We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great experience”
Review of Basil's Bistro

Basil's Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$28
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Beautiful and elegante restaurant in the harbour with nice views, great atmosphere and value!!You are advised to book to avoid disappointment as space is limited.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good food, great experience”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We had set our hearts on paella on our last night in Puerto de Mogan, and Basil's seemed to tick all the boxes. We chose a starter of calamares, and were slightly surprised that it was deep-fried, but not in batter, and was served with a very nice salad and also chips.
We were asked if we wanted the paella from the menu or a drier, less-expensive version. We stayed with the supposedly richer menu version, and when it came it seemed to be with long-grain rice, and much drier than we have had elsewhere. In spite of that, the dish, and the seafood which came with it, was delicious.
For dessert, we chose the tiramisu, which was excellent.
The service throughout was very high standard, and overcame the slight reservations we had about the food preparation (though not the quality).

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    182
    62
    20
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“6.70 for a pint of local beer!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I popped in for 2 small beers (local tropical beer) on market day and tye tab was, 6.70! Nearly 7 euros a pint for lical ale. Not sure if we had been miss-charged, either way we wont return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vixen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasilsBistro, Manager at Basil's Bistro, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Many thanks for your comments. I feel I should clarify a couple of things however. Firstly, you were drinking a Premium lager, not a local brew as you have stated. Secondly, we are, first and foremost a restaurant, not a bar although anyone who wishes to come just for a drink is most welcome. It is an excellent spot to sit, relax and enjoy the views and you will find our prices comparable with any other restaurant in the harbour.

In addition I would point out that there is a copy of the menu available for clients' perusal before entering the restaurant which contains a full price list in 10 languages!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing food, amazing staff”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Basils Bistro is by far one of the best places to eat on the harbour, the food is superb as is the service. The staff are friendly and very attentive, the Sole Waleska was to die for. The views onto the harbour at night are romantic and coupled with the fantastic food it is truly a night to remember. The complimentary drinks after the meal were a nice touch and appreciated. Will definately go back there again next year.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wayside059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice Tapas”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

It was a very hot day and after a walk round this beautiful town we wanted some Tapas Basils had an offer on so we gave it a try. The food was very nice with fish, squid, canarian potato's, peppers, some crocket potato type stuff with cheese ( really nice but neither of us knew what they were!) And a salad, we followed that with strawberries and ice cream and a great cappuccino. Its right on the front at the harbour and you can sit people watching !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJBwf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The best meal we had.”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We were staying by the port and so actually avoided eating here early on in our glorious 11 day stretch. Wrongly assumed that all the restaurants in this area would be over priced tourist traps for the day strippers to the resort. That may be actually true of some, but not Basil's.
It wasn't the most inexpensive meal we had, but it didn't break the bank either. We had the mixed meat paella, and it was awesome. The service was so much better than what I had expected for a busy evening, and the house red was fantastic. Great food, attentive polite friendly staff made for a great evening. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pjdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basil's Bistro also viewed

Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 

Been to Basil's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing