We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zorbas Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zorbas Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Tigaki
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

I've just spent a week at Zorbas with my teenage daughter, we have travelled the world and stayed in a number of 5 star hotels but this was without doubt the best break we have ever had , the hotel, staff, food and entertainment were all excellent , we spent most of the week by the pool but ventured into Kos town twice during the day just to shop and sightsee , its a really easy journey but go by bus not taxi , the other guests were a mix of Europeans but there were plenty of really nice English people there too ( I appreciate that the English are Europeans too !) I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definately return next year.The beach is literally the other side of the road in front of the hotel and the sunsets are amazing. There are two large pools neither of which ever gets overcrowded and a third shallow pool for small children.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoshboyPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    338
    104
    18
    12
See reviews for
330
322
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

Just returned from Zorbas beach and have to say what a great time we had. This Hotel had some bad press on Trip Advisor from some people and I can't think why. The Hotel is clean, spacious, with well kept gardens. The pools are a nice size and are cleaned every morning, plent of sunbeds available although a few people chose to save their beds from 6 o'clock in the morning when there really is no need!
All of the staff are friendly and work really hard especially the bar staff. Drinks are fine especially the white wine which if you're not careful will have you wobbling to bed!( I can talk from experiance more than once)
Weather was fantastic as we had a breeze in the second week which made it feel a little cooler which was lovely. Food in the Hotel is good and we always found something to eat, very traditional Greek food which was nice but they also serve internation dishes to cater for everyone. A quick mention to our rep Vicky who went out of her way to help us with a proplem that she sorted wthout a fuss. Well done Vicky!!
We walked into Tingaki a few times and this is a 20 minute stroll and is well worth doing, plenty of shops, restaraunts and bars that are open all day.We ate in the Versallis restaraunt in town as did a few other guests and the food in there is good, reasonably priced with a childrens menu. Also ate in one of the many snack bars and had Giros, this is a large Greek mixed Kebab and you don't need chips with it as I did bcause you will need to lay down afterwoulds!!
If yo do go to this Hotel please remember that is not Egypt and life is a little slower, recharge your batteries and enjoy!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank obiwan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

Arrived late at night, met with a friendly smile from Christos/Reception who accomodated us with perfect room - sea view/pool. Room was a nice size -spacious, cleaned every day, linen & towels daily changed. Don't do that at home ,do we? Air con/hairdryer/coffee/mini fridge in room - well pleased with that. Breakfast consisted of a large selection to cater all needs from fresh bread, toast,/cereal/yogurts/fruit/full English brekkie/pancakes. Can't complain with that, plus juices/cold water/coffee on tap. If you think it lacks choice, remember what you have for brekkie back home - no 5 courses there!! 10am - Opa, opa, Chico time starts for kids. Adult chill time starts! Mini club starts - lovely Momo & Tanya there for our kids and Chico tries to get the unfit fit with gym workout, aqua aerobics,water polo. Lovely clean pools - main one, kid's, jacuzzi and a beach facing one - daily cleaned! Lunch and evening meals are NOT German based which some raters believe. My Greek knowledge saw lots of Greek dishes - all well cooked and NOT recycled like some AI hotels do. There ARE lots of choices and for fusspot kids/adults - chips,pasta, sauces,soup, salads will keep you going. Again, drinks brought to your tables by friendly staff. Please appreciate them, they are international students doing work placements so don't earn much but work damn hard.
Evening entertainment is run mainly by one guy - Chico. Keep an open mind, see it as plain fun; keeps our kids going with mini disco, plus his very amateur shows do make you laugh and are non-offensive. If you don't like them, go to Tingaki/Kos town.Plenty of entertainment but you pay for drinks there. Drinks in hotel are local branded, if you are like me, who always buys cheap plonk back home(£3 wine from aldi), you can't complain.
The beach opposite hotel is narrow, but I felt like Shirley Valentine - had my own strip of beach, own tree/parasol/bed and the views were lush. Kids loved it. NOT sardinefied on a busy beach. If you want that, just stroll up to main Tingaki beach - lovely there, too.
I only did Greek night at Fantasia in Zia with Thomas Cook which was brill - plenty of food and wine on tap. Other visits I did on my own.Worked out better and cheaper.
To sum up my hol - I was chilled, had no problems with this hotel, loved meeting people from other countries - made loads of friends and yes, I got up a little early to put my towel down but I can't blame the Germans as I've been doing it as well as every other English person for 30 years !! Those who complained about this hotel, must have gone to a different hotel to me!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunsmilesonme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

Just returned from Zorbas and could go back again.

It was a clean friendly hotel, mixed nationalities, but no problems, all having a good time. Efficient staff from across Europe mostly Polish, but all very friendly, and very helpful. Rooms were more than adequate for sleeping and showering, and good air conditioning for a change!! Kettle in the rooms, but no water provided in fridge.

No problems with getting sunbeds round the pools, you can choice the lively pool or the quiet pool, by the beach. Livley pool has a bar, but the quiet doesn't. No probs only a minute walk between the 2.

Food was of good quality, and lots of it. Yes, there was chips on every day, as well as meat dish and fish dish, there was a different selection every night, some nights focusing on Italian, Greek and lots of choice for meat eaters as well as Veggies.

Entertainment, was typical all inclusive, mainly "Chico" "Hey Hey Hey" a walking talking 1 man show. Oopa Oopa the club dance perfromed at last 4 times through the course of the day. Tanja at mini club was wonderful, my daughter was sad to leave her, and Momo the dj was a nice fella.

Went for a walk to Tigaki 20 minutes, loads of bars and restaurants we tried Vsallis for a change and had a great meal for 3 for 40 Euro. Also tried the snack bar one lunch time along the front, and was nice to have a change.

Trips we went to the waterpark, paradise beach, and a boat trip which was very rough.

Would I go back again, yes! It was nice to be at an all in that wasn't massive unlike some of the others on Kos.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbyb70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

What can we say...the place, people and other holiday makers made our holiday, from the maids to the bar staff to the 'fabulous' Miss Cheeko....lol
The rooms were cleaned daily fresh sheets on beds every day, clean towels every day, except Sundays. Modern and bright rooms, with nice veiws, ours overlooked the Pool Bar and landscapped gardens, near the tennis courts.
General worst point was the menu's for the day, maily EURPOEAN food....what is this???
We dont all want fish and chips out of a paper, or Mc Donalds every day, but it would of been nice to of eaten GREEK FOOD MORE THAN ONCE A WEEK. EVERY SATURDAY.
As a chef, i of course moaned, to the lack of greek food, and was nicely suprised that the greek food went on small ammounts daily from my initial asking. Salt was also a big issue....how much did they put in the EUROPEAN food....TONS....
Hope fully there has been change that will continue.
As for value for money.....the euro was at €1.09 TO THE £1.00 coffee out of the hotel was €2.00 = £1.83 so work it out for your self, it was dearer to NOT go ALL inclusive. Then all that searching for Resturants .......Here it was all on your door step ice cream, coffee, afternoon cakes and soft drinks or alcoholic drinks. Brilliant.
Entertainment...good, daft, fun.....mainly because we entered into the fun of it all, and did the Miss Zorbas Beach comp and the Mr and Mrs Comp, and in true British spirit....WE WON........
We made loads of new friends form all nationality's and won the hearts of many, as we were always up for a good song, dance and laugh...
Cheeko and the team worked hard and never stopped to take breath before they wanted you to learn a new skill...Bouls...and other things.
well just miss the easyness of the day's there.....
Breakfast....
Swim.....
Coffee.....
Swim......
Soft Drink....
We could go on for ever....
Go try your self...have fun enjoy as we did ......
See you next time at Zorbas Beach Hotel.......

Swim.........

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laineyw999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

First trip to Kos, and what a great Island, friendly, relatively undeveloped, max two storey buildings, clean and safe,I have been to many Greek Islands and mainland too but really loved this place the most
First time "All Inclusive", so here goes...........
YES I would do the same again,
Made decision to go all inclusive based on need to control finances (concerns around pound to Euro exchange) of family of four with teenage kids who eat full meals, and I confess ,oldest one drinks a little too.
The food is of a good to acceptable standard mostly, although frankly, better for those who prefer healthy options and mediterranean style, rather than pseudo English.
We chose to dine out four or five times over the two weeks, which may at first seem to defeat the "all inclusive" idea but, consider your favourite restaurant at home, now imagine going there for three meals a day for two weeks (get my drift) no matter how good it is you will want a change, and you will have a much better Holiday if you break it up a little, and eat out sometimes (its not expensive).
Spirits were not of the highest quality, but the beer was fine and wine quite palatable and must have represented £30 to £40 per day in value to our family ! (couple bottles of wine per day and a few beers and soft drinks, along with teas and coffees, plus teenager ! ).
The Hotel is of a very good standard and well maintained, rooms are fresh and modern with air-conditioning (essential in high summer) T.V. etc, we had a particularly nice location overlooking the front pool and beach, and huge balcony so may be a little biast.
The pools are top quality and a delight, well maintained (I swam early every morning and witnessed the Pool Man doing his stuff) . The grounds are spacious , mature and well designed,which adds to the feeling of the place being quite oppulent, Just had flash back to when we first arrived, having already watched from the coach window as several other groups disembarked at their Hotel / Appartment, we were ecstatic with the appearance of Zorbas.
We read other blogs before we left and noted the negative remarks about the Hotel being German dominated. "How Sad", it is truly a European venue, we made great friends with, Germans, Danish, Iranians, Polish,Chinese,Swedes,French, even Welsh !. Come on Brits, "That War" was a long time ago now...........
The entertainment programme is all by one amazing man called "chicco"(zulu zulu). I swear that in any other place there would be four people to do his job.
From morning reveille (a highlight) to aqua aerobics and sports, to kids entertainer to evening M.C. and Fire Eater, he does it all, and bravely !
However, it does soon wear thin and there is a real need for a little "outside help" on a couple of nights a week.
People tend to dress "up" a little in the evenings which gave the whole place a civilised sort of feel, in fact there is a notice requesting Gentlemen not to wear shorts at Dinner, however, I think that what they really mean is not swimming trunks, and the smart shorts that were mainly worn looked a whole lot classier than the jeans that the few who sought to comply with the long trouser rule wore.
The Staff are a cross section of International students and local Greeks, their hours of work are long and their days off few ! . Yet, they were the nicest, smiliest bunch with little exception and make a huge contribution to Customer happiness.

Negative points about the Hotel.........Yes the food could easily be better, Entertainment is truthfully, poor. The Gym is a maintenance disgrace.

We chose to book our trips through Tigaki Tours near the main roundabout in Tingaki, Thekla,a lovely German lady sorted us out a good deal, and all three,
Island Hop, Bodrum and Zia sunset were a great success, in fact unmissable.

I would recommend, "The Mall" restaurant and Bar in Tingaki, great food and lovely people. and watching the sunset from the first floor restaurant terrace is heaven.
The Car hire next door to the Hotel is run by a lady called Sandy, who is the real "salt of the Earth" and will look after you with honesty and humour.(tell her you know Kevin and Steve)
My only regret about this holiday......................................................
I am not still there xxx

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sundancerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

Stayed there 2nd July-16th July 09

GOOD POINTS:
- Christos bartender very friendly and nice but he had to go home for family probs towards our second week and it wasnt the same without him!
- The pools were clean and spacious, quiet pool had amazing views of the sea and neighbouring islands.
- Some staff were really friendly and always had a smile on their face, henry being one and the morning receptionist.
- Good range of alcohol
- Rooms were big and always cleaned by maid... we stayed rooms 253 and 254 which was 2nd floor opposite the pool bar so full view of the main pool.
- Bus stopped right outside the hotel. (1euro80 for a single to Kos, 13euros for taxi)
- Beach opposite clean and quiet.
- Deffinately recommend hiring bikes for the week from Nancy's next door to the hotel, only 20 euros for the week and great way to get around.

BAD POINTS:
- FOOD - probably the worst all inclusive food buffet Ive stayed in... Breakfast was the same thing everyday with not much fresh fruit and the chef selection was pancakes everyday! Lunch and dinner was pasta,rice,chips with meats(low quality) which were made in practically the same sauces every night... only meal which we actually enjoyed was a chefs spaghetti carbonara one night... salads never looked fresh either and bread was always hard!
- Some staff just simply looked like they did not want to be there, always miserable like we were an unconvenience to them.
- Located 2km from Tingaki and 9miles from Kos so kind of in the middle of no where.
- Entertainment was crap with the main guy doing the same old thing every night.
- Hotel full of rude Germans.

Overall good hotel, would go there again if there were more english guests and the food significantly improved!

Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank krazycountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigaki
7.5 mi away
Sun Palace Resort & Spa
Sun Palace Resort & Spa
#10 of 21 in Psalidi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.9 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Akti Dimis Hotel
Akti Dimis Hotel
#5 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
2.5 mi away
The Aeolos Beach Hotel
The Aeolos Beach Hotel
#9 of 52 in Kos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tigaki's Star Hotel
Tigaki's Star Hotel
#8 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zorbas Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zorbas Beach Hotel

Property: Zorbas Beach Hotel
Address: Tigaki 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tigaki
#5 Family Hotel in Tigaki
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zorbas Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zorbas Beach Hotel is an elegant 4* hotel resort set directly on the beach with excellent sea views and beautiful gardens. The hotel is conveniently located in quiet surroundings, in the popular area of Tigaki, 8 km from Kos town and 18 km from Kos International Airport. Directly in front of the hotel there is a public bus stop with a regular daily bus schedule to Kos town. Zorbas Beach Hotel is the ideal place for relaxation and a great starting point for magnificent island explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zorbas Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zorbas Beach
Zorbas Beach Tigaki
Zorbas Beach Hotel Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing