We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Relaxing Holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tigaki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mayflower Apartments
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Tigaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Spent a lovely and relaxing 2 weeks in the May/June sunshine. The staff were lovely and very friendly. Our apartment overlooked the beautiful fields and mountains and was right at the other end of the building, so no noisy people walking past the door in the early hours of the morning. The apartment was basic but very clean and we had fresh towels and bedding every other day. If you are planning on using the room to make your own breakfast and cups of tea, make sure you bring your own dishcloth and washing liquid as these were not provided. The pool area was pretty quiet for the 2 weeks we were there, so there was always plenty of sunbeds free. The town and beach are only a 10 minute walk away with plenty of restaurants and bars. There is a local bus to Kos town (2 euros each way) with plenty of shops and the beautiful castle ruins. Even though there is a time table, the bus does arrive whenever it likes, so make sure you don't plan to get to Kos Town for a certain time. The sunset evening in Zia is a must - would definitely recommend Taverna Oromedon. The food there was excellent, as was the view and service. The waiters came round with jackets for the ladies who got a little chilly once the sun had gone down. We also went on the volcano experience which was lovely, but maybe not for those who aren't steady on their feet as the walk down to the volcano is a little dangerous.

So overall, a perfect place to go for a relaxing and laid back holiday but plenty to do on the days you feel like exploring the island.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a mountain view. The swimming pool view was quite noisy in the morning (according...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Minnie192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

Spent a lovely relaxing week here, 23-30th October. We travelled as a family of five. We were completely spoilt, as we were the only ones there!
It is completely true , you are treated as family... nothing is too much!
The apartments are spotlessly clean, you have clean bedding and towels every other day, FAB!
The only problem we had was that a lot of the town had already shut for winter. So very little choice to eat out.... we still managed though. A lot was to do with elia and christos, their hospitality was second to none. Not forgetting little May , their lovely dog, keeping the kids company, they enjoyed fussing her, as much as she enjoyed being fussed.
I think if you choose to book late in the season, take into consideration that a lot of the town starts closing mid October.
We still found plenty to do. The Turkey trip is worth doing. Its only 25-45 minutes by ferry. And Zia was lovely , having said this once the sun sets you need to make sure you have a warm jacket because the temperature plummets. By day we were having temperatures of 25-28.
There is a local bus , which takes you in to Kos Town for 2 euros .If you are in Kos Town , try IDEAL its elias other business that is run by her hubby and lovely daughter Zoey...
We would go back but earlier in the season so we can see and experience more.

Room Tip: 301, fab view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorcesterShall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We got back in the very early hours of today the 24th October after a two week stay at the Mayflower. Ourselves and fellow travellers arrived there late at night and were greeted by Christos with a very warm welcome. We were shown to our room and then came down to the bar for a nightcap, very much appreciated after the long journey from home. The bar is open until 2 a.m. Every good thing that has been said about the Mayflower and the owners and staff is so true. It is a lovely place run by lovely people. If you want to go into the village you will need to either like walking or hire a bicycle or a motor to get to the shops, eateries, beach etc. There is a regular bus service to Kos town and there is a timetable on the reception counter. There are plenty of travel firms on the way down to the beach, selling day trips to places like Kardamena on Kos or Bodrum, Rhodes and Bubble Beach etc. most of these firms do money exchange at a decent rates. We found out, too late, that the exchange rate was better in England. This time of year is extremely quiet in the resort as almost everything will be closed by the 31st, the end of there holiday season and quite a few of the businesses close before this but we still had some good meals out and really enjoyed the peace.

Room Tip: The apartments overlooking the pool don't get the sun until late afternoon. The rooms on the opp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holidayfriends38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have just returned from the Mayflower Apartments, this was our 6th visit, so you can tell we love it, it was just as lovely as always, great to see Elia Christos and Debbie again, they always welcome you like part of the family. We had room 103 this time, overlooking the mountains, I love that view, it is so quiet and peaceful, all the rooms are cleaned everyday, and the towels and sheets are changed regularly, the cleaning ladies are always happy and smiling, nothing is too much trouble for anyone at the Mayflower. The BBQ night on monday is always good, plenty of good food, and the greek dancers are a lot of fun. We had a few bad days while we were there, with rain and really cold winds, never thought I could go to Kos and be cold, but it didn't last long, not like here in England, the sun came back and the heat with it, so all was well. Esperos is a lovely restaurant, bit of a walk but worth it, food excellent, Spyros is another nice restaurant, the bus trip to Kos town is really good, and worth a visit. The beach in Tigaki is excellent, 6 euro for 2 beds and umbrella, but if you go to Dana taverna for lunch, you can get free beds, so worth a visit. The Mayflower is very popular so its worth booking early, it is a really lovely laid back holiday, most people go back again and again, and Elia and Christos welcome everyone, whether you are have been before or first timers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at these apartments for two weeks end of September. Elia and Christos and all the staff were wonderful and contributed to a wonderful holiday, you really become part of the family. Rooms are kept immaculate by the friendly cleaners who always greet you with a smile. BBQ night is a must, great food and dancing. I could go on and on praising this place but all the other reviews say it all. Book it and you wont be disappointed.
Special mention to friends we made whilst staying there, Jen and Morris and Nigel and Elaine, thanks for the memories:)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kristineg26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was our 3rd time at the Mayflower, yet another wonderful holiday. Really not much more to say than all the other reviews but then if they were not true would hvae not been returning for the third time. Pre this holiday had alredy booked to go back in May next year but will not be as a couple but with our two grandchildren and daughter....looking forward to that. Many thanks once again to every one at the Mayflower for the great welcome and being able to stay at these lovely apartments. By the look of the reviews better build some more, My advise book early.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Just returned from our first to the Mayflower apartments and can honestly say it was one of the best holidays we have had as a family. We were welcomed by Elia and her son Christos, who treated us like long lost friends.
The apartments themselves are well maintained and are a good size. The whole staff work tirelessly to keep the rooms, pool area and bar spotless. We stayed in room 103, which overlooked the mountains. The location of the apartments is really good, as they are a few hundreds meters to the main road down into town and beach.
There are plenty of restaurants and bars to keep you entertained in the evenings. We used Sagitarius, Vassilas and Spyros for food and there was a quality kebab fast food place.
The beach is extremely long and sandy, though it was quite windy on the 2 occasions we went there.

I used the services of Silia travel in Tingaki for a day trip to Turkey and Paradise Beach. Both days were really good value and Nicos the bus driver was really helpful and friendly.

The local bus service gave us the opportunity to travel to Kos town both in the day and night, which we all really enjoyed and at €2 per person was a bargain.

Overall I would highly recommend Kos as a place to visit and in particular the resort of Tingaki and the Mayflower Apartments. Indeed, we are already looking to return there in 2014.

Room Tip: Room 103 is on the lower ground and has stunning views of the mountains. The rooms overlooking the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rob_bailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tigaki hotels
0.3 mi away
Marianna Hotel
Marianna Hotel
#6 of 24 in Tigaki
352 reviews
2.9 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Akti Dimis Hotel
Akti Dimis Hotel
#5 of 24 in Tigaki
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tigaki's Star Hotel
Tigaki's Star Hotel
#9 of 24 in Tigaki
184 reviews
0.7 mi away
More Meni Beach
More Meni Beach
#10 of 24 in Tigaki
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#13 of 24 in Tigaki
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Apartments

Address: Tigaki 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tigaki
#1 Family Hotel in Tigaki
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Mayflower Apartments Tigaki
Mayflower Apartments Hotel Tigaki
Mayflower Apartments Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing