We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Home Cooked Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Cucina

La Cucina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Home Cooked Food”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We've just returned from a holiday in Puerto Mogan and if like us you plan to take the time to visit La Cucina once during your visit then you'll visit time and time again...in fact we visitited 4 times during the week.

The restuarant itself is a little away from the main eatery locations and like it's been said in other reviews is very small...so consider pre-booking....you will be very glad you did.

The pasta was fantastic, the pizza is truely thin, crispy and absolutely delicious. Combined with a family atmosphere run by a couple who clearly welcome small children to visit then we found nowhere better within the resort.

In fact our two children, one of whom is only 5 and a really fussy eater, kept asking to return to La Cucina nightly after the first visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Powell_Family_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    119
    23
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“lovely home cooked Italian food”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

we walked past this restaurant a couple of times but as there are only 4 tables each time it was full so we booked for the following evening. i am so glad we did. we had focaccia to start, followed by seafood pizza and spaghetti carbonara, the pizza was thin crispy and delicious and the spaghetti was obviously fresh pasta with a rich sauce, the owner sings along in Italian as he cooks, a lovely homely experience! generous portions but couldn't resist the tiramisu ... glad I did, amazing homecooked Italian food at very reasonable prices, can't recommend enough.

Helpful?
1 Thank Iluvcyprus_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Homemade pasta!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

After a quick scan on TA my fiancé and I decided we had to hunt this one down.The thought that a restaurant had only four or so tables and was run/staffed by husband and wife alone made the decision for us.

Lunch time on a Friday; we did the market, got some bits and bobs and then suddenly felt the need to get as far away from people as possible. Greeted my the couple, we were instantly made to feel at home. And so the lunch began...

We shared a tomato, mozzarella and basil starter. The balsamic sweet, and the seasoning perfect. Very good start. We followed up with a diavolo pizza, typically italian and reminiscent of being with my family back in Treviso. And then came the real deal... from the specials menu I went for the homemade porcini ravioli with truffle sauce. AMAZING! We shared an Italian beer, a fanta limon, some fizzy water and followed up with a 0.5L jug of the house red wine. All in all... the bill came to only €42.

If you like your food and don't care much for the pretence, this is a total must.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank seblikessun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tonight we met the impersonation of Happiness ”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

On a little uphill street, there is this little gem. Italian food like at home, tasty pizzas and pastas, wine as it comes, total interdiction of any fast food, the lady (despite being heavily pregnant) is serving, the gentleman cooks, sings and dances on excellent Italian music...
When did we lose these heavenly simple things?

Helpful?
2 Thank lucu17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“better than italy”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We senator this lovely little restaurant in puerto deep Morgan after reading the reviews on trip advisor and were so glad we did! Run be a husband and wife, the service was friendly and enhanced by the wondered singing chef! The pizzas were some of the best we've ever had and my wife's spaghetti carbonara was equally delicious.the tiramisu and panacotta were homemade and lovely too

We are going back too good not to!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Doconconference
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cucina also viewed

Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 

Been to La Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing