We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it so much we are probably going to book for next year!”
Review of Mythos Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tigaki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mythos Apartments
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Tigaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I landed back at 3am today and I'm so keen I'm writing this now :)

In a nutshell:

Tigaki, Kos is a small resort only 20 minutes from the small Kos airport (40 minute transfer with other Thomson drop-offs)

33 degrees in August - we saw one cloud in 7 days! Kos also has a lovely breeze across the island which makes it much more bearable.

The Mythos apartment rooms are comfortable and clean with cool stone floors.

There is a two ring hob and basic cutlery and crockery but we ate out every night, so didn't use the hob.

Set back a few yards off the busy road made it very quiet yet if you want something livelier there are some bars on the main street.

Great maid service everyday except Sunday, fresh towels everyday if needed.

Good quiet air-con in each room for 83 Euros per week.

Kostas the afternoon/evening bar man was great fun,we had a great laugh with him and his team, there isn't a drink he doesn't know!

Mythos is one half apartments and one half taverna which we ate at two nights as it was one of the best places to eat anyway - try the Moussaka :)

There were plenty of sun beds available and it was a lovely relaxed atmosphere not the mayhem to grab sun beds that you get in some places! The Greek people are relaxed and friendly and it shows.

The nearby sandy beach is great - a mile long with water sports available, its a very shallow beach and very safe for kids although this does mean that the snorkelling is a bit dull as there isn't much to see! If the wind is up then you can even body board a bit too.

What i loved most about Mythos is that it is a family run place (Helen is the friendly old lady who works on reception) and also that there were all sorts of people there - families both young and teenage - a honeymoon couple, single partents, and even a couple of single travellers too. Ebetyon got on, hey werent rowdy but we all had fun and banter together.

I hope you enjoy you stay as much as we did :)

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are great for families, although the other rooms have a beach view (over some waste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DJLJinnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

These apartments are in the perfect location! Very close to beach, restaurants, cafes, shops and bus stop to Kos. It was all so easy! Fresh bread and donuts across the road, the sea literally a few minutes walk, it was not too busy at the resort or the hotel and you could always get a sun bed. The pool was nice and not noisy at all. We ate in the hotel restaurant and at others in the vicinity and it was all good. The best restaurant is the last one as you turn left at the end of the road by the roundabout. Best food and best prices! The apartments were kept very clean and were spacious for our needs. The staff were always helpful. We had a "hamam" which was a bit of a disappointment as it was like a conveyor belt so I would advise going first thing in the morning so you have your full time. They were right though, we did not burn and tanned nicely!!!
Good outdoor entertainment too at the Hamam gardens. All in all a fantastic relaxing holiday in a superb location.!

Room Tip: You want to be above ground level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank judymaragnaCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I spent many happy summers island hopping in Greece avoiding the package experience but with a young child priorities change...Thomson I have to say have a great set of apartments in Mythos. As an avid reader of every Tripadvisor review before booking the holiday, the general consensus is correct , apartments small but functional, optional air con, very effective ( slept with a blanket), excellent maid service who were very efficient. Quiet and not at all noisy. All the staff including as frequently mentioned Costas were very helpful,friendly and genuine. The apartments are very near the beach and a plethora of good to excellent restaraunts. It's not back packing and minimilist but with a young family a good subsitute, so if like me you hanker for the Greek experience but with a young family, give this one a go.

Room Tip: We had room 15' 1 bedroom apartment with a balcony overlooking the sea. Quiet and perfectly ade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gholli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stayed at the Mythos Apartments end of July 2012 for two weeks.
I was very impressed with the apartment. It was basic but very clean and modern looking for a Greek apartment. They swimming pool area is nice and relaxed the pool was nice and checked by the staff several times during the day. The bar staff were really ace Kostas 1 and 2 were really friendly and spoke good English. The restaurant is really good too. When you walk out of the complex you are in a great location right in the middle of the main strip. It has a supermarket next door. You can even get your feet eaten by fish opposite the supermarket. The beach is really nice with comfy sun loungers only a 2 minute walk down the road. The main strip has lots of Taverna’s to chose from and a few shops. It kept us busy for two weeks. I would recommend Tigaki for all ages it’s not clubby but there are several bars to go to in the evening. The apartments have live music on once a week which was a good evening. The Thomson rep is one of the best I have ever met. Lee made our holiday so much more special, even on his day off came to say good bye to us when we left.

Room Tip: we stayed in apartment 15 which was quiet at night and close to the pool and a good view from the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This was our 3rd visit to these beautiful apartments, it was like going home all the staff came to welcome us back i was amazed they remembered our names, as it had been 2 years since our last visit, we had a double bedroom apartment, it was spacious with a fab view overlooking the pool, the food in the resturant was well worth the money average meal for the 3 of us was 35 euros, the maids cleaned our rooms everyday except sunday, the beach is 2 min walk from the apartment, it is well situated in the main road of tingaki you have to enter the apartments through the resturant so its very quiet the room are double glazed with air con, so they are lovely and cool and you get no noise at all kostas the barman was fab couldnt do enough for us, all the staff were the same, we went on a sunset trip to the zia mountains thats brill fab view of the island only costs 8 euros, book your trips over the road there is a money exchange and and they do loads of trips louse who runs it is lovely she was a real help, all in all we had a fab holiday if you have kids or not go to these lovely apartments you wont be disappointed the greek people all make you feel so welcome we will holiday here again and again i have had holidays all over europe but nowhere compares to the mythos

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice no matter where you are
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brian-Game
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Just had 7 days here. The apartment was excellent, very clean (as was the whole complex) and comfortable. We stayed in room 10, one of the two bedroomed apartments, it was very spacious and although we initially had some misgivings about being next to the bar area (as we wanted our 6 year old to sleep!) we found that by hiring the air conditioning and shutting the balcony doors to his room the noise was negligible and he slept well.... Yes you do have to pay extra for air conditioning but this is balanced out by the fact there is a free safe in the room. The kitchen area is small and there were only two rings to cook on, but i did not expect an oven and hey I was on holiday!!!! there is an excellent bakery opposite and we have fresh croissants every day for breakfast plus these apartments are right in the heart of things (please don't let that put you off as the complex is off the road and you would have no idea that you are in the heart of Tigaki as you don't hear any noise) so there are plenty of eating places nearby. Overall we found the staff very pleasant, the cleaners excellent and thoughtful (i was given extra pillows without even asking when the cleaner noticed I had put a towel under my pillow) and the location of the apartments brilliant, Tigaki, itself is a one street town with a wonderful beach (only a couple of minutes walk away from the apartments), there are plenty of restaurants,bars (none of them too tacky!) and supermarkets. I would not hesitate staying here again )

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mehubby_2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

the mythos apartments were top quality as far as style and decor,however trying to cook any type of meal would be nigh on impossible;with only 2 rings and no grill or toaster.You do get a small kettle however.Air con is an extra at 6 euros per unit,therefore a one bedroom apartment which has 2 units is 12 euros per night.the pool area is great but we seem to have attracted the german style towel on the sunbeds people,and they get up very early to nab the best ones.with daily change of linen(except sunday) and towels,you are well pampered.located 100 yards from the square,this is a wonderfully located hotel.

Room Tip: if you go in july or august you willneed air con,and take plenty of mosquito repellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tigaki hotels
0.4 mi away
Marianna Hotel
Marianna Hotel
#7 of 24 in Tigaki
353 reviews
2.9 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Akti Dimis Hotel
Akti Dimis Hotel
#5 of 24 in Tigaki
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
More Meni Beach
More Meni Beach
#11 of 24 in Tigaki
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Sun Apartments
Golden Sun Apartments
#18 of 24 in Tigaki
18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tigaki's Star Hotel
Tigaki's Star Hotel
#9 of 24 in Tigaki
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mythos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mythos Apartments

Address: Tigaki, Tigaki 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tigaki
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tigaki
Number of rooms: 274
Also Known As:
Mythos Apartments Tigaki
Mythos Apartments Hotel Tigaki
Mythos Apartments Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing