel

Property: Akti Dimis Hotel
Address: Main Street, Tigaki 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tigaki
#4 Family Hotel in Tigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Akti Dimis Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Akti Dimis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Dimis Hotel Tigaki
Akti Dimmys Tigaki
Akti Dimmys Hotel Tigaki
Akti Dimis Hotel Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing