We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tigaki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mayflower Apartments
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Tigaki
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We had a brilliant time at these apartments, I can see why so many people return year after year. The apartment itself was very clean and spacious with lovely views of the mountains. The pool area was great and we never had to fight for a sunbed. The family running the hotel were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The food served at the pool bar was reasonably priced and good quality.

The apartments are about a 20 min walk from the beach (which is sand rather than stones) and a 10/15 min walk to the main restaurants/ bars along quiet but well lit roads. Kos town is easily accessible by bus or taxi if you fancy a change.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wilmac2117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
93
122
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newportsouthwales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

What can i say this has to be the best ever apartments in greece!!!! myself and my husband have been here now 13 times and in two weeks we are on our 14th visit!!!! we have met some fantastic people here the greeks and holiday guests!
This island has soooooo much to see and do and hiring a car is a must to really appreciate the island and it's superb beaches!!!
it has so much history, the mountains are breath taking don't forget your camera's!!!! My husband and i had our wedding blessing in a church up in zia we had a beautiful day with friends and family, christos arranged it with my husband as a surprise for our pearl anniversary, elia the owner of the mayflower came too!!! which made it that extra special.
Last year our son had his wedding there too, and elia christos and the mayflower staff worked very hard to make ther day very special they arranged the reception at the Mayflower for them and the food and presentation was just amazing!!!! The table was superb in every way with fresh flowers and bows a huge big thank you to you all we will never forget it. And i must say a huge thank you to christos for the superb photo's they were very professional! and a fantastic bar man thanks again we won't forget it.
The food at the mayflower is a must elia's menu is fab!!! we do most of our eating there and is plentyful! the mayflower staff work very hard to ensure your rooms are spotless and always clean bedding and towels too, if your thinking of going to Kos please please book with the Mayflower you will not be dissapointed, Thompsons are the only agents that you can book with to stay there.
The pool and gardens are excellent!! lots of fruit tree's and flowers and once weekly a bar-b-que this is a must and great fun with greek dancers that make this holiday so special.
And if you go into kos town they have an excellent food bar called Ideal run by costa the father and the lovely daughter Zoe there food is lush and worth every penny, and always served with a smile.
I could go on and on you must book it to realise what i'm saying is so very true.
so if your thinking of going to Kos this year then the Mayflower Tingaki is the place to stay.

Tracey & Ray Shatford Newport xxx

Room Tip: Mountain views are amazing but also the pool views are too!!!!! All rooms have kettles,microwaves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank traceyshatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Mayflower apartments in June 2012 and had a wonderful stay. The apartment was very clean and spacious, the pool facilities were excellent, and also very clean, and the hotel bar is great, with really freindly service, and even personal recommendations for things to do!
We did not eat at the hotel apart from breakfast one morning, which was excellent.
The gardens of the hotel are truly lovely.
The only minor citicism is that you have to pay 10 Euros per night for air conditioning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dapson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Just back from a week at the Mayflower and happy to echo all the other positive comments.

We had a very warm welcome from the family who could not have been more helpful during our stay. The room (206 overlooking the pool) was a good size and spotlessly clean. The pool was likewise a good size and spotless and there was never any problem getting a sunbed. A very comfortable place to relax and enjoy the sun.

Tigaki was a pleasant resort. Not your fantasy of unspoilt Greece but perfect if you want somewhere with a good selection of restaurants, some bars, shops and a safe beach.

Ironically our best days came with hiring scooters and exploring the island. We loved the beaches on the south of the island - the much vaunted Paradise Beach looked a little crowded but the ones further east were blissfully quiet, with fantastic views, the most perfect water and lovely tavernas for lunch.

We also loved going up to Zia for sunset and having dinner there - the views are great.

Kos Town is also worth exploring if you want a little livelier nightlife than Tigaki.

Our favourite restaurant in Tigaki was Plori down near the beach - fantastic staff, great food and very good value. Sagittarius was also good. Food in the supermarket seemed very expensive - restaurants were much better value, especially the breakfast at Sagittarius.

Overall a great week and highly recommend the Mayflower as a base.

Room Tip: Glad we were on the second floor. The view over the pool down to the sea was lovely but suspect the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank speedbird451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

I'm carise1's Hubby. FYI it was room 207 we stayed in and not room 205. 207 is an excellent view over the pool area. I'm guessing 205 is over the mountains. Yoy wont go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HotdogChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We have just returned from the Mayflower this week after an 11 night stay and I can honestly say I didn't think I would be missing the place so much !! What a gem of a place ! The family who run it, Elia and her husband and son - Christos and (and not forgetting Debi who works so hard !!!) are simply wonderful people and cannot do enough for you. My son Daniel who is five, left there with in his words " his new bestest friend ever Christos" !! We had a fab room, 205, overlooking the pool and in the distance, Kalymnos and also glimpses of Turkey !. The room are spotlessly clean, with beds made every day, towels changed every other day and linen twice a week ( all except Sunday - when the lovely ladies have a well deserved day off !). The pool area is great, cleaned every evening, with plenty of sunbeds and shades to go around - as there are only 22 rooms, getting a sunbed whatever time or day was never a problem. Food served there was lovely, would recommend the Mayflower Special Omelette ! But the best has to be the Greek night - fantastic food and loads of it, great music and dancing and lots of fun - we were lucky enough to be able to go twice. Our Thompson Rep - Lee was also a really nice genuine guy. Little tip for you all, when you go out of the apartments and walk into Tigaki, instead of turning first right to get on to the main road past Sunny Days Apts, carry straight on and you will come to the most amazing bakery ! we had some wonderful stuff from there and as we went a few times, the lovely lady in there started giving us freebies, cookies, pretzels etc - the bread had to be some of the nicest I have ever tasted. Tigaki is lovely , not too big or noisy with some lovely restaurants and bars. The beach is also really good with reasonably priced beds and shades. Take a trip on the Noddy train for a good little trip out too. All-in-all, our holiday at the Mayflower was lovely, and even though I had a couple of little niggles (beds quite hard, tiny shower - oh and the Mozzies !!!) I would not hesitate to recommend this lovely place and would certainly hope to return. As we were leaving from Kos airport we were talking to Lee our rep, and telling him what a lovely time we had at the Mayflower and just what a special place it was, and as he said, "It is now like we are part of the family .." and I couldn't put it better myself, staying at the Mayflower you are certainly treated as part of the family, and the best Mojitos I have ever had - Yammas Christos ! x

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Arrived early hours at the hotel and we were welcomed and invited for a drink at the bar.The room was clean and with a lovely view of the pool.The owners Elia and her husband were very helpful and the bar was organised and served great food, fully recommend the pittas Mayflower special was a must.The food and drink was reasonably priced and we ate there most days.The overall atmosphere was very friendly and there was a great mix of ages. Debbie behind the bar was a STAR and she is a great asset to the hotel.The hotel is a great base for sightseeing a short walk to the town which you can travel to many places via Tingaki express.Greek night is fun and we actually went both Mondays as we enjoyed the atmosphere and the dancing (a little audience participation is required). Cristo makes excellent mojitos and made our nights at the bar great fun.... All in all a fab hotel with great atmosphere and would recommend to anyone considering Kos .... I would return in a heartbeat Thanks again Elia Cristo and Debbie Debbie Debbie ...hope to see you again x x x x

Room Tip: Try to book a one bedroomed apartment if your a couple it just gives you alot more space than a stud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YarmJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigaki
0.3 mi away
Marianna Hotel
Marianna Hotel
#6 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Akti Dimis Hotel
Akti Dimis Hotel
#5 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.9 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tigaki's Star Hotel
Tigaki's Star Hotel
#8 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zorbas Beach Hotel
Zorbas Beach Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tigaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
5.6 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Apartments

Property: Mayflower Apartments
Address: Tigaki 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tigaki
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tigaki
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Mayflower Apartments Tigaki
Mayflower Apartments Hotel Tigaki
Mayflower Apartments Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing