We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't let the outside put you off”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mythos Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tigaki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mythos Apartments
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Tigaki
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Don't let the outside put you off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here a few times with family and this time was just as good. Its family run so very friendly. Cleanliness is to a high standard throughout the apartments, definitely take the air con because it is really uncomfortable at night since the temperature is close to 30c! Only one issue and that was our towels were not changed for the whole week that we stayed there. If you are staying in room 21 you can still get the wi-fi signal from the reception, which is free, if you are out on the balcony. Very close to the beach and restaurants are just a few steps outside the apartments

Room Tip: Room 21. You can still get the wi-fi from reception out on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    68
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
137
149
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Like some of the other reviews, when you first arrive the outside isn't promising but inside it is a lovely environment- apartments surrounding a gorgeous pool. If you arrive in the evening it is lit and is soo inviting after a long journey. We knew we would need air conditioning- the cost for 2 weeks for a 2 bed apartment was €168 which nearly made my eyes pop out. Far too expensive in addition to the cost of the holiday but totally essential in August otherwise prepare to be eaten alive by mosquitos. Once you've got over that time to enjoy scrummy cocktails- the B52 was my favourite and delicious food. Some of the restaurants just a few metres down the road were amazing. Meni being the best- not a traditional taverna but food to die for- We tried chicken solvaki and chicken with garlic, pork tenerlions, lamb shanks- all amazing. We also particularly liked Nisiotiko- really friendly waiters, great traditional food and pizzas.
Becki the Thomson rep was very helpful and informative- don't just stick with Thomson trips though, there are loads of alternative companies down the main road who offer the same trips at better prices. We did go to Nissros with Thomson and had a good tour guide. It is worth going to stand in the volcano crater and to see a lovely quaint village called Nikia. If you want quaint and unspoilt do not go to Zia. Yes, the sunset is lovely but you spend the whole time being pestered by people trying the sell you souvenirs. We hired a car which was great fun and got to see some lovely little beaches- a great experience.
The 2 bed apartments are nicely but simply furnished. The shower was powerful and very welcome after being to the beach and the pool. The towels were changed once during the week as was the linen. The maids even laid the children's teddies on their pillows, very sweet. We paid €25 euros for our late checkout so we could make the most or last few hours in Greece.
I would whole- heartedly recommend Mythos Apartments to any family.

Room Tip: Try to get a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is the second time we have visited the Mythos Apartments and it will certainly not be the last. The apartments, pool and surrounding area, adjacent restaurant and bar are all keep to a very high standard of cleanliness. All the staff are friendly, to new guests as well as old, and nothing is too much trouble when making any request or asking for advice. Our rep, Becki, was kind, helpful and very knowledgable of the area and attractions. I can only say, if you have never been to Greece, try staying here, as you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms have a pool view, so no need to worry which room you are allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaCW61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I'm not sure I have any original thoughts to add to the other reviews about the Mythos Apartments! Our extended family group ranged in age between 10 and 70, and we all loved the apartments. They were clean and spacious, the linen was changed every day (other than Sunday) and there was even a bath! The shower water pressure was great, and the water always hot.

As others have said, the apartments are off the main road, and when our transfer bus pulled up we did wonder what we had let ourselves in for, but you would never have guessed once you were in, as it was surprisingly tranquil. The central position was great, we used to go out of the front at night to eat, and out of the back to the beach.

The beach is fabulous, a long, wide stretch, with plenty of sunbeds (we liked Christina's yellow beds, very comfortable) and very reasonable at 3 euros each. The sea was warm, and you could walk out a long way so it was safe for the children. Definitely treat yourself to a donut from the man with the red van, delicious!

The pool area was lovely, very clean, with a great bar (very reasonably priced cocktails!) and snack menu. The kids loved the pool area and if you are also a pool person, brace yourself for an early start because if you weren't up at 6am to put your towel out, you weren't going to get a decent spot (we never got a decent spot!). This was the only frustration to the holiday really (particularly for me as I'd rather go to the beach anyway!) and perhaps the only area in which the management could make an improvement. The kids both made friends, and made good use of the pool table and free wifi in the bar area.

The restaurant at the front of the apartments was great, and although a small resort, we did find plenty to choose from.

There was a bit of exploring to do in the local area, and although we didn't go, it looked easy to get to Kos Town on the local bus.

I'd definitely go back, both to the Mythos and Tigaki, and have recommended both to my very picky sister! The kids were asking when we were going again before we'd even left, so a thumbs up all round!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruthiebruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

1st time at the Mythos apartments. This is was our 8th trip to Greece and these apartments were the best we have stayed in. Ideal location very close to the beach. Although the entrance is on the main street the apartments are set back from the road and you would not know you are in the centre of the resort. Our party was 2 adults and 3 teenagers and we had a 2 bedroom apartment capable of sleeping 5 adults. From the our balcony we had a view of the beach to the left and the mountains to the right. The taverna (Vassilis) attached to the apartments served a mixture of good, reasonably priced,Greek and Italian food much of it cooked in a wood oven. We found all the staff (taverna, pool bar, reception, cleaners) helpful and friendly. We don't normally return to the same destinations but within 24hours of getting home we booked again for next year. We travelled with Thomson's and found their rep. Becki the most friendly, enthusiastic and helpful resort rep we have encountered anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here from 23rd July to 6th August and had the best time. The rooms are spacious and modern with amazing views from the balcony. The pool is so clean and ideal for when you fancy a dip. The food on the snack menu around the pool and the taverna at the front are great value for money; the pizzas are the best and the chicken curry! It is set on the strip, which is ideal. Mascot and Memories are the best bars! Mia and Kostas are the best! The beach in Tigaki is great, nice shallow water. Back at Mythos, Kostas is a great barman, making sure you have a great holiday. Air conditioning is a must and is €84 for two weeks. I would recommend the quiz and BBQ as they are good fun and is only €10 - bargain! We met some lovely families during our stay, especially from Devon! Overall, I would recommend this hotel and don't understand why it isn't number one in Tigaki! 10/10 #MythosApartmentsToNo1

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

3rd time at the mythos and another excellent holiday. Place is always spotlessly clean and staff as friendly as ever. Food both off the snack menu and restaurant menu are excellent and the chefs will adapt dishes to your personal preference. Weekly bbq is excellent value for money at 10 euros per person with drink included and the quiz hosted by Becky (rep) was great fun. Plenty of sunbeds both on the grassed area and around the pool but can get busy especially on changeover days. Bar at night stays open as late as you want it to run by the wonderful kostas who will keep you entertained throughout the evening. Thanks to George for making our stay as wonderful as ever, Mike and Theo for feeding us well, Kostas, Venos and Terry for excellent service and Kostas (night time) for letting us stay up until the early hours of the morning. Would I return - yes without a doubt!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gabpao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tigaki hotels
2.9 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Akti Dimis Hotel
Akti Dimis Hotel
#5 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.0 mi away
Zorbas Beach Hotel
Zorbas Beach Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tigaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marianna Hotel
Marianna Hotel
#6 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tigaki's Star Hotel
Tigaki's Star Hotel
#8 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smartline More Meni Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mythos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mythos Apartments

Property: Mythos Apartments
Address: Tigaki, Tigaki 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tigaki
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tigaki
Number of rooms: 274
Also Known As:
Mythos Apartments Tigaki
Mythos Apartments Hotel Tigaki
Mythos Apartments Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing