We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation, beautiful area, lovely & friendly people!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tigaki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mayflower Apartments
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Tigaki
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation, beautiful area, lovely & friendly people!”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We have just returned from two weeks at the mayflower, and I have to agree with the majority of the below reviews, you cannot go wrong with this place. We stayed in Room 105, facing the beautiful mountains, the scenery is lovely and although, it is a quieter area, there are still some cocktail bars in the centre of tigaki if you want a few drinks. I would highly recommend this accomodation for those who want a relaxed, get away from it all type holiday. Would be most suited to couples and families, but not if you want a party nightlife.
The apartments themselves are spotless and very clean, very spacious. Some people have complained about the beds being hard, however I found them to be no worse than any other hotel I've stayed in whilst on holiday. We travelled in september, and found that we did not need air conditioning as it was cool enough at night, however it still reached the 30 degree mark and higher during the day, so the weather is beautiful. We only had some slight rain on one day, which lasted for about 2 minutes and that was it plus one thunderstorm, however it was more fun and exciting than annoying really, we found it to be quite beautiful. The balconies overlook either the Zia mountains which are gorgeous or the pool which is an equally pleasant view.
The actually bar/pool area itself was also spotlessly clean, we were very impressed with the pool area. The pictures of the pool do not do it justice as it is actually larger than it looks, very clean and not that cold either. The area surrounding the pool is surrounded by nice gardens, perfect for relaxing.
The resort of tigaki itself is not very large, however you would not get bored, providing you dont want a clubbing holiday. There are a few bars to take your pick from, with reasonably priced cocktails. The Greeks are also very generous with their measures! It is a 5/10 min walk into the centre and a further 5 minutes walking to the beach. The beach is probably about 20 minutes away from the hotel but this is not really a problem as there a plenty of shops to have a look in on your way. Cost of sunbeds is 6 euros for the whole day which was good and the beach is nice and clean, sandy and stretches for miles. The sea is also beautifully clear and we even saw some fish swimming around us. It is nice and warm too. The is a big supermarket just up the road from the mayflower, and you can take a short cut across some farm land so it only takes 5 minutes. We found the prices to be reasonable, you definitely get your money's worth.
The best restaurant to visit is the Sagittarius which is the closest one to the Mayflower on the left hand side. The owner is very friendly and always pleased to see you. Plus, the food is gorgeous and it is traditional home made greek cooking. Plus, it is a very pretty restaurant with a fountain in the middle. Another good restaurant, is Spryos. All the waiters are really friendly and well priced food. We liked the look of the Meni restaurant also but unfortunately didnt get a chance to go in, however this has also got some good reviews.
Lastly, the thing that really makes this place the place to go and the most amazing holiday, is the people. The greek people are very friendly and could not do enough for you. They treat you as their friend and are very helpful. The family that run this hotel, Elia, her husband and their son Christos, well we couldnt say enough good things about them. Christos runs the bar in the evenings and is funny and will make you laugh, he has a good sense of humour, he will always be helpful and give you good information and advice. Elia is just lovely. She will do anything for you to make you have a good stay, she will show you how to get to places and herself and the lady who run the bar in the day time, they are extremely welcoming and attentive to each of their guests needs. Elia's husband cooks the food for the bbq on a monday night, which is absolutely lovely. The stuffed peppers and tomatos are really nice. We would highly recommend going to this and you get a good amount of food for only 12 euros each and the greek dancers are good. They will get everyone up and involved but they dont force you to get up if you dont want to.
If your thinking of doing any exursions then Turkey is a real eye opener if you havent been before, our holiday rep, Anne, who was also really helpful throughout the entire stay and kept us up to date with info about our flight delay during the strike, meaning we had minimal disruptions, refered to Turkey as like marmite, you either love it or hate it and it is a good experience and taster of the culture. The Zia mountains are also beautiful so worth a visit. We also booked the Agean cruise but this was cancelled due to the windy weather on the day, however we got a full refund for this. I think it would be well worth it, as you get to go off the boat to go snorkelling and swimming in the little coves.
Overall, I cant fault this hotel, and can't recommend it enough, you would not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sammi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
93
122
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

What a beautiful place to stay, came back 14th september after spending 2 weeks there.
The family that run these appartments are very very friendly and made us welcome, these are the cleanest rooms we have ever stayed in and we have been to kos quite a few times now. We had a 1 bedroom appartment facing the pool and it was really spacious.
It is a good walk to the town and the beach but to be honest that doesnt bother us.
The pool area is great, although we had to laugh at a few people that got up extra early to put towels on the sunbeds, then went out for the day but left their towels :-/
I must admit the beds were abit hard and quite creaky, don't think i'm moaning ive slept on worse lol.
Tigaki is brilliant we love the friendliness, they are always ready to help and its not just because your a holiday maker. the food is lovely and if they haven't got something on the menu you would like they will go out of their way to get what you want.
You must go to 7days, Irini who runs this has become a good friend to myself and my family,
Her mom does the cooking and it is delicious real home cooking at its best.
Well all i can say about the holiday my partner and myself had was awesome, good food, lovely place to stay, excellent weather. You must give these appartments a try a i gaurantee you will book up to go back we are.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Second time at the Mayflower, and will book again for next year. My fiencee, my 15 month old son and I went for 11 nights. The weather was perfect, and the family who own the apartments are so friendly and helpfull. It's a short walk into Tigaki where there are plenty of shops and tavernas and there is also a supermarket just round the corner. Kos town is a short car or bus journey away, or you can take a taxi for 15 Euros. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rich9990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Just like everyone else I can't fault the mayflower at all. Just returned from a week there and it was excellent. The rooms were immaculate and spacious, we had two balconies facing the pool with a lovely view. All the staff at the mayflower are very nice and friendly. The pool is excellent it's a good size and always plenty sun loungers. The pool/snack bar is also very good. There is plenty of resturants, tavernas and cocktail bars close by all on one main street which leads to the beach (short walk). Our favourite place to eat was The Sagittarius which Is the closest resturant to the apartments, the food is brilliant, best I've ever tasted. Also went to zia to watch the sunset which I would recommend, great views. Overall we had a great holiday and will definately be coming back.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Missy23000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

This was our first time to Mayflower and what can I say, the rooms were very very clean, lovely views across the mountains from our room.Elia and her family were so friendly and could'nt do enough for you.The pool is lovely.The food is fantastic.We enjoyed the Greek night , the food was superb and the dancing was good fun.Quite a few people had been there before many times and we could see why a1 accomadation.There is a 20 minute walk to the beach which was fine.Sagittiarius, Meni and Spyros are great places to eat.Zia is a must but get there early to get a good table at one of the tavernas.We hired a car from Visma Tours, great service.We have been to many of the Islands in Greece and this these are the best appartments we have stayed in, we have booked to go back in 2012.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Travelled as a familly with 2 young boys. Had a fantastic time. Apartments were great - very clean and spacious. The pool area was also very clean and had a great atmosphere. The resort of Tigaki was lovely. Many bars and restaurants to try (we tried lots and didn't experience one bad meal). Beach at Tigake was also superb. The Greek night at the apartments is a must and we can't wait to go back again next summer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank McCabesonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My husband & I had an 11 day stay here at the end of June beginning of July and we have never felt so at home and relaxed as we did here. I always research Tripadvisor before booking any holidays and was very impressed by all the amazing reviews which the Mayflower received. After a late night arrival with a very warm we had room 105 at the back of the hotel overlooking the mountains, we could see the village of Zia in the distance it was so quiet & peaceful & nice & cool as the sun was at the other side of the building in the evening. Rooms are very spacious (we had 2 balconies!) kept spotlessly clean, a great shower too. No problem with sunbeds you could arrive at the pool at any time of day & be assured of finding plenty available. Nothing is too much trouble for this lovely family Elia would even make us a sandwich to take with us to the beach and Christos was great telling us all the best places to visit when we hired our car - he also learned how to make Mojitos whilst we were there which were amazing!! The Greek night is a definite must - a great way to meet & get to know your fellow guests and eat some fabulous greek food. We met some great people there & really did not want to come home.
Lots of great restaurants in the resort too - never had a bad meal. Sagittarius is the first one nearest the hotel on the walk into town & is definitely worth a visit we went 3 times also Meni is very nice. The beach is great it - about a 20 minute walk but worth it -stretches for miles - hire a bike too and a visit to Kos town is also a must. Great supermarket very close to the apartments too.
We can't wait to return to the Mayflower unfortunately it won't be until 2013 as plans made already for next year but counting the days!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Giggy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigaki
0.7 mi away
Akti Dimis Hotel
Akti Dimis Hotel
#5 of 23 in Tigaki
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marianna Hotel
Marianna Hotel
#6 of 23 in Tigaki
324 reviews
2.9 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tigaki's Star Hotel
Tigaki's Star Hotel
#9 of 23 in Tigaki
167 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zorbas Beach Hotel
Zorbas Beach Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tigaki
824 reviews
5.6 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Apartments

Property: Mayflower Apartments
Address: Tigaki 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tigaki
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tigaki
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Mayflower Apartments Tigaki
Mayflower Apartments Hotel Tigaki
Mayflower Apartments Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing