We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st week of season”
Review of Zorbas Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zorbas Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Tigaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2013

just returned from staying at the zorbas for 1 week. Me and my friend had a very enjoyable stay here. The accommodation is of 4 star standard with ample sized room-they do room sizes for 2,3 and family sized all with full bathroom and balcony or terrace. Rooms are only on the ground and 1st floors we had a 1st floor with balcony overlooking the sea and a small farm! The grounds are very spacious with 3 big pools plus kiddy pool sections off these.
There was a nice mixture of families, couples and groups of friends and various ages which the entertainment catered for well. 6 nights of entertainment was from the thomas cook team which they worked v hard but not a professional standard and we went to kos town 1 evening (recommended) 15 mins in taxi 16 euros or bus for 2 euros every hour but not sure what time last one back.
AI drinks as previously mentioned are ok but mixers are not! there is a handy little shop on site which sells alcohol (1.5 euro can of strongbow /guiness/corona )which they welcome u to drink whilst watching entertainment.Food was ok but not a huge variety and salad/puddings same every night.
Like to stress that this hotel whilst being on the sea front is not with anything else and it is a good 20min walk to next shops/restaurants/bars. Lots of people were hiring bikes/mopeds to get around. fantastic place to unwind with lots of peace and quiet just be prepared and at night road quite unsafe for walking as no pavement.
Having said this tigaki resort is lovely, the beach has several sections with padded sun loungers and parasols to hire 6 euros the lot! Nice little strip of tavernas and few shops. Ideal for a chilled out break in the sun!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WorcesterHelen35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
george l, Διευθυντής at Zorbas Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments.We hope to see you soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 911 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We checked trip adviser out on the reviews we wasn,t sure at first but ended up picking it anyway. Glad we did on arrival there was food and drink for us nice touch . The rooms are big are room had a sea view . The food was nice something different every day the drinks were ok good shop in hotel . The was entertainment was good in the evening , we won the bingo so enjoyed that . It was well worth the money .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Laraine333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed as a family for 7 nights 2 weeks before the hotel closed for winter. On arrival unfortunately after an hour delay at Manchester was early hours of the morning but food and drink was laid on which was a lovely touch, never experienced this being done on our previous AI holidays.
We were allocated our room on the first floor with stunning views of the sea to the left and mountain views to the right BUT the room was damp, a big patch by the door and the wardrobes smelled, for 7 nights I could put up with it, a quick squirt of deodorant avoided the smell on our clothes. A socket didn't work and I got the impression this room had not yet been renovated. After about 2 nights I spotted an army of ants by the bed and they were under the bed and night table. We pulled out the bed to find a broken glass and a straw, the ants were carrying shards of glass. We were given another room and so did a moonlight flit. The second room was great no damp or ants.
The food was very good and have no complaints, apart from the snacks were a little monotonous.

The staff were lovely but there was a marked difference in the service after about 3 days. Some of the staff were romanian but many left to go home on the saturday. The restaurant staff excellent at first changed and their attitude was terrible, they couldn't be bothered, even argued with one of the guests kicking cutlery across the floor. The tables had 4 chairs and 2 place settings, can see why but as a family of 3 had to ask for an extra setting each mealtime, maybe wrongly assumed that after a couple of days the staff would recognise us or even see THREE PEOPLE and set an extra place when we had chosen our table (as normally experienced on AI holidays). With only a few days left got fed up and began taking it off other tables, but still no effort by staff, and then clearing up also became sparse. The girl in the snack bar and two staff in the pool bar were excellent as was the reception staff and maitre de. Didn't have any problems with bar staff.

The pool was lovely but freezing so under used and would benefit from heating during the last couple of weeks, free pool towels was a bonus.

The town was also on shut down for winter with very view shops and bars open, so we ventured into Kos town.

Thomas cook entertainment team again on wind down were great in the evening but during the day only provided poolside activities once, but focused on football which was great for the guys and that was probably the reason. One of the reps (childrens) spent her evenings drinking with a group of guys but still in uniform was not a good impression. The final issue was when TC changed some guests flight times, instead of the following evening to Manchester they were changed to morning and to gatwick. They were informed by notes in rooms but no announcement by TC team, word went round the guests who then frantically going to rooms to check, however some checked thought they were staying and carried on with their evenings only to find the notes by their TVs in the small hours. The guests would have appreciated TC rep informing them of this or even a hotel announcement as it was during evening entertainment.

I went there to relax and unwind and I managed to achieve this despite the problems experienced, and because it was season end the hotel wasn't packed so sun beds were easy to obtain. The hotel was clean and I think our problems were due to the end of the season and the staff being on wind down maybe mid season I would be writing a different review.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed at Zorbas on a last minute deal during October half term with our 17yr old son. On arrival in the early hours we were lucky enough to to beat the main Thomas Cook coach to the check-in as we had booked a private transfer. This was well worth it as people from the coach were still booking in two hours later! Drinks and sandwiches were laid for the new arrivals by the hotel and were very welcome despite being around two in the morning.
The room itself was excellent, 2 bedrooms, both good sizes with plenty of wardrobe space a fridge, tv's and a really clean bathroom. Towels were changed and beds made every day, everything around the place was very clean. A/C very good.
The staff and receptionists were all very friendly and helpful despite it the last week of the season.
Food was good for a weeks stay, we found it to be slightly better at lunch than dinner for some reason but we always found something to our liking. Sweets were a little disappointing for those who like a dessert. Drinks on offer were good if you like beer, but the wine and spirits poor and the soft drinks even worse - disappointing for our 17 year old as that's all they would serve him (apart from coffee)
There is a taverna on site which alternates between Greek and Italian fare - you have to book in advance, but we found it to be served all too quickly and the food not as good as the buffet in the main restaurant.
Tigaki was pretty much closed being so late in the season but looks like there would be enough shops, bars and restaurants if you wanted to have a stroll there in the high season. It takes about 20 minutes walk and you pass some good beaches on the way,
The pools are all very clean, the main one has activities and music, the other two being quieter but all seem to have plenty of sun beds.
The entertainment was winding down being the end of the season, it was the usual offerings of quizzes, darts and pool during the day, with bingo, kids disco and the Thomas Cook reps 'entertaining' during the evening. Anyone who was there at the same time will know why these 3 girls will not be there this year!
Kos town is an absolute must, the bus stop is right outside the front entrance and only costs a couple of euros.
All in all we had a really good week, the weather was great and we would love to return in the high season when there is more to do around the island.

Room Tip: Probably best to stay away from the main pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarrieY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
george l, Manager at Zorbas Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We try to do our best and solve the problems. We want our guests to be satisfied.
We hope to see you again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

This was me and my boyfriends first holiday away and we loved it the food was brilliant!
we loved it everyday! the drinks are great and not watery at all!
The rooms very spacious and clean!
Entertainment was actually quite good to watch on a night and we wont 90 euros on bingo so we definitely enjoyed that.
The only think i would say Not about the hotel is that if you go in October you run the risk of it being a bit deserted and there not being activities.
We were highly disappointing when our trip got cancelled.This was not Thomas cooks fault though just weren't enough people.
Overall Fab holiday and hoping to go back in September!!!

Room Tip: We had one in view of the stage therefore we could sit up there and watch the shows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chloe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
george l, Manager at Zorbas Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Dear quest

Staff and management would like to thank you for your comments,
and we hope to see you again this year.

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We travelled at the end of aug/beginning of sept. This was mine and my girlfriends first holiday away together. After seeing this hotel in the travel agent, we fell in love with the images and description straight away. We read reviews like you do but felt that people were perhaps being petty and so we booked the holiday asap!

As we were travelling in the late evenining, we didnt reach the hotel till the early hours of the morning. To our suprise we were greated with two receptionists, both of which processed everything quickly but without lacking a sense of humour and welcome. We were also given a free sandwich (not much but it was appreciated!) and drinks on arrival (even though it was like 2am!). The room was very clean and plenty big enough for the two of us. TV worked but you only got BBC news as an english channel, but who comes on holiday to watch tv!? Loads of room on the balcony and a great view looking back toward Tingaki and the sea. We spent a couple of evenings just admiring the views. Beds were quite firm but we preferred this. Ask for another pillow though! You get one but its not great on its own.

Hotel in general was very clean! Plenty of space to sit around inside the reception if you wish. There are three pools, one is family, one is family but quieter and then an adult pool (which you have to find as it is to the side of the hotel). We spent most of our time around the adult pool for the relaxation and peace. There was no noise from the family pool and the views over looking the sea were brill! No complaints of vehicle noise or the smell of exhausts (people must have actually been sitting on the road in previous reviews!) What we saw of the family pool, it was clean and well looked after. Snack and drinks bar are around the family and adult pool and we used these for basic bites to eat inbetween meals. Food is fairly basic from these but definitely did the job when we felt peckish but didnt fancy the hassle of sitting down in the restaurant.

One of our major worries was the standard of food after reading other reviews. We felt the food was excellent considering it is produced on a big scale. People cant expect to go to Greece and be served with burger and chips everyday! Fresh bread available for every meal, food was reguarly replaced in the buffet and there is a chef cooking a special throughout the dinner sitting. The variety was great, the area was clean and the Maitre D is so friendly and welcoming. He was one of the factors that made our holiday! Talking to all the guests, ensuring they were happy with everything about the hotel (not just the meal) and smiled all the time! Drinks... Now this was probably one of the only things the hotel could improve. I dont think it was watered down but was probably of a value quality. The beer was good, however the wine, spirits and soft drinks all tasted a bit like a supermarkets own brand. We didnt let this deter us but it could have been better and if it is a massive problem there is a shop next door to the hotel selling big bottles of soft drinks for a euro. The only other dissapointment was that after 11pm the bar charged for drinks, but we just stocked up on evening drinks before this and didnt find it a problem. The bar does get very busy though so leave some time to do it!

Tingaki itself is a great little town. After a recommendation on the plane, we went to Mascot bar in Tingaki on more than one occasion for the evening, with great music, atmosphere and staff, this also was one of the highlights of the holiday. There is a big supermarket at the top of tingaki that sells pretty much everything a lot cheaper than the UK but I would recommend using the bus to get there from the hotel, or a taxi for a couple of euros. I walked it one day and it took about 45mins to get there (knakered!). Outside the hotel the beach isnt great and its definitely not much bigger than a couple of metres in depth, but its only a 15min walk up to where the main beach starts. This is cleaner, brighter and there are plenty of places offering sunbeds for a couple of euros if you fancy it. Also it is worth taking a trip to Kos town for some shopping and to have a look around the beautiful harbour.

Overall we thought the holiday was excellent! We have both been on plenty of holidays prior to this but we felt for value, this was one of the best hotels and holidays to date! Depending on what time of year you travel to Tingaki will determine whether you have problems with mosquitos. Later on in the season, the salt lakes have dried up so we didnt have a problem with mosquitos. If you travel earlier however, you should seriously consider taking protection and scents you can put in the room to deter them.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea-view room and although the rooms dont actually face the sea, they give a great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
george l, Manager at Zorbas Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear guests

Staff and management thank you for your good comments.

We hope to see you again at our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Not a good start but did get better, check in a nightmare Thomas cook flight delayed then had to wait outside of the hotel for 2 hours to check in only 2 staff on .they did lay on sarnis and drinks, 4.10 am hen we fianlly got in our room. . getting better room excellent all new good size. up in the morning looked out beautiful veiw pool, sea, fields farms and mountains,looked very quiet just what we wanted. food was average could have been hotter , but always something for everyone the puddings were very good and the breafast was excellent.

the hotel very nice clean and 3 great pools ,the adult pool was very good tho cold but own bar and music stayed there every day when the sun was shinning. hired some bikes and rode to Kos lovely town beautiful bars and shops not expensive , Tigaki village was very quiet and mostly all shut up for the winter it was like a ghost town nice to walk round ,tree up on tree of fruit oranged pomegrantes lemons and limes .the beach in the village was very good and the one across the road from the hotel very small but the sea was brillaint we swam in it every day very clean . You could see Turkey from the beach. The hotel was just as discribed in the brochure the alacart resturant was very good you could eat there every night Greek one night then Itailian. Now for let it down ,Thomas cook reps { the entertainment team } there behaviour was appaulling drunk, swearing simulating sex in the pool, throwing sunbeds in the pool all this on thier last night, not ours we had 2 more days and nights and all in front of all the children they had been enternaining durung the week all this happened before 9pm. This left no reps in the hotel [we were told at the welcome meeting they would be there till we went home thursday evening ] this wasnt the case . Also the hotel started to closed down on the monday puting tables away parasols and even removing fire hydrants {health ansd Safety} from out side our rooms the buses stopped running to kos as of the Tuesday. . . the hotel did there best to help guest by puting on 1 bus a day. lovely hotel met some lovely people and will keep in touch , would like to go back if Thomas Cook sort thier Reps out many people complained and we are still waiting for an outcome to our complaint.

Room Tip: ask for a qiuet room at teh back looking towards the sea and adult pool if you are a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank darvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigaki
1.9 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
7.5 mi away
Sun Palace Resort & Spa
Sun Palace Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Psalidi
719 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akti Dimis Hotel
Akti Dimis Hotel
#5 of 24 in Tigaki
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
8.4 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,511 reviews
8.2 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zorbas Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zorbas Beach Hotel

Address: Tigaki 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tigaki
#5 Family Hotel in Tigaki
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tigaki
Price Range: £63 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zorbas Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zorbas Beach Hotel is an elegant 4* hotel resort set directly on the beach with excellent sea views and beautiful gardens. The hotel is conveniently located in quiet surroundings, in the popular area of Tigaki, 8 km from Kos town and 18 km from Kos International Airport. Directly in front of the hotel there is a public bus stop with a regular daily bus schedule to Kos town. Zorbas Beach Hotel is the ideal place for relaxation and a great starting point for magnificent island explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Zorbas Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zorbas Beach
Zorbas Beach Tigaki
Zorbas Beach Hotel Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing