We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

We booked this trip with Thomas Cook online and thought we were going to be staying in the Hotel, but upon arrival at 2am we were told that we were in an appartment, we were given a map and had a few minutes walk to the appartment. Initally I was disappointed not to be in the Hotel, but the appartment was very nice, clean and decorated well and it was actually quite nice to be a short distance from the Hotel and we had a nice along the harbour for meals and to use the Pool etc.
I did hear a couple of other guests complaining that they thought they had booked to stay in the Hotel, but on arrival had also been placed in an appartment, so Thomas Cook perhaps need to make things clearer to customers.

The area was fantastic, the bars, restuarants and shops around the Marina meant we had so much choice and did not have a bad meal outside the hotel, the hotel food was ok, but not as good as the other resturants we used.
There was also a live jazz band playing the the marina square every night which was a nice bonus.

We went on a couple of Thomas Cook trips, the VIP trip costing 68Euros each which is supposed to be a tour of the island, the guide was very good, but the trip itself was a bit of a let down, we stopped on the top of a few mountains and had lovely views, but we would have liked to a bit more such as vists to the cave houses etc which are on the island.
We also went on the submarine trip which is in the marina opposite the hotel, again a bit of a let down, 28Euros each (which is too much) it was a new experience to go in a submarine, but all went round the sea bed for about 30mins, past a couple of ship wrecks, there was no info about what we were passing, just a cheesey tape playing with fake emergencies.

The beach opposite the hotel is very nice and very clean, the sea is very clean and clear, we only used the beach once and the rest of the time we stayed at the hotel pool and used the steps down into the sea which was nice.

Overall, a very pleasant trip, the weather was fantastic for an October break, average temp was proberbly 28c, the appartment was very nice, the staff at the hotel were all pleasent and the hotel was well kept.
I would go back to this location again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AC49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    236
    62
    22
    8
See reviews for
145
509
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

I will try and offer as much info as I can without boring you regarding the hotel, town and excursions etc.
Basically Puerto Mogan excellent, The Hotel Puerto Mogan or Club de Mar (same place) very good and Thomas Cook , mediocre to poor.Thomas Cook excursions terrible value and poorly organised. Cook Rep poor and innacurate.For example the rep told us best to get a taxi from Puerto Mogan to Puerto Rico as it was not much more than the bus at ten euros. thats just not true. The taxi was 16 euros the bus was 1.90. the bus the 01 service was regular, punctual and just as quick as the taxi which was basically just a waste of money. The discounted tickets offered for the submarine trip, water taxis etc, are also no cheaper. Travel times she told us to various places were also simply wrong so nice girl but not very accurate with info.
Firstly be cautious if you book with Thomas Cook! As another traveller has mentioned they state you have booked at the "Hotel Puerto Mogan" , even ticket says this,yet when you arrive you are given a vague map to an apartment owned by the hotel which you have to find yourself at 4am (not easy). If the hotels night porter had shown us to the apartment it would have taken a few minutes only but they did not thus it took a while to find, Thomas Cook rep was long gone they just left us at the reception. However the apartments are, to be fair very nice indeed, comfotable, nicely furnished and well equipped in our opinion. The hotel is where your meals are provided and the resturaint looks out the sea and is really lovely. Staff were pleasent enough and polite without being over friendly which was a pity, but they work hard and who am I to criticise another working person. Food was excellent and varied presented in a buffet style at both breakfast and dinner. Spa is nice with a Therrassic bath the spa is offered free once in the week of your stay and paid for locally thereafter. Pool is very good and very well maintained with steps down into the sea but do be alittle careful with the current I would say the sea there is for strong swimmers. Swimming in the sea at the beach (nearby) is fine for virtually all and well patrolled by lifeguards and is very clean. Other than nobody being willing to show us to our accommodation at 4am I have no negatives regarding the hotel. Drinks are reasonably priced there is also a pool bar if required.
Puerto Mogan is generally a quiet, laid back town built around a harbour and marina. Very pretty and scenic, many floral displays grow naturally amongst the streets. It is very quiet at night and while that was what we were looking for if you require nightlife there really isnt any as such. There are many bars though if thats what you enjoy especially around the marina. Over the other side of the harbour there are several very good fish resturaunts. There is a working bot repair yard at the bottom of the marina but rather than an area to be avoided we found all the work going on there on yachts from around the world really interesting. Loads of species of fish come close into the harbour walls, wonderful colours too, it was good fun to sit on the harbour and feed them bread crumbs. Sorry I cannot tell you what species the fish are I do not have the knowledge. Its like your own sea aquarium though.
Local excursions are centered around the ocean and I would definatly say do these yourself not with Thomas Cook, they are supposed to be discounted but in practice are not. The submarine trip was terrific, it leaves every hour 10am to 5pm from over on the far side of the harbour, you will see it as it is a pretty big bright yellow sub. The trip is 28 euros , lasts about 45-50 mins and takes you out into the Atlantic a little bit then dives down 25 meteres to a shipwreck, everyone has a seat with their own porthole view, great stuff, loads of fish around the wreck especially. Really good experience.
There are also fishing trips leave from the harbour and trips to dolphin and whale spot, but of course thats nature and you have no guaruntee with that.
Excursions further afield. Sioux City was a lot of fun, a wild west town circa movie set turned into a sort of theme park , you can go inside the jail house, bank, stables, sherrifs office , saloon, etc. Highlight is the wild west show , that was very good indeed. Basically stunt show, wild west recreation, fun, dancers , horses, mini cattle drive, bank robbery, shoot out etc etc. The show itself lasts about an hour in a well designed auditorium. Apparnatly when numbers are small or weather is poor.though the scale down the show and do a version in the saloon which would be a big pity. There are short horse rides through the wild west town for the young and young at heart that are led by an experienced rider (in costume), good to see they had every kid wearing protective helmets too. One thing i would strongly advizse is do not go to Sioux City with Thomas Cook or Thomsons. They only offer an excursion here on a Friday night for 54 euros which includes a "BBQ" that was poor and free bar also very poor. This aspect almost ruined the visit for us as everyone was herded into the BBQ like sheep and treated very poorly. the Cook rep leading our excursions was nowere to be seen all night until we all eventually found the bus again at the end of the evening (about midnight) no thanks to the Rep as they used a differant bus for the return. It is not difficult to go to Sioux City yourself during the day when you will have much better photo opportunities anyway. It is 25 euros to get in. I would say definatly visit Sioux City but DO NOT go with Cook's Friday night BBQ version even transfer was very long.
Without any doubt the best visit and day we had on the whole island was a visit to Palmitos Park. Please go, it is simply a wonderful day out. Palmitos is a wildlife Park/zoo park set up in the mountains. Highlight is the outstanding dolphin show with the five bottle nose dolphons ina 4 million litre aqua home. That was fantastic. They also have a show with birds of prey such American Bald eagles which the set free up into the mountains and try to lure back as the trainers of such birds do. When we were there an eagle just stayed up on the mountain but apparantly this is common and they come back eventually. The birds of prey do get out to fly like this at differant times so please do not be alarmed if the cages seem small as they do get to fly in the mountains too. There also an ape island with a male orangutan and gibbons. Numerous other animals and wildlife, aquarium, butterfly and orchid house. Something for everyone really. Cooks offer no excursion here (crazy) but offer an alleged discounted ticket at 28 euros. I mention this as the entry when we went was 26 euros so glad we didnt buy the "discounted" ones. Again Palmitos Park is well served by local buses and pretty easy to reach from anywere on the island. It is about 10 km from Maspalomas but buses go direct from Puerto Rico etc. Bus from Puerto Mogan cost 1.80 to Puerto rico then 4.90 to Palmitos Park it took about 45 mins. Be sure you know though that Palmitos Park is way up in the mountains though once you are there you are well...there, so soft drinks, food etc is expensive so perhaps bring your own. Gift shop is well stocked and not cheap but basically the same as a souvineer shop at home. I cannot emphsise how good a day out this visit to Palmitos Park was, I hope you can fit it into your holiday.
Summary lovely town, nice hotel, good accomodation, enjoyable food, plenty to see and do if you are happy to get out and about with local transport. Unfortunatly Thomas Cook
was poor in most aspects on this occcassion but that does not at all mean we did not have a great holiday we did. Pity that Thomas Cook has also scrapped movies on their flights as it is pretty long to Gran Canaria. To finish on a potitive though the transfer back from resort to airport was very good and the Irish male Rep's (Michael) focus on the job was refreshing and very impressive.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Aegeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E.Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

We stayed half board in the apartment 265.
This hotel location is superb - Not very often you can afford a hotel with steps to the ocean and pool with a view ,it seats in the middle of marina.Apartment newly refurbished ,fab terrace with the garden and roof terrace with a shower and views.Very good a/c in the apartment.Good quality food,fresh fish,lots of vegetables and generally good choice of food mornings and evenings.We could use the main hotel pool and the spa which was fab.
Renate from the reception is exeptionaly friendly.
Puerto de Mogan - small , quiet and not really for the people in need of entertaiment .No karaoke bar ,no discos,no drunk youngsters on the streets ...just as we like it.Place feels very safe .Market on fridays - well....i have never seen so much made in china rubbish in a one place .
Overall - it is not the finest hotel in the world but you will be not dissapointed .there is nothing i would complain.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karol2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

Just returned from lovely week at this hotel, Good hotel, good food good room, nice staff

On the down side , .make sure if you want a hotel room,you have booked one, otherwise you will be expected to walk 300 mts to an apartment block the other side of the marina on your own at 3.00 am, the apartments are nice but with no sea views, PS we will go back to this lovely hotel, Ant&Fi Warks

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnthonyFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

After travelling all day just need to find somewhere for one night, chose to stay in Apartment belonging to Hotel ( a lot cheaper). Little town was so pretty and a really change to the rest of the island, very chic! Everything about the stay was what you would expect, average sized apartment, balcony, kitchen area, good sized bathroom and bedroom. All clean, no problems. Pool was a different one than that of the hotel but still great. Restaurants around the harbour area are expensive and if you don't like fish there isn't that much choice! Was great for one night but would have been too expensive for longer, maybe OK if you get a package deal?

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HPsaucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

We booked a superior apt for 9 days and ended up staying for 2 weeks...Thanks to the volcano in iceland. Thomas Cook and the staff at the Club De Mar were Fantastic!! Nothing was too much trouble and we couldn't have asked for a prettier place to be stuck in....the weather was perfect and the hotel staff always polite and attentive.

After reading some of the bad reviews about the apartments we wondered what we would get. Ours was great...newly refurbished, we had the use of the sun terrace which overlooked the boat yard and sea. This meant we could sunbathe or sit with a glass of wine in the evenings...bliss. Another advantage was that we had the use of both pools and we were situated right opposite the seconed pool which we used a lot as we found that the hotel pool was very crowded in the beginning with all the sun beds being taken early. (Weekends the hotel allows locals and families to come in and use the pool, as long as they pay). After the volcano we were able to get sunbeds easier as there wasn't so many visitors and the view from the hotel pool was fab!

The only things that let the apt down was the shortage of utensils in the kitchen. I know not everyone wants to cook on holiday but there wasn't even a toaster. The other thing was our TV only had Spanish or German programmes...this was a bit of a problem and had to rely on text messages for news about the volcano and airports, also as there is very little to do in Puerto Mogan couldn't watch TV in the evenings. Apart from this it was fine, we just read. The cleaning lady was always thorough and always left clean towels. We did have a torrential downpour one morning and when I went into the bedroom I found the water pouring (and I mean pouring) in from around the window frame. Luckily the maid was only downstairs and came up to mop it up. They obviously don't get much rain.
We did have the odd cockroach in our apt but this seems to be a general problem in Puerto Mogan and according to a rep Gran Canaria as a whole. At night you could hear them in the gardens and see them scuttling away as you walked around the harbour. We often saw dead ones during the day. Didn't bother us too much as the place was kept spotlessly clean.

I knew from the reviews that Mogan was quiet, that's why we booked it, but I thought the shops may be open to browse around, unfortunately they closed around 7 as well...maybe it was the time of year. Apparently their busy time is October to February.
There was a very varied age group and a lot more children than I thought there would be.
I would say that the visitors were 60% German, 20% Spanish and the rest Brits or others (maybe explains why we couldn't find a sunbed!)
The only down side for us was that there was nothing in the evenings. We didn't want rowdy, that's not us. We went to Puerto Rico for the day, hated it, and so did many others we spoke to. We just would have liked some low key music to sit and listen to over a beer or glass of wine and enjoy the view.

Word of warning though..Beware, the scammers are even in an idyllic place like Puerto Mogan. We were caught, and some others with a different scam thought they had bought tickets for a boat trip to see dolphins, instead were taken to a timeshare meeting.

In summing up, the hotel provided an excellent service and nothing was too much trouble, the food was plentiful and varied and the hotel pool was wonderful! As others have mentioned the steps down into the sea was fantastic.
The harbour with all it's boats was just beautiful......Would we go back, Yes in an instant!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonHappyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englishman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

We have recently returned to UK after two weeks at this very good hotel.
We opted for an apartment in the Harbour area in preference to a hotel room and the
apartment was lovely, clean, quiet and well furnished.

The service at the hotel was superb and the food at breakfast and dinner was excellent.

We want to visit again in February next year but cannot find a travel company showing these apartments. Anyone who can help?? Please!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sprango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,857 reviews
3.8 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,876 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#9 of 16 in Mogan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Mogan Princess & Beach Club
11.4 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan

Property: Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Address: Diseminado Mogan s/n, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place to relax in a privileged location: welcome to Hotel THe Puerto de Mogán, a four-star-resort that offers the perfect combination of tradition and modernity. Literally situated over the sea, the hotel stands out due to its impressive views to the sea and the marina, but also due to its excellent services. Disposing of modern facilities, Hotel THe Puerto de Mogán features 56 rooms, a swimming pool with direct access to the sea, a restaurant, a pool-bar, a spa and a solarium terrace, where you can enjoy our Balinese beds and sensation showers. Furthermore, we dispose of 76 comfortable and luminous three-star apartments. Apartamentos THe Puerto de Mogán is situated in the exclusive area of Puerto de Mogán, and puts at your disposal a swimming pool and two jacuzzis. Also, here you have the right to benefit from services offered by Hotel THe Puerto de Mogán. Every two apartments share a solarium terrace with a shower and sun beds, where you will admire the best sunset of the island. Hotel and Apartamentos THe Puerto de Mogán are located in the so called "little Venice". Situated in the Southwest of Gran Canaria, Puerto de Mogán has a unique beauty due to its salt water canals that are interconnected by little bridges. Furthermore, you can take a refreshing dip in the beach of Playa de Mogán, only a few steps away from the resorts. In these privileged surroundings you have at your disposal a wide range of entertaining, sporting and leisure activities for you to enjoy a dream vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Mar
Mar Club
Club De Mar Hotel
Hotel THe Puerto De Mogan Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing