We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fantastic Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Suffolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a fantastic Hotel and Staff”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Well all that I want to say is this Hotel was the best that my wife and I have been to since going abroad on holiday. We booked on recommendation from others that had written about the Hotel on reviews on trip advisor. I cannot commend enough the staff at the hotel for their friendliness and helpfulness of my wife who is in a wheelchair. Food was excellent and the staff were always very friendly and were at hand to help if needed. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my family or anyone that decides to read my review. on my final chapter thanks especially to the manager of the dining area who always ensured we had a raised table reserved for my wife. Thanks again and we will be back to see you.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be good whatever part of the complex you were in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank len_whayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,991
    784
    150
    27
    12
See reviews for
1,061
2,343
86
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (999)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

As grandparents, we went to the hotel with our son, daughter-in-law and two young granddaughters to share a family break together and we were delighted with the whole experience. The reception area is enormous and very impressive, with comfortable seating and lots of space. We had two junior suites which were sited in a quiet block surrounded by beautiful landscaping with a waterfall, stream and goldfish, viewd from a little wooden bridge. The rooms were well furnished and kept scrupulously clean by our lovely cleaner, Adriana. The secluded gardens at the rear of the rooms, with sunbeds, were ideal to sit and have a drink whilst babysitting the children or just relaxing before going to dinner. We just loved the whole layout of the grounds which is like a huge botanical gardens with an amazing variety of flora. The planting is the focus and disguises the buildings to an extent so that you do not feel that you are in a huge hotel complex. There are two large, warm pools which made swimming very pleasurable. We stayed half board and found the food generally very good with a wide variety of dishes and buffet style so you could choose your options. We got the occasional piece of fatty or bony meat, depending on whether we were at the start or end of a new joint. The staff are the hotel's greatest assets. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. Adriana noticed I had left a pair of white trousers to dry after getting a small stain on them and within minutes I got a call from reception asking permission to remove the stain and launder them for me - free of charge! They were back in my room that evening, beautifully pressed as new. What service! On our final evening, the restaurant manager came to our table and shook our hands, thanking us for our visit. The harbour of Puerto Mogan is small but attractive with lovely "period" houses surrounding it and plenty of small bars/restaurants and a few shops. We didn't venture further than a trip on the yellow submarine as the hotel amenities were all that the young grandchildren needed. The hotel is one we would recommend, especially for families with children.

Room Tip: The junior suites are quiet and there is an access gate nearby leading quickly to the harbour and ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

If you enjoy staying in a nice hotel with good food and pleasant staff the Mogan Playa is an excellent place to be.
We are just back after a week of total relaxation at this lovely hotel. There are two good sized pools with plenty of sunbeds so no need to take part in the early morning book a sunbed nonsense in fact it is not allowed. We used the pool nearest to reception and if like us you are not really into animacion this would be the pool to choose.
We were stayingon the half board option which suitd us as we like to go uot for lunch bit a couple of days we did have lunch at the pool bar, not a huge choice but more than adequate, you always were brought bread and olives while you were waiting on your meal and it was free which we thought was a nice touch and after you were finished your lunch they then presented you with a shot of honey rum topped with whipped cream.Delicious.
Puerto Mogan is not a huge place but it is lovely with beautiful flowers everywhere and more than enough bar restaurants if you would wish to have a meal away from the hotel.
So in summing up, we wouldn't hesitate in going back to the Mogan Playa and Puerto Mogan.
P.S Also on the half board option at the hotel you can swap your evening meal and have lunch instead.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This was our first visit to the Canaries and definitely our last.
The entire island is almost completely devoid of anything approaching culture.
Whilst the employees of this particular hotel were very friendly, approachable and more professional and capable than I was expecting, I was totally dumbfounded by the hotel's attitude to providing services to their guests, in particular, meal times were very inflexible meaning that if for any reason we were not in the dining room between the designated hours there was very little chance of obtaining food, the same was true for breakfast and as I had been unwell the evening before ( with renal colic) we made it into the dining room with ten minutes to spare for breakfast but were surrounded with staff trying to rapidly close the dining room so that they could finish their shift. Not that I blame them but it did leave us feeling like we had landed in a second rate 1950's British holiday camp.
There was a bar in the reception which was unmanned for our entire stay and the pool bar was opened at 12:00 (ish) so if we wanted a coffee between breakfast and lunch we were forced out of the hotel. In fact this is actually what we did and simply did not bother taking our meals at the hotel. The food was edible, if you're not fussy and the coffee was dreadful at best.
The actual building and facilities are ok but are really starting to look and feel dated & shabby.
Several of our lovely neighbours felt that it was necessary to continually relocate their furniture at all hours of the day & night and the ones who were not doing this were apparently force feeding their children tartrazine and sugary treats having the same effect as giving free cocaine to ADHD sufferers, with kids running around and around the tiled concrete corridors for hours on end.
Conclusion: good if you go on holiday & don't expect too much for your money which is why we'll be heading back to the USA for our next holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OM4LT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel is so close to being excellent! We had a Junior Suite, which when I booked wasn't too much dearer than a regular room. The junior was lovely. Set at the quieter end of the hotel, away from all the hustle bustle. We had our own little garden and the rooms were very well appointed.
The pools have a call system by which you can call for drinks etc, cool! The garden are absolutely beautiful and give Kew a run for it's money.
The Reception Staff are very friendly and efficient. The entertainment is ok, but fairly typical for Hotels. A 'could do better' applies, but that wasn't what we were there for anyway.
Our biggest trouble was in the restaurant. When you are in a Junior Suite you apparently have a better seating position, which was quite nice. The thought of not having been in a Junior Suite and being treated like a 'commoner' leaves me cold! The restaurant needs to look at the detail. We are ok with a buffet, the choice appeared amazing, BUT..... The quality sometimes left a bit to be desired, tough meat, soft vegetables. Our biggest beef was with the waiting staff who just weren't efficient enough at clearing plates between courses. I have a big thing, call me picky, about having my plates cleared before I come back to my table with my next course. We had to make a bit of a fuss on a couple of occasions.
As a break from this frustration we had a couple of evenings at the hotels A la Carte restaurant. What a difference! Wonderful setting and very well trained staff. So, so different. Wonderful, off the wall menu, very very different.my only concern here, is that I found out that this restaurant hasn't changed it's menu in at least 3 years! A lady we spoke to proudly told us that she knew exactly what to order as she had been there three years running! They don't even add any specials in! Come on guys, use a bit of imagination. If I were there for two weeks I would get a bit frustrated.
One lovely surprise was that we had booked through Travel Republic and got a free meal, including wine, at the A la carte restaurant!
would we go back, yes probably.

Room Tip: The junior suite was worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We have been here twice now and the last time been October, so I am a little late. We had a very nice welcome and they never disappoint. The gardens and interior design is amazing too! The food is amazing and the rooms are just as nice. We had a room over looking the pool area last time and it was lovely! The staff are so friendly and I couldn’t believe it when there was a chocolate fountain in the restaurant! Would recommend to anyone and will be back soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the pool and a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sammythesmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We have now visited this hotel twice in the last two years. We were wary of the Canaries as prefer the less commercial, touristy resorts and were somewhat nervous as we journeyed through various other resorts on the way to our destination. However, on arrival, a very beautiful hotel with lovely friendly staff greeted us. The hotel is very comfortable, the service is wonderful and the food for a buffet is quite exceptional and the gardens are stunning. Again, we normally eat out when on holiday but having the half board option, as this was the deal we bought into, was great and we ended up eating in the hotel most of the time. Mogan itself is very quiet and rather shabby, some of the restaurants looked quite nice but there was quite a touristy element which was not for us so we stayed in our lovely little oasis. There are two large pools and getting a sunbed, even though it was half term, was not a problem. Sadly there were some rather noisy children whose parents seemed to have not control over them, but this seems to be the way of the world these days!! Would thoroughly recommend this hotel to a couple or young family who just want to relax, read, swim, eat and re-charge their batteries.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bunnylapeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 3 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,996 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
3.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Property: Cordial Mogan Playa
Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. • In January 2009 opened the international Dive Company. Extra Divers is based within the hotel offering dive courses and excursions• In March 2009 the archeological park "Las Crucecitas" was inaugurated. It forms part of the hotel and shows newest remains and findings of the ancient burial grounds of the Guanches• In November 2011 opened "Hike & Bike" offering bike rental, excursions etc.• WiFi free of charge in whole hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing