We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a lovely place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tigaki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Agrotica Apartments
Ranked #13 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Tigaki
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I have just returned home from my holiday at the agrotica apartments.The apartments are basic but clean.The place may not be for everyone as it is about a 20 minute walk into town along country lanes.
The pool area is excellent with plenty sunbeds for everyone and wonderfull views while you sunbathe,Mountains one side and the sea and salt lakes in the distant the other.
The pool bar was cheaper than in town and did very good food.
What really made our holiday was madina the lady who runs the place with her family,She is tireless.She is working from early til late keeping the gardens tidy,working in the kitchen manning the bar and she is in her 70s.She speaks little english but is so friendly it is easy to understand her and be understood.
Would i return here? Yes i wish i was there now.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyjoyce2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

The first thing that strikes you about the Agrotica Apartments is the beautiful pool area.

The next is the fact that all the other guests have stayed their several times before and who can blame them? It's likely we will also return.

The apartments are basic but clean. The beds were very comfortable which was good since both my partner and I have bad backs.

Marina, the owner and mama to the family is extremely hardworking and friendly. She struggles with English but you can still make yourself understood.

She makes a mean Greek salad and her tsatsiki is divine. Word of warning, if you order chips you will get a MASSIVE portion.

You aren't allowed your own food and drinks around the pool but since the prices at the pool bar are very reasonable that's not a problem unless you're a complete tight fist.

Tigaki is a 25 min walk away or a 5 min bike ride. We hired bikes which were cheap and we much preferred cycling as we created our own breeze. The walk was a very hot one in July.

Tigaki is lovely. The restaurants are mostly brilliant. We particularly liked Spyros but it's extremely easy to get excellent Greek food almost anywhere.

We were very sad to leave and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicolaJane1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Just arrived bk from a week in these apts.
1. Large apts
2. Massive pool
3. Lovely family and the grand mother is very friendly and the cats adopt if u feed them!!
4. In desperate need of air con. These apts are located about a mile outside the center in the middle of farm land. Mosquitoes were a nitemare and all we were offered was a fan for 10 euro!!! which was useless. Spoke to most guests and all commented the same The rooms at night felt like a prison cell, dark and hot as to open door and turn light on meant being eaten alive!! This almost spoilt the holiday as sleep deprivation is not what we went away for!!! A basic mosquito net over the door so they could be left open would have been good!!
4. the walk along death highway is a good fifteen minutes before you hit the very top of Tigaki strip and this becomes very dangerous at night. We suggest hire a car.
However on the plus side we recommended these activities whist in Kos
1. Salt Lake Stables (just left and about ten mins from hotel) - Run by Jenie and Yarris magnificent evening horse riding on the beach watching the sunset, and free drinks when you get bk!!!
2. From Kos town get a galley. We booked the boat Eva, smaller and more expensive 40 euro each but well worth it. They only allow thirty people on board and the day lasted 8 hrs watching dolphin's, private bay for swimming and the best BBQ ever!!!! We were made to feel like royalty, plus capt Savvas and crew were amazing.
3. Bodrum - book the trip in Kos for 15 euro and take the fast cat over. Fantastic day.
4. Zia - mountain village about fifteen min drive from Tigaki. We went to the first restaurant on the right and had the most amazing views of the sunset with great food and drink. We spoke to a few who went to the reps greek night close by and were told this was very expensive and not a good night.
5. Therma pool - worth an hour visit but smaller than we were expecting and a fair walk down the mountain and along the rocky beach (good footwear needed!!)
6. Paradise beach - lovely and some good water sports
7. Banana beach (Tegaki) - nudist beach but very cool place!!
8 Some eateries in Tegaki we recommend are Angela Apts say hello to Paul fantastic breakfast. Bar 69 near the top of the strip lovely meal and they looked after us.
9. Most bars and resturants offer free wifi

All in all a great holiday let down due to air con. Hire a car is best advice and explore. Not as expensive as we thought Greece would be and you could eat and drink very well for two for 40 Euro's!!! Be aware of powercuts as only those place with generators and open grills keep going but fun as part of Greece life.

A fun thing to do is to spot the cow.....we found one waiting for a shower on the beach!!!!

Although this may seem like a negative review with air con the holiday would have been completely different!!!!

Room Tip: Take lots and lots and lots of repellent and nets to sleep!!! or book a hotel with air con!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcandLauraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

It's the fourth time I've been to the Agrotica and despite the financial climate in Greece the place was the same, thankfully, I agree with some of the recent comments about the place needing an update, it is a slow process and there's only the family, so if you don't see much of an improvement maybe look elsewhere and pay that little bit more. The rule about bringing your own food or drinks to the pool may seem a little unfair, but it is the only way the owner makes a little money for the pool's upkeep. We've just met some lovely people who like us have been a couple of times, and there's no doubt we'll keep in touch. The noticeable changes in Tigaki are the shop and restaurant closures. Still plenty of choice and some regulars are still there. It's a sign of the times.

Room Tip: All rooms offer the same facilities, however, if you travel in a group of 4 to 6 then you need rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matron134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My girlfriend and I were here in 2008, June/July and I have to say it was a lovely peaceful apartment complex to stay in. With only ten apartments it was seccluded but lovely. The walk into town was a little far after 2 weeks but we hired bikes and found the ride in very easy...all be it slightly tricky after a few pints on the way home! Overall I'd stay here again. Clean and lovely Maria (I think her name was) who spoke no English but somehow always knew what you wanted!!! :)

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank DannDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We was made to feel very wecome on arrival from madina ,the pool area is excellant rooms are ok and clean two balconys front and rear ,there is no one looking onto you ,it is a good 25 mins walk into town ,as i said before madina and her family were very friendy the drinks and food around the pool area were a good price, we had a good relaxing holiday and will return again


teresa and paul :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thornii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

we came on holiday to relax, not to be harrassed by the owner to buy drinks when trying to relax by the pool side. On the first day, my husband accidently brought a bottle of his own water (not purchased by the pool side) and the owner made a huge scene, shouting at him to get off her pool area in front of some other residents (there is a sign but to be fair but it was our first day there and we were not aware of this before she came storming over). While the pool side is by far the best feature of these appartments, we felt extremely uncomfortable to relax there for the remainder of the week as the owner only seemed interested in showing us her shabby menu cards and checking our bags for food/water that we may have 'smuggled' to the pool side without her noticing-we are honest hardworking people, we don't need to be treated like this when on holiday.
The apartments are very run down and gloomy, we hired a fan (for 10 euro) which was filthy with dirt. The sanitary bins were not emptied for 4 days which is rather disgusting (we ended up just putting the bag outside the front door for them to take away) and the mattresses in the beds were the worst we have every slept on.
we go to the greek islands at least once a year and have been to greece about 15 times now and this is by far the worst place we have every stayed...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazza78dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tigaki hotels
3.4 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Golden Sun Apartments
Golden Sun Apartments
#18 of 24 in Tigaki
18 reviews
3.1 mi away
Labranda Marine Aquapark Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
More Meni Beach
More Meni Beach
#11 of 24 in Tigaki
115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Akti Dimis Hotel
Akti Dimis Hotel
#5 of 24 in Tigaki
251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marianna Hotel
Marianna Hotel
#6 of 24 in Tigaki
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agrotica Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agrotica Apartments

Address: Tigaki, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Tigaki
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Agrotica Apartments Hotel Tigaki
Agrotica Apartments Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing