We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Great Location”
Review of Angela Tingaki

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tigaki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Angela Tingaki
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Tigaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2010

The Angela is a nice hotel and good value for money, yes the rooms might need a spruce up or a makeover but they are clean and tidy, and everything works. The location of the hotel is great, at the top of the main street in Tingaki with the beach(10 mins walk) at the end of the road. There are comments made in other reviews about rude behaviour of staff or owners, well i certainly did not experience any of this. The bar staff, including Fran were very welcoming, and the owners would always greet you and ask how you were. Comments made about a "klick" may have been made because they felt left out, well thats thier hard luck.
Comments about the views from the room - well they are not great - looking out over typical Kos scrubland!! but then many other hotels have similar views - this is Kos not lush alpine views, get over it!!
The pool is small and would probably be overcrowded in peak times, it was not a problem when i was there, however if it is crowded just go to the beach its only a short walk away!!!
The hotel does have a lot of british guests, but so do many and others have guests soley from other countries - is this a problem!! I dont think so. There were certainly other nationalities at the Angela when i was there.
The location, as i said is great, everything is within good walking distance with shops, restaurants and bars abound. If you like watching the footy on large screen tv's then many bars have these!!, if you dont go to another bar.
A couple of tips - If you want to go into Kos town on the bus - get to the main bus stop (nr the beach) early - the buses get very packed and are only every hour, cheap though, less than 2 euro. Car hire is reasonable around 35 euro a day.
If you are thinking of spending time on the beach - invest in a windbreak as at times the wind blowing in from the sea can be very (and i mean very) strong - i had one day of really strong wind in a week though, the rest of the time it was blowing but this helped to keep cool.
Keep an open mind with these reviews - just remember you cant please everyone, make up your own mind!! Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UkBonjour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2009

cannot belive the bad reviews on this page,niki and george could not have been more helpful.i stayed there for a week on my own{woman}and they were great. also fran and lesley who ran the bar and snak resteraunt were the perfect hosts.i feel if you want it to be as at home then stay at home.have theses people also tried doing anything with the time there?hosre riding on the beach with gina&vasillis is brill also greek nite at zia,bus runs every hour to kos town only 1.80 E went in may 09 aug 09 and going again 17 oct 09 it must have something,husband&i love it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Myself and my partner have just arrived back from staying at the Angela and can't really knock it for the price that we paid. I have been reading the reviews and found that people have been complaining about the attitude of the staff ! this was not the case !! If you got to know them then you would have found out that they were all nice genuine people.
We didn't spend our days spent around the pool or bar of the hotel and we didn't get looked down upon. I read bad reviews of which the people have all used the Socrates next door and ask myself would i be really that happy if they decided to use the hotel facilities next door ?
The complaint about music blaring at 7.30am is a bit of a joke too ! Our room was above the bar area and never heard it at all ! Infact you actually hear the music coming from the Socrates at about 11.30pm with people still splashing about in the pool next door !
Fair enough the food is a typical English menu but it's cheap and not too bad if you fancy a quick snack. If you want to eat a typical Greek meal then try Vassilis or Oneiros as we found these the best places to eat in Tigaki. We also ate in Hercules next door to the Angela too, as if you get to know him you find out that the guy who works their and trys to get you to come in and eat is a genuine friendly guy. We didn't know until a couple of days before we left that Nicky & George owned the Grand Salle else we would ave given it a shot , but even so we were not frowned upon for not eating there.
The shop there was fair and offered pretty much what you needed for a decent price. Yeah it's not like the prices at home , but you expect that since the pound has fell to the euro. We also used Antoninos supermarket just up the road too which was a little less expensive than the hotels shop , but thats what you expect.
The things that we didn't like too much at the hotel were that you had to buy toilet roll ! you are supplied with one roll when you arrive and you are expected to buy for the rest of your stay. Also we found the air conditioning price a little steep at 7 euros per night.
As others have said , the rooms are clean and basic , but I have stayed in a lot worse !!!
We found that if you are staying for the two weeks then you need to do a few of the excursions and explore the island to keep yourself occupied unless all you just want to do for your stay by the pool or go to the beach.
People are also complaining about the British influence in Tingaki. What about the Germans , Dutch and Itallians ??? If you want to visit a traditional Greek island then you need to find one that you can only access by ferry and not by plane as most English people don't like to spend a few extra hours travelling !
Overall we had an excellent stay and I don't think we ate an English meal at all why we were there with all the decent Tavernas and restaraunts in Tigaki. Nicky was extremely helpful and even let us keep our room on our last day until 2am when we left as their was nobody going into it that night.
We paid 10 euros each on the friday for the greek night which we mainly did for the food and not the experience. The food was excellent and enjoyed it very much and also had a laugh with nicky and the other guests on the night.
We would both go back to Tigaki and stay at the Angela , but would probably only go back for a week as we found that towards the end of our two week stay that we were trying to find other things to do rather than to go to the beach or spend time at the pool.

Adam & Vasoulla

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baggie131183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

The rooms at the Angela are what you would expect to find in Greece – basic. The rooms are equipped with air con for an additional charge. You can also hire fans if the air con is too pricy. The rooms were cleaned every other day and were always fine, My only issue with the Angela was the other guests. If you want to sit by the pool eating English food and drinking all day then the pool and snack bar are for you! The ‘Greek’ night that was put on once a week does seem a tad farcical and was not something I was interested in as it was too staged. The lady who worked in the shop was lovely. The women who worked behind the bar were friendly enough, but did look a little moody on more than one occasion. We did initially feel a bit pressured to spend time (and money) at the pool and bar, but that wore off quickly after meeting some of the other guests who would only stay around the pool and never venture any further! I think the key is to just smile at the staff and be pleasant – they’ll have a harder time being mean to you. The Olympic rep was constantly moody! If you want a quieter pool away from the fried breakfast and chips with everything brigade you could try the pool next door – the Socrates. Be warned though this is owned by the brother of owners of the Angela who had a falling out over the winter months which is why the gate next to the Socrates is now locked and why the Angela now has a shop! I’m sure that would account for some of the hostility towards some of the Angela guests choosing to use the Socrates pool. We found the owner Nicky to be fine, she looked like she was constantly thinking about something else though, but was always pleasant enough and always said ‘Yiasou’. Her husband George was always very chatty and smiling all the time, and often very funny, although he did seem to sometimes resemble the Greek Basil Fawlty when talking to some of the waiters in the restaurant! Their son Nikos was very sweet, helping out in the shop and in the Grande Salle restaurant across the road which is also owned by Nicky and George. We chose to eat at the Grande Salle a few times over the two weeks of our stay as it was convenient. The food, service and price were all excellent. We can’t fault the Angela at all for its rooms or facilities as they were all great, it’s unfortunate that as the vast majority of guests at the Angela are reluctant to eat anything other than fried breakfasts, curry and chips the menu at the snack bar suffers – the owners are just offering what their guests want. As I said previously the only fault with the Angela is the other guests! I would recommend the Angela for a good base in Tigaki as it is in a fantastic location – 5 mins to the beach, 1 min (if that) to the bus stop and about 3 mins to the supermarket. If you want to explore the island a little more the bus from Tigaki takes you to Kos Town, from there you can get buses to other destinations all over the island. For other trips around the island I recommend Theokritos Travel who are bar far the best tour company in Tigaki.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Arty_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We stayed at Angela as part of a package deal. Hotel is average but we did not expect something more given the very low cost of the holidays all together. The most striking thing about the hotel (and the entire Tingaki area to be honest) is that is little Britain with sea and sun: British meals/ drinks/ pubs/ products/ papers/ people etc. If you want something Greek, do not go in Tingaki in any case. Room were average; spacious with wc/ shower, cooking facilities and balcony (view over garden/ fields). In contrast to what we had read here, we found rooms average clean (e.g. some of the cutlery was dirty-not that pleased); cleaning service every other day but seemed to do a very basic job. Hotel facilities are also ok. Pool is nice but right next to the road- not so good. Bar is nice with wide variety and average quality food- staff is very friendly though (all British). Hotel location is very good: set in the main tingaki road, 1' from the bus stop (buses to Kos town every 60'), 10' from the beach (we did prefer to visit different beaches across the island though as this one tend to be windy, at least during the period we were there). All in all, hotel is good value for money but part of Britain with sunshine which tingaki is all about. even the effort of the hotel's Greek owners to put a 'Greek' night up is failing big way: a young girl dancing (Turkish!) belly dance and a young boy offering ouzo shots from different parts of his body-some not so pleasant-, is rather tacky and certainly not Greek!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkey_uk83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Booked 2 weeks in Tigaki with family. Have been to Tigaki many times but never stayed at Angela. Read the reviews on trip advisor regarding Angela but I am convinced they are either writing about a different place!!!!!! Arrived early hours of morning so after a couple of hours sleep we thought we would have some breakfast at the pool bar..... never again.... between hair in the orange juice, the barman/odd job man smoking inbetween serving food... terrible!!!!! Disgusting. All English people working there... no greek people around so not great if you like the traditional greek holiday. Music blaring at 7.30am "Time after Time by Cyndi Lauper - they must have it on replay over and over again!!!! The pool area is so small, once people are sitting on sunbeds, you can't actually walk around the pool as there is no room, the beds are so close to the poolside edge, you would be tripping over bodies to get around. If you have any comments or complaints you will not be thanked for going to the owner Nicky (the most rude greek person I have ever met in 15 years of visiting various parts of Greece) or her husband George... they do not want to know... not interested in any feedback. If you don't eat and drink at the bar and buy from their supermarket, they do not like it and make you feel like an outsider and intimidate you and make you feel quite unsafe in your surroundings. If you like pints of lager for your breakfast followed by hair in your orange juice or all the more mature people by the pool with their baps out... then please book this apartment. I have stayed in lots of placed in Tingaki but would recommend that if you want a decent holiday, then the Angela is NOT for you. If you are not fussy about the people you mix with and the quality of service/friendliness, then this is the place to go. We left after 2 days and stayed next door which meant we enjoyed the rest of our holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelC209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Thank catwomansarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tigaki hotels
0.1 mi away
Marianna Hotel
Marianna Hotel
#7 of 24 in Tigaki
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akti Dimis Hotel
Akti Dimis Hotel
#4 of 24 in Tigaki
251 reviews
2.8 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tigaki's Star Hotel
Tigaki's Star Hotel
#9 of 24 in Tigaki
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oasis Studios & Apartments
0.4 mi away
More Meni Beach
More Meni Beach
#10 of 24 in Tigaki
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angela Tingaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angela Tingaki

Address: Tigaki, Tigaki 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tigaki
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Angela Tingaki Tigaki
Angela Tingaki Hotel Tigaki
Angela Tingaki Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing