We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation - resort very pretty but a little too quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Valle
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great accomodation - resort very pretty but a little too quiet”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Cordial Mogan Valle Apartments are just excellent and very well equipped, the balconies well enough has been said on here about them but they are huge which is great. The staff are just so lovely, polite and professional. We had a 2 week stay and when we arrived we were given a glass of sparkling wine, which was very nice. We went to reception to ask for the name so we could purchase some and they gave us a chilled bottle as a gift, if that isn't going above and beyond then I don't know what is. There are cockroaches we saw a few dead ones in the corridors and some small live ones in the apartment itself, we were on the 8th floor, cockroaches will be found in many countries with this sort of climate. On arrival as others have said you get given a map and directions to room, we did get lost initally but then soon found our way around. The walls are very thin and you can hear those above and below and either side scrapping there chairs and sun loungers on the balconies but this didn't bother us. What we did find slightly annoying was we had new neighbours above during our second week who constantly stood at the edge of their balcony to nose down onto ours and other peoples, these were english people like us and they seemed to be more concerned with what other people were doing than enjoying their own holiday, typical nosey neighbour! Maybe our only gripe about the accomodation is that our sheets were only changed twice during the 2 week stay, not twice per week. Also the beds were a little hard. Our room was directly opposite the supermarket and the mountain walk - opposite the complex is a zig zag walk up the mountains which many people seem to do, it appears to be a favourite for runners. The walk to the beach and port area can be a bit difficult in full sun, even though the paths are flat, the sun just zaps you but there are plenty of benches to have a sit down along the way. The Spar shop sell freshly cooked chickens and new potatoes daily so great for a nice lunch on the balcony. The buses going up and down the road opposite the apartment complex may be a bit noisy for some as the place is in between 2 mountains so the noise travels and echos. This didn't bother us but may bother some?
Puerto Mogan is very very pretty and very safe, we like quiet holidays but this place is a little too quiet for us. We went to the port to take the boat trip to Puerto Rico, the lady advised us to go to Anfi instead saying it was beautiful and much nicer than Puerto Rico, it is nice with really elegant hotels but we didn't realise, it is a time share resort and there is really nothing there so I wouldn't recommend this. We went on another boat trip to Puerto Rico and what a difference to Mogan, constant hassle to buy time shares as soon as we got off the boat. However they do have a bigger shopping centre than Mogan does. If you go on a boat trip I'd recommend going with Bluebird instead of the other one, we went on both. Bluebird make stops to feed the fish, etc which was a nice little touch.
Mogan has a few little shops and a great shoe shop! Opposite the apartment complex is a shopping centre which is mostly empty, a local said this was due to electrical sellers originally occupying them and giving them a bad name. There is also a half finished building opposite which is very common now I suppose around Europe. We used to eat a lot in the resturant on the square (cannot remember the name now) but it was great food and service.
As others have said Mogan does shut down at 11pm and when I mean shut down, you don't see a soul, the lights go off on the balcony.
The english channels are CNN, BBC World News and Disney Channel, I know you don't go on holiday to watch tele but seeing as though everything shuts down at 11pm, it would be nice to have a few more channels to chose from. They do have free wi fi in the rooms now, you just have to ask reception for the code.
Sorry for the waffle, just trying to give as much information as possible. Overall the accomodation was just grand, the resort very pretty and safe and accessible, however when we come to Gran Canaria again we would stay here but plan our holiday a little better to go on trips away from the resort as Mogan is very very quiet, we would use Mogan Valle as a base though. I would not hesitate in recommending this accomodation at all.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better. Unless you are stopping by the inifinity pool, I think all rooms would ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OnlyMe1799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    932
    226
    47
    33
See reviews for
1,008
874
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

More than adequate accomodation, not palatial, but comfortable and clean. A large family orientated complex with 3 pools. Well maintained with a good maid service. Bar & Snack Bar service poor. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, left this for those on all inclusive and ate all meals in the village.
Two minor issues with items in our room resolved quickly. Beware the €2/day safe rental charge. But required as our patio doors didn't lock very easily. But that said the complex and the area as a whole felt very safe.
Rooms really need Air Con' as night time temp during our stay in mid 20's
Cockroaches mentioned on other posts only found dead in corridors (believe runs sprayed with insectiside) Did not consider as any kind of problem.
Some distant noise during the day from motorway tunnel construction, but not intrusive.
Beware the currently empty building site opposite the appartments if the spanish economy ever picks up.
Stayed early Oct 2011 for 7 nights @ £42/night for a twin bedded room- Great value.
Would I return there? YES

Room Tip: If you like the constant noise of screaming kids during the daytime ask for a room near one of the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonsAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The apartments were huge, well equipped & very comfy. Big bathroom which was a nice surprise. Double balcony with 2 decent sunbeds + outdoor shower at one side & table + 4 chairs on the other side. Very quiet location as you are at one end of the resort. Bar was extremely quiet & the indoor bar was more like a butlins type area with horrid orange seats. Entertainment was dire hence poorly atended. Go to the hotel next door, much posher, better bar & superior entertainment for sure!! Tried the food on 2 nights but not impressed. Dining room not very inviting food just average, expensive for what they charged.
Beach, harbour & marina all lovely! Lots of good places to eat but can be pricey. Don't hire a car as the mountainous roads are too scary & steep. Leave it to the bus drivers. Buses are regular & very cheap. Shame you are isolated & cannot walk from one resort to the next. Supermarket across the road is well stocked & very good. Not the best place for youngsters as there is not much to do in the evenings but that will appeal to those of us who are older & want to avoid this! Very pretty resort known as 'little venice'.

Room Tip: Ask for a 'middle floor' apartment as they seem much easier to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somersetprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glengarriff, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

My husband and I stayed for 2 weeks in September. We were pleasantly surprised, the apartment we had on the third floor was lovely, very spacious and quiet.
It was very well equiped and with a supermarket across de road, if you wanted to, you could easily prepare a meal. Personally I preferred the Spar supermarket a bit further on the road.
The apartment was very clean and towels were regularly supplied.
Beach was not too far away and quite nice. We took advice from other travellers reviews and dined mostly in the 2 Irish restaurants. They were exellent and lovely situated at the harbour.
Shopping was not too good, we did buy a camera in city point but it turned out we payed nearly 40% more then we would have payed at home! So it is advisable to go shopping well informed. But all in all we had a lovely time and will certainly go again, hopefully in the not too distant furture.
Antoinette Glengarriff Ireland

Room Tip: If you want quiet go for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Antoinette1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I won't bore people with too many details about this hotel as I can only concur with all of the positives from previous reviewers. I stayed in August with my family and we took 2x 1 bedroom apartments. We requested high level, quiet locations with the 2 apartments being near to each other. We got 9th floor adjoining.... you can't say fairer than that.
The reception staff were fabulous and friendly when we arrived... while we were there... and as we were leaving. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble.
The cleaners were again friendly and thorough we had absolutely no qualms with them. The rooms are cleaned every day apart from Thursdays and Sunday, the towels are changed every other day and the bedding is changed twice a week.
The hotel has a very friendly feel about it with seemingly happy staff as they are always smiling.
The restaurant is of a good quality with a varied menu and always a choice of 3 fresh meats or fish cooked to order to go alongside the usual buffet style food and service. The waiting staff again were friendly and professional... you should see how quickly they move if anything is spilt on the floor! The restaurant is headed by a brilliant manager (Eugenio), he has that magic gift in that he is able to converse and joke with adults and children alike no matter what nationality they are. To give you some idea of the service, on our last night,we told Eugenio that we would be leaving fairly early the following morning and so would be into breakfast 'first thing'. He asked if we wanted the restaurant opening early as he would get staff in and open it before the normal 8.00 opening time. We didn't need that BUT he was serious.
The hotel manager is also very unassuming and friendly I had the opportunity to have a few chats with him (but apologies as I did not get his name). He obviously leads by example.
Just a tip on the restaurant, it has 2 sittings for dinner. If you have young children you want the first sitting and if not you want the second. Now to try and ensure this, it may be wise to make your request when you book the hotel, so that they can allocate the correct sitting, we were allocated the first sitting, but managed to change ..thanks Eugenio. Obviously it makes things easier for him and the hotel if they are forewarned.
Any downsides to this hotel? unfortunately yes, but it was due to too many unruly children that were running around in the restaurant which caused havoc, not the fault of the hotel but of their parents. And just for information I am a parent of 2 boys so I am not anti-children. Too make matters worse the biggest culprits seemed to be English.
The resort is quietish.... don't be fooled, there are a number of restaurants and shops and the beach was probably 80% full most days. It was certainly busier than we expected after reading some of the previous reviews. True most of the restaurants and bars seemed to close by 11:00pm, but we just made sure that we had a stock of drinks in the apartments and if we fancied a late night we stayed out on our extremely large balconies, mind you as the balcony lights went out at 11:00 also we spent a lot of time looking at the stars.
Air Conditioning? No, but we only found this to be problematic for the first couple of days, bearing in mind we were experiencing temperatures of 35+ degrees, we adapted and got used to it.
Would we go back...... too true, we are already saving up for next year.
Would we recommend to others ..... yes, absolutely

Room Tip: Email the hotel 2 weeks prior to booking to re request any special requirements that may want or nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank HappyTraveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Just returned from a week at the Cordial Mogan Valle apartments, this is the first year we opted for self catering as we have a fussy 3 year old. These apartments are really well equipped for pretty much everything you need. The only thing we didn't have was an oven but the microwave and hob catered well for our needs for a week. The supermarkets worked out pretty similar to the UK in price and you could pick up most things the same as in the UK.

We ate out once in a restaurant on the front of the harbour, our aim was to eat out every night and just do lunch and breakfast in our room but after sampling the food we decided to cook in every night, we ordered a soft drink, one beer, 3 tapas dishes and a pizza, it came to 44 euro's and the food was horrible!
Never tried the restaurant in the hotel so cannot comment on that.

The entertainment day and night was good, Karolina was excellent doing the games in the day (good fun to break up sitting by the pool for 5mins!) and our daughter loved to dance with her at the kids mini disco every evening.

We had a room on the 2nd floor so never got confused finiding our room and it was easy to get to the pool or restaurant plus we had a good sized balcony too. The fans kept the room at a more even temperature, the first 2 nights we were there I was ready to hire the aircon unit but after that we got used to the temperature and it seemed normal to us.

The harbour was beautiful and beach also lovely, about a 10min walk, we used to walk down first thing in the morning so it was not so unbearable in the heat.

Good for a family break with smaller children.

Room Tip: With smaller children go for a lower floor, 2nd or 3rd floor probably best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hazeloka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex, england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here at the end of August for ten nights. The hotel is massive, we requested a high floor when we booked due to some comments on here about cockroaches – we were given the 8th floor and as there is a fairly complex lift system, we had lots and lots of stairs to climb every day! This wasn’t a problem for us but bear in this in mind if you ask for a high floor  we didn’t see any cockroaches by the way, apart from one dead one, once on one of the stairs.

The apartment was lovely, really clean with regular visits from the chambermaids, who were all very friendly.

There are three pools; we used the infinity pool once, which in reality is just a smallish rectangular pool, we mainly used the one on the ground floor; lots of space and loungers, the pool bar and had a nice feel.

The hyper market is spitting distance as well as a few smaller gift shops, so easy to stock up for breakfast and lunches for those who are self catering like us.

We found the bar opening times could be improved. We arrived at 10.30pm at night and were given a glass of cava which was lovely but were later disappointed when we realized the bar closed at 11pm. We ate out every night so cant comment on the food – only we were a bit confused about the ‘snack bar’, advertised to be open for food from 1pm – 3pm ish – it was never open when we went there???

The complex is about a 10-15 minute walk to the harbour where there are lots of restaurants to choose from, Zona Verde and especially Café De Mogan were our favourites and I would recommend these. It is fairly expensive to eat, we were averaging about 85 Euros for our evening meal, but we always had two courses and drinks, and as eating out is our favourite part of holidaying, we were happy with this. All of the restaurants are very welcoming.

There are only a couple of bars in Mogan, so not much going on after you have had dinner and the hotel entertainment was a bit short-lived, so don’t expect too much there. There was a lovely entertainments staff member there, who did quite a lot during the day, shooting, water polo etc but it’s a shame there wasn’t more put on in the evenings, or we would have stayed on the complex a bit more. We did find a bar near the harbour that opened until quite late and on some nights they had different guitarists – this is worth a look as they do play some Spanish guitar as well as well known English songs.

We enjoyed our relaxing stay in Mogan but something about the general atmosphere was a bit ‘flat’. Perhaps this is due to the weeks we were there, which really was before the popular winter season kicks in. it’s a bit of a shame as it’s a really picturesque place but I don’t think I would go back again, at least for a while – it would’ve suited us more for a day trip I think. We weren’t looking for buzzing nightlife, far from it – we go for places that are popular with families and couples, but Mogan was just a bit too quiet for us.

Room Tip: i wouldn't go above floor 3 if you have any trouble walking - you have to get multiple lifts to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kel_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.1 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
3,992 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mogan Princess & Beach Club
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Valle

Property: Cordial Mogan Valle
Address: Avda los Marrero 4, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Valle 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Puerto de Mogan, a fishermen area known as "Little Venice" by its visitors, just a few metres from the beach and from the colourful fishing quay and the marina, all surrounded by the beautiful and exuberant Mogan Valley. 303 Luxurious and broad apartments of one or two bedrooms covering a total surface of 35.000 Squared metres with subtropical garden adjacent to Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa.All the apartments have a living-room with kitchenette (microwave, coffee-machine, fridge, toaster, kettle), safe (for rent), satellite TV, direct telephone, bathroom and furnished terrace with private shower. There are ceiling fans in living- and bedroom.Half board including buffet breakfast and dinner with the possibility of having lunch instead of dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cordial Mogan Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Valle Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Cordial Mogan Valle Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing